Running shoes in Tekong

CallmeZen

Hi guys,

I'm enlisting on 10 June and taking my napfa on 21 May which is next week.

My regular shoes failed on me with the sole tearing soon so I'm considering getting a new one ASAP.

In any case if I failed my napfa and go in on June 10, will I be able to bring my shoes in and run in them or must use the SAF ones.

Just fear later buy already, fail napfa go in early, the shoes wasted. By the time come out, the sole most probably dropping off already.

My regular shoes still can tong abit, but bopi don't napfa that day dismantle...

Shed some advice please! Thanks!

cherry6

Hi guys,
I'm enlisting on 10 June and taking my napfa on 21 May which is next week.
My regular shoes failed on me with the sole tearing soon so I'm considering getting a new one ASAP.
In any case if I failed my napfa and go in on June 10, will I be able to bring my shoes in and run in them or must use the SAF ones.
Just fear later buy already, fail napfa go in early, the shoes wasted. By the time come out, the sole most probably dropping off already.
My regular shoes still can tong abit, but bopi don't napfa that day dismantle...
Shed some advice please! Thanks!
They will give u a pair upon enlistment, but U can run IPPT in any running shoe. This is Sinkapoor (democratic) not north Korea where everything is uniform to suite the dictator's taste.

Only requirement during reservist IPPT is that U wear singlet and running shoes without any pornographic/ offensive images of on them. Seen Muslim wear track pants and tee shirt: think sexy running gear is haram, but that is side point...

Wan save $$$: go sungei road: you'll be amazed what U can find there. Good to practise in new shoe (season it a bit), that said, don't think the shoe price will much change your performance albeit psychologically. U will get std asics pair when U enlist, so U will definitely have 2 pairs thereafter...

CallmeZen

As in training in Tekong, all recruit will need to use the saf one they provided upon enlistment?

cherry6

As in training in Tekong, all recruit will need to use the saf one they provided upon enlistment?

Training I dunno. During my NS, only provide admin canvas shoe, running shoe own self buy so end up all sorts of style during 2.4.

Think whatever u buy, in NS won't last too long. Everyday run, shoe will soon breakdown, so 2 pairs during NS is quite good idea.

That said, the standard saf asics pair is not bad, I use it for my regular jogs. More reasonably priced too...

Think IPPT: they let U wear what u want cos U get good result, oc (regular) will probably get $$$ bonus. In Sinkapoor, everything is about getting good bonus to put down COE/ HDB down payment...

CallmeZen

Just normal running shoes lor.. Don't want waste money waste buy already leave at home rot. If can wear and train in Tekong still better. Anyone can confirm?

tellim

I run w SAF shoes I get knee joint pain. I run neutral shoes my joints ok

reddevil0728

Just normal running shoes lor.. Don't want waste money waste buy already leave at home rot. If can wear and train in Tekong still better. Anyone can confirm?
Think about it, only your commanders will confirm whether can or not.

We can all tell you here can. But when you go there, your commanders say all must standardised.

Then how?

CallmeZen

Think about it, only your commanders will confirm whether can or not.

We can all tell you here can. But when you go there, your commanders say all must standardised.

Then how?

Okay, so I assume what you're saying it's depending on individual commander? If that's the case I'll just go ahead and buy to bring it in. I'm just wondering if there's a certain footwear to adhere to.

ForsakenOne

yea all must wear the shoes that saf provides de, unless u got some feet problem or what, why not use super glue on ur old shoes?

yes1705

Buy one cheap pair of new running shoes for your NAPFA lor. Else, you go borrow used running shoes from people you know and willing to lend you.

POWER brand of running shoes selling at Bata stores are reasonably cheap.

reddevil0728

Okay, so I assume what you're saying it's depending on individual commander? If that's the case I'll just go ahead and buy to bring it in. I'm just wondering if there's a certain footwear to adhere to.
eh yea. like duh?

afbug1

Just buy lah. If BMT cannot wear, then wear in unit. I can't say for sure but I don't think unit will be that regimental till all your footwear must be the same.

During my time, BMT we wear SAF running shoes. In unit, its up to us.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.