Singtel 300mbps Fibre speedtest issue

RoCkMaNX4

I've been getting lower than expected download speeds when I run a speedtest at speedtest.net this week.

Download speed seems to be stuck around 200mbps
Upload speed is normal at 330mbps

Previously my speedtests at speedtest.net were around 330mbps for both upload and download. Problem seems to have happened over the weekend.

Strangely when I use the Singtel speedtest website to test: http://techsupport.singnet.com/global-utilities

I get normal speeds at around 330mbps upload and download.

I'm using Singtel Mio Home Fibre 300mbps plan.
- Laptop connected to LAN Port 2 via Cat 6 cable to Asus N56U Router
- Router firmware: Padavan build 3.4.3.9-099
- VLAN tagging configured for Mio to use LAN port 4
- Nothing was changed since the start of Feb
- Tried rebooting router but still same issue
- Tested with another different laptop on LAN Port 3 also same speedtest results
- Problem has been happening since 4th Feb.
- Last successful speedtest done on speedtest.net was on 2nd Feb and both upload and download was 330+ mbps.
- Will try and test back with the original Singtel Aztech 7003 AC router this week (gave it to a friend so gonna have to get it back from him lol).

Haven't called Singtel yet because I don't have the original modem back in my possession.

Just checking if anyone encountered this same issue before?

W2bIZjO.png

9qKOjDG.png

VsTZRmU.png

cdpefTw.png

renfred89

I've been getting lower than expected download speeds when I run a speedtest at speedtest.net this week.

Download speed seems to be stuck around 200mbps
Upload speed is normal at 330mbps

Previously my speedtests at speedtest.net were around 330mbps for both upload and download. Problem seems to have happened over the weekend.

Strangely when I use the Singtel speedtest website to test: http://techsupport.singnet.com/global-utilities

I get normal speeds at around 330mbps upload and download.

I'm using Singtel Mio Home Fibre 300mbps plan.
- Laptop connected to LAN Port 2 via Cat 6 cable to Asus N56U Router
- Router firmware: Padavan build 3.4.3.9-099
- VLAN tagging configured for Mio to use LAN port 4
- Nothing was changed since the start of Feb
- Tried rebooting router but still same issue
- Tested with another different laptop on LAN Port 3 also same speedtest results
- Problem has been happening since 4th Feb.
- Last successful speedtest done on speedtest.net was on 2nd Feb and both upload and download was 330+ mbps.
- Will try and test back with the original Singtel Aztech 7003 AC router this week (gave it to a friend so gonna have to get it back from him lol).

Haven't called Singtel yet because I don't have the original modem back in my possession.

Just checking if anyone encountered this same issue before?

W2bIZjO.png

9qKOjDG.png

VsTZRmU.png

cdpefTw.png

Please show the graph for download speed. If I'm not wrong, there is something amiss at speedtest side when using the html version. My unlimited fibre also 600 mbps only and the graph will have ups and downs, maybe that's related too?

Must wait until someone go speedtest and complain first.. :D

WWE_Fan

Speedtest aside, do you notice any difference in performance?

Maybe theres some issue at speedtest side, but as long as your connection is stable, should be no problem.

wkweewee

Since jan alrdy experiencing such issue le.. flash/html speedtests on singtel 1gbps will only reflect 600+mbps, while using their java based utilities it will hit 800+mbps to 900+mbps. Technician/ engineer all come my hse try liao lol.

renfred89

Since jan alrdy experiencing such issue le.. flash/html speedtests on singtel 1gbps will only reflect 600+mbps, while using their java based utilities it will hit 800+mbps to 900+mbps. Technician/ engineer all come my hse try liao lol.

Many times it has occurred.. u can try a few more times next month, likely the issue will be resolved.. you'll know there is a problem if ur download graph goes up and down..

swgj86

wad did the technician/engineer say about the difference in speed test results? hardware issue? network? or speedtest site?

swgj86

Speedtest sites lol..
ahh icic ... anyway .. if your surfing experience good, why care about speed test results? unless you suspect not achieving the speed you paying for, or lags in gaming ..

for me, as long as no outage or disconnect issues (so far so good), i am satisfied. low expectations. :)

alice9

me too, i sub 500mbps, but recently speedtest only get like 350mbps..

feel like calling singtel and screw them

Mecisteus

ahh icic ... anyway .. if your surfing experience good, why care about speed test results? unless you suspect not achieving the speed you paying for, or lags in gaming ..

for me, as long as no outage or disconnect issues (so far so good), i am satisfied. low expectations. :)

it is a general expectation that if you pay more to subscribe for a higher plan, you expect top speed. :s13:

you will KPKB if you dont achieve top speed. my advice is always sign up for the cheapest plan.

wkweewee

it is a general expectation that if you pay more to subscribe for a higher plan, you expect top speed. :s13:

you will KPKB if you dont achieve top speed. my advice is always sign up for the cheapest plan.

Not true.. when u consistently see that u get about 80-90% of the speed and u suddenly get 55-65% only running on speed tests for a couple of weeks.

Last logic is weird :s22:.. diff people have got diff demands & needs* at home..

tenzine

Have just upgraded from Singtel 300Mbps to 500Mbps but still only can get 301Mbps on Speedtest.net by Ookla and also using Singtel speed test utilities. Have connected ethernet Cat 5 cable from PC to Asus RT-AC68U. Using Asus all the time instead of Singtel Aztech router and have been getting 300Mbps all the while. Is there something wrong with Asus router limiting speed and cannot go to 500Mbps or fault somewhere else?

ym_tan2

It seems ur profile is not updated after upgrade. Need to call Helpdesk to help u check. I also noticed that Asus router hv some compliance issue and am waiting for Asus to check the issue and release the latest firmware. I plug back SingNet router and I could get back the speed. Alternative, if yr issue is not solve, get samknows to test yr Internet speed. Do note that I can get even higher speed using Ubuntu or linux. Do change yr cable to cat6.

WWE_Fan

When is the effective date? Sometimes it's backend issue and the new profile is not updated. Call them lor.

tenzine

Sorry my fault, as have set my Asus router QoS bandwidth setting to 300Mbps download/upload limit when I was at 200Mbps plan. After changing to auto and also tried 1Gbps limit, I get 432Mbps download/359 upload which is still not 500Mbps. Using Singtel 7003GR router can get 608Mbps download and 90mbps upload.

tenzine

Like to also add that if I disable QoS on Asus can get 569Mbps download and 544Mbps upload. So I will now remove QoS from now on.

xrubiksx

OMG so glad i found this thread. i'm on singtel fibre and my gaming on xbox one live is slow as beep!!!!!! i changed from normal router to fibre (wired!) and my ping is consistently on 198-209. and my friends gaming are on 14. whatt?? help? any reco on how to improve it? i already reset the router thing before + cleared my xbox cache but no change leh

:s11::(:s16::slant:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.