Recomend good camera for low light

sandywong

Look for a camera with atleast a 1/1.7 inch sensor, that way you can have better results than typical point and shoot. Also you budget restrict you to pretty much that range.

hawthorne

A camera with good performance in low light = a camera with a large sensor
Large sensors dun come cheap. Dun think your budget can get such a camera.

sandywong

A camera with good performance in low light = a camera with a large sensor
Large sensors dun come cheap. Dun think your budget can get such a camera.

He can get it cheap if he go for last generation cameras. But i dun recommend it because electronics such as cameras and computers get outdated fast as new models keep coming out, its best to spend abit more so that you wun regret later. Unless the last generation is almost identical then it is another story.

kop2311987

Thanks for the reccommendation...

so if i were to up my budget, get lx7?

What about canon G15, Olympus x2 or x10, Canon S110

Would the rest of the few be reccomended oso?

Actually the camera would be used to take pics of babies most of the time...

hawthorne

I have not used those cameras before, hence will be unable to comment on them. I can only comment on Sony Nex Cameras

How old are the babies u r taking? For very young babies, < 18 months old, any camera that fits ur budget will probably be enough.

But once they start to learn how to crawl or run, taking then will be challenging. Reason is that a non DSLR will have trouble trying to focus on them. Kids will run/ crawl very fast and ur camera might not be able to keep up.

I am speaking from my experience as a Sony Nex C3 user. Only way I overcome this is to use manual focus. Prefocus on the place where the kids will likely cross into, and wait for them to enter your aiming point.

My friend, who is using a Nex 6 claimed that Sony made several enhancements to improve the focus. You might want to check it out too

sandywong

Thanks for the reccommendation...

so if i were to up my budget, get lx7?

What about canon G15, Olympus x2 or x10, Canon S110

Would the rest of the few be reccomended oso?

Actually the camera would be used to take pics of babies most of the time...

The cameras you mention is mostly competitors of lx7, meaning they all have larger sensor compared to cheaper point and shoot. Each of them have their good and bad. There are many video reviews on youtube you can watch before deciding, when you short listed a few then go down to a shop and play with the thing abit before you buy. Won't hurt to take some photos to check the quality as well.

Yo2020

i had canon s90, now s100 n waiting for s120 (likely next month). the main reasons r low-light ability n small & light to carry in my short pants' pocket. main target is my baby, wherever we go (eg. even supermarket), i put the camera in my pocket. i cant image the hassle n eye-catching for hanging a big camera on neck or shoulder. put in a bag/backpack will not b as convenient/fast as taking out frm a pants' pocket.

s100 has a much useable continuous drive (2 pics a sec) over s90 that can better catch baby's moves.

saberlancer

Photos on tripod long shutter canot count lah, ur iso can be very low..

Low light usually meant how well it handles high iso..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.