Recommend lawyer for will

Hi any recommendations for law firms?

In the case that I pass on due to any reasons, I wish to distribute my assets to parents and 2 young children.

Anyone knows if it’s possible if I want to leave my assets for my children but not my wife? (Currently married)

reddevil0728

Assuming my children are not 18 yet when I pass on, what will happen? Will my spouse still be “inheriting” whatever I leave for my children in a way?

side question..I’m contemplating divorce. Wife has been just doing the minimum, I’m the primary caregiver along with my parents..I love my kids my much and hope to live with them day to day even if that happens. Any chance of the court giving me that?

Only fear I have is my kids are still young and don’t see how much I’m doing for them and generally young kids stick to their mum. Partly also because she’s always going which kind of makes the kids always want to stick with her whenever she’s around. And I have a feeling if asked who they prefer, they will say their mum.

qhong61

Assuming my children are not 18 yet when I pass on, what will happen? Will my spouse still be “inheriting” whatever I leave for my children in a way?

side question..I’m contemplating divorce. Wife has been just doing the minimum, I’m the primary caregiver along with my parents..I love my kids my much and hope to live with them day to day even if that happens. Any chance of the court giving me that?

Only fear I have is my kids are still young and don’t see how much I’m doing for them and generally young kids stick to their mum. Partly also because she’s always going which kind of makes the kids always want to stick with her whenever she’s around. And I have a feeling if asked who they prefer, they will say their mum.
Why divorce?

reddevil0728

If the will is done after marriage and is valid then is dependent on the will lor
You go contest lor
Find evidence to show proof what u did and she didn’t do lor.

the court decides based on what’s the best interest of the kids

wira

hmm ..if you pass away before divorce, would the women charter law bypass will and wife will get 50% of matrimonal assets ?

lingusthefungus

you can specify in the will, for example, that the money be held in trust by xxx before your children turn age yy, in the meantime they can take an allowance of $100 a month from the trust until they turn age xx, in which the remaining money will be transferred to them lump sum.
xxx can be a trust company or a trusted individual. of course a trust company will charge fees.
yy age not necessary be 18. can be 20, 30, or specific condition like when the youngest child completes tertiary education.

in a way, if your children take the money and still give to their mother, yes, then the mother "inherits" the money. so that is why some rich family will put in clauses to prevent the money from flowing out of the family.

mummynew

In the will, you will have to state a Trustee to handle the estate you leaving behind for your children till they mature (can't remember whether it's 18 or 21 but remember one can state his wishes like at 21 yo, get x% and 25 get Y% etc).

Your chance of getting custody for your kids is very slim unless you can catch your spouse behaving very unreasonably. Probably you can get weekend visits. Don't split the kids if you have more than one coz they need to count on each other for more stability when parents split.

I know of a rich couple going thru something similar to you now. Likely a 'newspaper worthy' case when in court (both parties not giving in in terms of asset division and child custody issues and refuse counselling etc. Lawyers have warned them about will be very high legal expenses and both 为了一口气 will fight to the end). Both strategising against each other to max extent. I see both parties also have their own shortcomings (husband got woman outside and wife spending money like water but she takes good care of the 4 kids).

*consult a lawyer who can do both divorce and will. He/she likely to point you to the 'correct' direction.

To add:
Once contemplating divorce, one has to assume that the spouse will be engaging a PI tailing and engage in conversations recording activities. This is sort of Pre-Divorce Assumption for both parties. So, dont make 'mistakes' (mind your words and actions coz can be purposely provoke for recording intention) as far as possible.

DevilPlate

Very unfortunate situation to be in.

Hopefully able to reconcile with your spouse.
1+1 meant to be >2

wira

very unfortunate situation but sadly SG courts will most likely give custody of children to the mother unless can prove mother behaviour is not fit.

henrylbh

yes. estate planners will also recommend that you specifically state in your will that you are aware you are not leaving anything to your wife.
Best to settle the divorce and flat ownership if any before making a will. The divorce will result in alimony and children's maintenance or division of assets. But if you have a will and die before divorce, the estate will go only to the beneficiaries. You HDB flat and CPF will not covered by the will, unless flat is held as tenancy in common. Minor's share of estate will be frozen till they come of age. If possible will to a trust worthy guidance as beneficiary to take care of the kids so that money, CPF and flat, the guidance as beneficiary got free hand to spend on the children. In most cases, wife will have custody of the children. If you die before settling ownership of flat, whole flat goes to joint owner that children has no share. If she decides to foresake children to their grandparents so as to have her own life, too bad ....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.