[Software Update] macOS Sierra

neubie

any issue with parallels desktop or mac office application?

I have stopped using parallels. As almost every year osx releases foc, they're forcing people to pay usd50 to download parallels. Unless you don't upgrade the os, else parallels will keep asking for $$$

VodkaPear

I have stopped using parallels. As almost every year osx releases foc, they're forcing people to pay usd50 to download parallels. Unless you don't upgrade the os, else parallels will keep asking for $$$

ya lo. even with sch rebates also ex.

but no choice, i need for sch. going finish end of year.

to all the sexperts, I am on original Maverick, if let say I wanna update to Yosemite and completed, then what if I wanna recover the system using( command+R) method, is it recover back to Maverick or Yosemite? kam xia many many :o

renfred89

Владимир;103856427 said:
to all the sexperts, I am on original Maverick, if let say I wanna update to Yosemite and completed, then what if I wanna recover the system using( command+R) method, is it recover back to Maverick or Yosemite? kam xia many many :o

it will be yosemite. it doesn't roll back to maverick when you do the restore..

Ok, look like I need to restore to my maverick first, then create an image of maverick first. In case I wanna change back to maverick in the future. Thanks for your answer.

neubie

Владимир;103869436 said:
Ok, look like I need to restore to my maverick first, then create an image of maverick first. In case I wanna change back to maverick in the future. Thanks for your answer.

Actually no need. Last year when I upsize my SSD on my MBA, what I did was internet restore from Apple servers, and they are able to download the factory-shipped OS X based on their records.

So if your mac is factory-shipped with Mavericks, the internet recovery will install Mavericks on your Mac.

Actually no need. Last year when I upsize my SSD on my MBA, what I did was internet restore from Apple servers, and they are able to download the factory-shipped OS X based on their records.

So if your mac is factory-shipped with Mavericks, the internet recovery will install Mavericks on your Mac.

ok, that is cool. it is factory-shipped with mavericks, last batch of mac mini with quad core i7:D:D:D

so the tricks is to use Internet recovery then. kam xia very much :o

renfred89

I don't think so leh. Apple keeps tracks of your of software according to last signed version.

If you have upgraded successfully, then it should download the latest OS automatically even with internet recovery..

I don't think so leh. Apple keeps tracks of your of software according to last signed version.

If you have upgraded successfully, then it should download the latest OS automatically even with internet recovery..

:eek::eek::eek: zhun bo? like that i better make a image for maverick, in case heng heng tio internet recovery to latest version.

neubie

Anyway, its best to keep a copy of the original factory-shipped OS that came with the Mac, which I usually will create a bootable OSX installer for all the versions.

Depending on internet connection, internet recovery sometimes can be painfully slow (takes hours)

ashhong

Anyway, its best to keep a copy of the original factory-shipped OS that came with the Mac, which I usually will create a bootable OSX installer for all the versions.

Depending on internet connection, internet recovery sometimes can be painfully slow (takes hours)

same, since Lion, I always keep a copy of the installer in my external hdd and a bootable installer for the current version in case i need to recover quickly.

sounds like a wise choice, sticking to this approach.:D

renfred89

thats why a decent lan connection will suffice. i downloaded sierra within 1 minute wor..

i-Movies

I noticed some

1. time machine is no longer doing hourly backup, the interval could be few hours long or 20 mins short.

2. storage usage, "calculating..." never ends on my new MacBook, but no problem on my MacBookPro.

EuroR_CL7

Anyone experiencing siri keeps prompting for no reason what so ever?
its disabled. it just keeps prompting if i wanna enable.
its enabled. it just keeps bringing up siri for no reason. LOL

ashhong

Anyone experiencing siri keeps prompting for no reason what so ever?
its disabled. it just keeps prompting if i wanna enable.
its enabled. it just keeps bringing up siri for no reason. LOL

isn't the only way to bring up siri is by pressing cmd + space together? or by clicking on the siri icon?

i don't think there is a way to bring up siri by voice on the mac.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.