realme Buds Air 5 Pro

jokerpoker81

i just bought this yesterday and waiting for it to arrive from Taobao (shipping by sea)

edit: 28th Jan. tested for a few days, the quality is really good after adjusting all the settings, equalizer etc. but have to use the realme link app on CN website, not google play store. https://www.realme.com/cn/app-download

the voice prompt is in mandarin, but its only for noise cancellation, normal, or transparency modes.

https://versus.com comparision
Checked all the reviews for Realme Buds Air 5 Pro, and also used versus.com, a comparison site to check in detail, this model's specs is very close to Sony WF-1000XM5 and Sony LinkBuds S . Of course, how good a pair of earbuds also depends on where you use them ( eg, gym, running, office, mrt train, home) and type of music you listen (kpop, EDM, classical etc).

After tons of comparisons, I finally took the plunge and bought them yesterday! will do more testing after i received and update about any good or bad points of this earbuds

summary of reviews using https://bard.google.com
Google Bard AI may have errors, but its a good reference

Reasons to BuyReasons Not to Buy
Exceptional ANC: Up to 50dB noise reduction effectively blocks out most background noise.Bass-heavy sound: While punchy for bass lovers, might overshadow other frequencies, not ideal for audiophiles.
Impressive battery life: Up to 40 hours with case, 10 hours on earbuds without ANC, 7 hours with ANC.Glossy finish attracts scratches: Case shows scuffs and fingerprints easily.
Low latency: Ideal for gaming and video watching with minimal audio delay.Dual device pairing delay: Switching between devices takes a couple of seconds.
Comfortable and secure fit: Suitable for long stretches of use and physical activities with multiple ear tip options.Touch controls can be sensitive: Accidental touches might cause unintended actions.
Customizable sound: Adjust the EQ through the Realme Link app to your preferences.No wireless charging: Case only supports wired charging.
Voice assistant integration: Convenient for hands-free control with Google Assistant or Siri.Call quality may vary: Overall good for casual conversations, some users report slight muffling.
IPX5 water resistance: Sweatproof and splashproof, suitable for workouts.Limited color options: Only Sunrise Beige and Astral Black available.
Affordable price: Offers good value for money compared to similar earbuds with this feature set.Competition with similar features: Other options with comparable functionality exist at similar price points.
Dual device pairing (rare feature): Connect to two devices simultaneously, but no seamless multipoint switching between calls and media.App can be buggy: Occasional issues reported with the Realme Link app.
Spatial audio support: Creates an immersive listening experience for movies and games.Sound leakage is noticeable: May not be completely private in noisy environments.

Bonus Features:
  • Fast charging: 10 minutes for 7 hours of playback.
  • Clear highs and detailed mids: Sound quality not limited to just bass.
  • Automatic play/pause with wear detection.
  • Sleek and modern design.

jokerpoker81

S23a20a0627214c919c2d901f19b1af00X.jpg

S5c1c5109484f45ffa3b4ee702c4b5d65d.jpg

Sbfda6a7ee9364d1199e61a1eec2cc156V.jpg

Sffcfbe4deac74d41ab6f10c19b2013d4O.jpg

S7bcf25d0e3ac49b182b8f2139d477adb0.jpg

S47047dbf28204bcaaf87e5f109d9222dc.jpg

S0d512cd9f87f4524af0f7b5f684dc22eH.jpg

S9895657a57504526876a89bd918c2002d.jpg

S32b6067065934051a86363b8afe15e56z.jpg

S43b71160c33d420aaefcb002514c64fd7.jpg

jokerpoker81

based on versus.com comparision website, this is very close to Sony WF-1000XM5 and Sony LinkBuds S!
the sound quality is awesome! but of course, noise cancellation for any brand of earbuds will never be as good as overear headphones! other than that, i think its almost the perfect earbuds for most occasions and users leh! how come no one ever reviewed this product before?

Honeydewz

based on versus.com comparision website, this is very close to Sony WF-1000XM5 and Sony LinkBuds S!
the sound quality is awesome! but of course, noise cancellation for any brand of earbuds will never be as good as overear headphones! other than that, i think its almost the perfect earbuds for most occasions and users leh! how come no one ever reviewed this product before?

woah darn tempting

85685.jpg

jokerpoker81

woah darn tempting

tested it for a while now, sound quality wise, as long as you adjust the dolby atmos equalizer settings on your phone, to your preference (set the sound effects on realme link app to original sound), then its all good.

for realme link app, have to download and install the apk on CN website, not google play store, it wont find and connect to earbuds. https://www.realme.com/cn/app-download

the voice prompt is in mandarin, but its only for noise cancellation, normal, or transparency modes.

i feel the dolby atmos equalizer settings sound slightly better....and of course, can have ear canal scan (must use eartip of the right size to your ears). as well as turn on spatial audio (make more difference for games, movies, videos etc rather than for music), use the right earbud size (can do a earbud fit test on the app) etc. overall audio quality, i think its very good! i give it a 4/5, because noise cancellation to me is just average? because i already have a sony headphone, and any headphones'noise cancellation will of course be way better than a pair of earbuds.

