Regarding the recent MDA policy to require notable online news website to have a licence

Jarlaxle

dun expect foreign intervention.

juz find ways to overcome it lor

anyway, yahoo is a profit seeking organisation. they will comply lah.
they are not google who will juz exit the market

reimina

If you want freedom of speech, start migrating elsewhere. It's a hopeless case. :o

celsus

PAP acting in the interest of the party and not the nation (again). What's new?

siloti

I sincerely believe that if a site wants to call itself a "news" site then they need to clean up their act.
Correspondents need to be named, contactable by the admins
the administrators also need to have names and be accountable
finally, they need filter their comments sections. The venom on TRE back when I was reading it was already atrocious.

Anyone can call that censorship but if we allow things for the sake of freedom and it becomes an excuse to misbehave or hide behind anonymity.
Even Facebook relented and would initiate removal of pages/posting that do not promote the right values. Violence and gore should not be on Facebook. Yet it is... the stuff does not even come with an warning.

Dear Cancer81, plase practice what you preach, for a start, please sexpose your name, and handphone, so that you can be deemed accountable.

Providence

If the second hand car dealers had not protested and submitted petition, they would still be saddled with cars that no one can now afford.

That is because the government can gain something out of those deals. In my opinion, the government will try to gain something out of every deal. It will not do anything that does not produce good and viable returns. Please remember that our country is managed like a corporation indirectly.

coern

If there is indeed such a benevolent organisation that do not have vested interests, and that the organisation will clean up only those stuff that are universally condemned, such as abetting to murder, rape, etc etc, then I will agree to the policy.

But since there is no such organisation, definitely not our gahmen, as u can see in their regulation of the traditional media to be biased towards them and biased against negative news of them, I definitely do not agree with the MDA policy.

:s22:

universally condemned? then why are there still murder and rape cases? those people that commit such acts are not from this universe?

there's no "universally benevolent" organisation, that's a fairytale. i still prefer having legislation that allows for prosecution of ****-stirrers.

The_Idiot

Recently, I tried to register another idiot nick. It turns out that HWZ requires NRIC and HP. It will send a OTP to my HP to verify my HP number. Be careful, guys, watch what you say here.

GrimaH

Who watches the watchers?
(In before people make redundant replies. It's a rhetorical question, plus something to ponder over.)

Recently, I tried to register another idiot nick. It turns out that HWZ requires NRIC and HP. It will send a OTP to my HP to verify my HP number. Be careful, guys, watch what you say here.

I've always ignored the popups telling me "gief your IC and HP please" when I update my account stuff. It's amazing that HWZ (with pressure from their masters no doubt) actually expects people to trust them with their identification and contact details just like that.

sunzoner

so you registered? ;)

Chlorpheniramine

They're gonna be after TOC as well. With 60k likes on Facebook, govt can easily say they've crossed the 50k mark. They'll be targeted closer to the next GE. It's only a matter of time. Just wait and see.

Providence

Your avatar's person is carrying a rocket launcher? :D

Back to the topic!

Well! If the government does not start a basic form of control on the online media soon, it may run into more problems later in the next election. The online media is becoming a dangerous tool for both sides in the political arena nowadays. A double-edged sword.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.