Singtel AX5400

golden

Recontracted with Singtel using AX5400, poor signal in bedrooms, ended getting D Ling Mesh AX1600 ( 3 pack) in order to receive acceptable signal. Technician said walls in my HDB flat very thick? really meh?

Phen8210

Try using asus AP lor.. Singtel one always sucks. They just don't want to admit it.

No ISP doing this except them.

xonix

Recontracted with Singtel using AX5400, poor signal in bedrooms, ended getting D Ling Mesh AX1600 ( 3 pack) in order to receive acceptable signal. Technician said walls in my HDB flat very thick? really meh?
Look at your floor plans, those with the thick black lines are structural walls which will reduce signal penetration a lot. If you have layout with the rooms one after another with long corridor, wifi signal will also be poor in the furthest room too.

By the way, you should be posting here instead: https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/forums/internet-bandwidth-networking-clinic.4/

By-Design-Works-How-to-read-floor-plan-v3.jpg

kappak

your neighbour wifi also will intefere..
u need strong wifi router.

wwenze

Singtel bundled router has always been the worst that they can scrimp. Since 20 years ago.

magix

Surrounding wifi signal also can affect your signal range. If you stay at hdb or condo commons to face this problem.

xiaofan

Singtel bundled router has always been the worst that they can scrimp. Since 20 years ago.

Maybe you need to qualify this with "free bundled router" for the "usual Internet plans" or "base plans"

There are good routers which are bundled with Singtel Fibre Internet now. For example, they bundle Asus RT-AX86U with the 1Gbps Pro Gamer Plan and 1+1 Gbps Game Bundle plan.
https://www.singtel.com/personal/products-services/broadband/fibre-broadband-plans
And sometimes it may not be the worst. Nokia Beacon 1 bundled with Starhub 1Gbps plan (which was a downgrade from the earlier Linksys EA7500v2 and Linksys EA8100 v1) a few year ago may have a good fight with Singtel Mesh Router to be the worst. I will argue Singtel Mesh Router is better in terms of wireless performance.

I do agree that Singtel has bundled many lousy routers -- I have been with Singtel since Feb 2012. I would say the 2-wire and Pace router were the worst routers back then -- I have to change to Linksys WRT1900AC and never look back at Singtel bundled router myself. Singtel AC Plus is also the worst router at its time (2018-2019).

However, since Starhub switched to Nokia Beacon, I think Starhub has a good fight with Singtel to bundle the lousiest router for the base 1Gbps plan.

Singtel Mesh Router (2020-2021) is so-so but Nokia Beacon 1 is very bad as well.

As for the current Singtel issued free router (Airties 4960R AX5400 router, or Askey vs Starhub issued Nokia Beacon 2 AX1800, I am not sure which one is worse. Both are lousy any way.

M1 seems to be better with the free bundled router for 1Gbps plan: Asus RT-1200G+ was so-so at its time, Asus RT-AC2600 was pretty decent, Asus RT-AX55 or TP-Link Archer AX72 is quite good compared to Singtel/Starhub's offerings. But I would still suggest to get better ones like GT-AX6000 from M1 if you are an M1 user.

In any case, DO NOT use the bundled router as the main criteria to choose ISPs. In fact, Starhub is still my top recommendation along with M1 for new sign-up. You just need to skip the Nokia Beacon.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/singapore-isp-comparisons.6665380/

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.