just tested connecting laptop and phone to the earbuds in dual device mode is a little bit cumbersome. never use such a function before so it took me a while to figure it out..... have to pause the audio on laptop, then go back to my spotify on my phone, which has about 5 secs lag in between, but there is almost no lag when turn audio back, on the laptop

also not yet test the game mode, supposedly will reduce the latency?.....for the size and price, i would say this realme buds air 5 pro is very good already.....if want much better, have to go for sony earbuds liao, which is of course not going to be less than $100! hahaha...bought this at about $86 all inclusive from taobao

some screenshots of app here.

https://shorturl.at/nouT5
https://shorturl.at/bzQX8
https://shorturl.at/iEPR9
https://shorturl.at/fCD46
https://shorturl.at/gvCHX

Beefsteak

just got this from taobao.
anyone can recommend custom eq settings for this?

jokerpoker81

just got this from taobao.
anyone can recommend custom eq settings for this?

my own settings after looking at co-pilot's reply.
https://yourimageshare.com/ib/0rAAyEg1RR

answer from Microsoft Co-pilot.

There is no definitive answer to what are the best equalizer settings for different genres of music, as different listeners may have different preferences and tastes. However, there are some general guidelines that can help you achieve a balanced and enjoyable sound for most types of songs and music. 😊
Here are some tips for finding the best equalizer settings for your audio:

• Start with a flat or neutral setting, where all the frequency bands are set to 0 dB. This will give you a reference point for making adjustments.
  • Listen to a variety of songs from different genres and pay attention to how they sound. Do you want more bass, more clarity, more warmth, or more sparkle? Adjust the corresponding frequency bands accordingly, but avoid extreme changes that might distort the sound or cause fatigue.
  • For more bass, boost the low frequencies (31 Hz to 250 Hz) slightly, but not too much, as it might overpower the other sounds. For more clarity, boost the midrange frequencies (500 Hz to 4 kHz), especially the ones around 1 kHz to 3 kHz, where most vocals and instruments are located. For more warmth, boost the lower midrange frequencies (250 Hz to 500 Hz), where the body and fullness of the sound are. For more sparkle, boost the high frequencies (4 kHz to 16 kHz), especially the ones around 8 kHz to 12 kHz, where the brightness and airiness of the sound are.
  • Experiment with different presets and see how they affect the sound. You can use them as a starting point and then tweak them to your liking. Some common presets are Rock, Pop, Jazz, Classical, Hip Hop, etc. You can also find some genre-specific equalizer settings online, such as this article that shows the best equalizer settings for music genres, bass, clarity, and ideal sound.
  • Use your ears and trust your judgment. The best equalizer settings are the ones that make you happy and satisfied with the sound. Don’t be afraid to try different combinations and see what works for you. Remember, there is no right or wrong way to use an equalizer, as long as you enjoy the music. 🎧

elvintay07

Wasted the air 5 pro no wireless charging whereas the air 5 has. Quite strange lei this strategy

jokerpoker81

You all bought from taobao and shipped over?

for me yes. have to use the realme link app on CN website, not google play store. https://www.realme.com/cn/app-download just update firmware, setup the equalizer to your liking, turn on spatial audio, scan ear canal etc and its basically all done. dont really have to use the app much again liao...it will auto connect as soon as buds case open.

want wireless charging, maybe Xiaomi Buds 3T Pro ? use versus.com site to search the attributes you prioritize.

https://versus.com/en/realme-buds-air-5-pro-vs-xiaomi-buds-3t-pro

elvintay07

I just bought from our friendly Indian retail store. Much cheaper than carousell/ Lazada and also get 1 year warranty compared to taobao. I am able to connect using realme app. Song! Strangely why the air 5 is cheaper yet have bigger driver, Dolby Atmos and wireless charging,

jokerpoker81

I just bought from our friendly Indian retail store. Much cheaper than carousell/ Lazada and also get 1 year warranty compared to taobao. I am able to connect using realme app. Song! Strangely why the air 5 is cheaper yet have bigger driver, Dolby Atmos and wireless charging,
looks like not many users of realme buds air 5 pro here in hwz.......yet. haha.

driver is just one of the factors, but not the only thg to tk note,. also look at the frequencies, uses neodymium magnets or not, no. of mics, codecs supported, or if your phone support those codecs like aptx lossless or aptx adaptive etc...no perfect headphone or earbuds de lah, its just which properties or features you prioritize

elvintay07

looks like not many users of realme buds air 5 pro here in hwz.......yet. haha.

driver is just one of the factors, but not the only thg to tk note,. also look at the frequencies, uses neodymium magnets or not, no. of mics, codecs supported, or if your phone support those codecs like aptx lossless or aptx adaptive etc...no perfect headphone or earbuds de lah, its just which properties or features you prioritize
Ok la this price. Throw in office also no need to lock. Ppl see realme they don’t take. More power is the 7 hours call time. Make those using wires microphone look like clowns

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.