repay or continue with hdb loan ?

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

namdlo

Thank you all for the suggestions and recommendation .

Not very incline to bonds . I am slowly accumulating sti etf . But still etf yields less than 3% .
Waiting for market to crash since 2015 .
Warchest rusty Liao Haha ..

Divested some REITs . Over the past few years . Gonna be quite passive in share market due to more other commitments.

I am very risk adversed right :)

My loan is hdb loan 2.6% .
Maybe I shall take 100k . Top up till 60k in OA + SA . The rest do a partial payment

Regarding those liquid cash .
I have some in maxigain . Rest in standchart alternating between my wife and my account .

Together with my dividends / distributions from shares

I only managed to acheieve 2.8% yield on my total wealth .

Risk adverse? STI ETF is equity and is actually riskier than investment grade bonds e.g. OCBC bonds, DBS bonds etc

Why did you not refinance your loan with a bank? Not sure what the rates are now but I am on a 2 year fixed rate of 1.58% with UOB that will run out sometime in late 2019. My money in CPF OA is enjoying minimally 2.5%, so I will still gain even without investing via CPFIS.

My excess cash are invested in equity and equity funds, returning more than the 1.58% interest that I am incurring for my loan.

BBCWatcher

Risk adverse? STI ETF is equity and is actually riskier than investment grade bonds e.g. OCBC bonds, DBS bonds etc
Also, what's the non-Singapore investing? Just the shiny metals (which are physically in Singapore, I assume)? Being essentially 100% invested in a single country, even a bigger one, is pretty risky, too. Some amount of global diversification has merit.

Why did you not refinance your loan with a bank?
This could be a very good idea if there's no prepayment penalty, and if you're reasonably likely (and able) to pay off the mortgage if interest rates rise substantially after the fixed rate period.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.