So long never check SGD savings interest rate, see liao shock

coyote

Now UOB stash left 2% effective

CIMB lagi worse 1.05%

I thought sinkies laughing at Trump rate cutting end up ownself worse

Singaporeans laughing at rate cuts is because they invested in properties, REITs or shares that saw their portfolio rose tremendously. Who in the right mind talks about saving account or fix deposit interest rates in Singapore?

coyote

Only in SG, interest rates are cut when inflation is high. :frown:

Germini said Singapore current inflation is not considered high. Where do you get your number so different from Germini.

Low interest rate is good for businesses and investors to grow their money on leverage. Those invested in properties, REITs, shares are all very happy now seeing their portfolio rose tremendously ...

So, what's not good about low interest rate?

Based on the latest available data, Singapore's inflation is generally not considered high right now, especially when compared to its own recent peak and international trends.
Here is a breakdown of the key figures and factors:
📊 Latest Inflation Figures (as of September 2025)
| Metric | September 2025 Rate (Year-on-Year) | Commentary |
|---|---|---|
| Headline CPI-All Items | 0.7% | This is the overall inflation rate. This figure is very low compared to the 4.8% average in 2023 and the 6.1% peak in 2022. |
| MAS Core Inflation | 0.4% | This excludes the more volatile costs of private road transport and accommodation. This is the figure the central bank (MAS) focuses on most for monetary policy. This is also a very low rate. |
📈 Historical Context and Forecast
* Low Compared to Recent History:
* Singapore experienced a period of high inflation globally in 2022 and 2023, with the Headline CPI-All Items peaking at 6.1% in 2022 and averaging 4.8% in 2023. The current rate of 0.7% is a sharp drop from these recent highs.
* Low Compared to MAS Forecasts:
* The Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) and the Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI) project the average Core Inflation for the whole of 2025 to be in the range of 0.5% to 1.5%. The latest reading of 0.4% falls within or below this expected low range.
* Key Price Drivers:
* The main upward pressure on the Headline inflation rate (which includes everything) is currently coming from private transport costs, largely driven by the high Certificate of Entitlement (COE) premiums.
* However, the Core inflation rate (which is a better measure of general price changes for daily essentials) remains very subdued.
In summary, Singapore has successfully brought inflation down to very low levels compared to its recent past and global peers, with the Core Inflation rate being particularly low.
Would you like to know the inflation outlook for the rest o
f 2025 and 2026?

cyke69sg

Now UOB stash left 2% effective

CIMB lagi worse 1.05%

I thought sinkies laughing at Trump rate cutting end up ownself worse
Nowadays must put ALL your money into some kind of investment. Stocks. Property. Bitcoin. Gold. Crypto. Just to keep up with inflation.

Otherwise is everyday get poorer only.

win_man

Those sinkies chase high interest rate FD and savings accounts, now they do what ah? SSB and T-Bills also cui.

cyke69sg

It's appalling many here lack financial acumen.
Can;t blame them

The education system refuses to put this as the priority thing to be education on.

instead teach useless things like all kinds of advanced math for dunno what f 8 ck man.

And other things like literature? geography?

Study all the science for what also?

I blame the teachers and the people in charge of education.

They plan it so that it forces people to be poor.

coyote

Can;t blame them

The education system refuses to put this as the priority thing to be education on.

instead teach useless things like all kinds of advanced math for dunno what f 8 ck man.

Agreed but let's look at the whole thing more objectively. Even those touted best education system in the world also never teach about investment. Why? Could it be it simply cannot be taught in a classroom? Education even till tertiary are teaching functions, skills and academics. Investment is risky most people only leaned after losing money, myself included. It's true we all need financial knowledge but it cannot be taught because there's no one single way to make investment returns and you don't want someone suing the school or teacher for teaching your son buying Tesla or Bitcoin causing him to be bankrupt...

I guess, the responsibility falls a little on the parents but mostly on individual to learn taking risk for returns... Simply cannot be taught in any institutions or classrooms.

I'm surprised you left Singapore for long but still harbor this notion of blaming the education system for something that cannot be taught in a classroom. Can't blame the education is all I can say.

dushensiao

Can;t blame them

if everyone know financial literacy, whose gonna work? Our education is meant to keep most in the cogs, work until retire at 65. At the same time keep increasing COL till forced to work beyond 65

Meanwhile they still say must work to have a purpose in life

cyke69sg

Agreed but let's look at the whole thing more objectively. Even those touted best education system in the world also never teach about investment. Why? Could it be it simply cannot be taught in a classroom? Education even till tertiary are teaching functions, skills and academics. Investment is risky most people only leaned after losing money, myself included. It's true we all need financial knowledge but it cannot be taught because there's no one single way to make investment returns and you don't want someone suing the school or teacher for teaching your son buying Tesla or Bitcoin causing him to be bankrupt...

I guess, the responsibility falls a little on the parents but mostly on individual to learn taking risk for returns... Simply cannot be taught in any institutions or classrooms.

I'm surprised you left Singapore for long but still harbor this notion of blaming the education system for something that cannot be taught in a classroom. Can't blame the education is all I can say.
I disagree

It can be taught in the classroom.

What you are saying is an expectation that what is taught makes everyone a successful investor.

No lah

There are kids who study math or english or geopgraphy or science and fail. We still teach it.

There's a difference between NOT TEACHING ANYTHING ABOUT INVESTING WHATSOEVER and trying to teach it but not everyone is good at it.

Of course I blame the system.

in the 1980s the kids were "taught" to save money. Get saving squirrel piggy bank. Open POSB account save and earn interest.

Then what happened? Gone. Silence.

At least they could have said kids buy stocks instead of save money in low interest accounts that do not keep up with inflation.

They DID NOT. Why?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.