Songkran 2018

Kram

Hi, wanted to take a short break and go to BKK.
Booked the trip from 12-Apr to 15-Apr.
Forgotten about the Songkran festival
Just wanted to check what will be the situation like during this period

-Understand that malls will still be open. How about massage places like healthland / urban retreat?
-For food options, only at malls?
-Any big events - music party during this time? at RCA?
-The water splashing will stop at 6pm?
-How about the nightlife etc pubs, clubs. Will they be open?
-Transportation, massive jam? take bts?

THanks for the help

Hulk55

Should be ok lah..
all malls and some massage open
water splashing all day long depending on which area you go actually
since its holiday time in bkk there is no jam i think

iGotPwned

No need to deliberately avoid. Songkran is fun. This will be my 3rd straight year heading there for Songkran.

iGotPwned

Hi, wanted to take a short break and go to BKK.
Booked the trip from 12-Apr to 15-Apr.
Forgotten about the Songkran festival
Just wanted to check what will be the situation like during this period

-Understand that malls will still be open. How about massage places like healthland / urban retreat? Both decent and *ahem* types mostly still opened during songkran period
-For food options, only at malls? Eateries mostly open, only some at Chinatown not open last year when I was there
-Any big events - music party during this time? at RCA? s2o party at RCA. can buy tickets already.
-The water splashing will stop at 6pm? Probably for some areas? Silom and some other areas splashing till 10pm thereabouts
-How about the nightlife etc pubs, clubs. Will they be open? yup, will be open. but heard in recent times they close early though
-Transportation, massive jam? take bts? the usual traffic jam. but take note some taxis might not want to drive you when you are soaking wet

THanks for the help

refer to my replies in red. hope it helps

Corny_Cow

going 14-17, booked without knowing its songkran just like TS. if we dont really want to get wet, should just stick mainly to malls? will erawan shrine have waterfight too? hmmm

Andrew833

going 14-17, booked without knowing its songkran just like TS. if we dont really want to get wet, should just stick mainly to malls? will erawan shrine have waterfight too? hmmm

Wear raincoat every where, don't need to worry much.

BlackCube

Back to normal Liao. Some places (not bkk) so till playing though.

Kram

Songkran was fun but i feel that experiencing it once will be enough liao haha.
Main roads, not much water splashing other than the occassional siao on tourists.
The smaller sois are where the action get crazy
Weather is hot and humid so the water splashing is quite nice.. especially the ice cold ones.. shiok

SAW WA DEE PEE MAI!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.