The realities of raising 5 kids in Singapore | Commentary

yperic

During the National Day Rally 2024 speech, a slew of announcements were aimed at making Singapore more family-friendly. One of the support measures will be for families with three or more young children. Freelance writer and mother-of-five Kelly Ang tells CNA about the realities of raising a large family in Singapore.

Read the commentary: https://cna.asia/3X2Ou9K

0:00 Introduction
0:33 What motivated you to have a large family?
1:16 What are some of the bigger misconceptions people have about large families?
1:55 What should couples consider when deciding on parenthood?

dushensiao

tai tai stay landed where got issues sia? If got $$, having one soccer team also can la

the other spectrum is those poor af and stay in rental with 3/4 kids, that one is jin jialat. No family planning

buffybuffy

I know a guy, single parent with 5 kids. The wife left him and he alone looking after the 5 kids. 13 years to 2 years old. Wife had depression. Local grad.

CNA want to do is to interview him. See how he work and yet raise 5 kids.

dambio

I know a guy, single parent with 5 kids. The wife left him and he alone looking after the 5 kids. 13 years to 2 years old. Wife had depression. Local grad.

CNA want to do is to interview him. See how he work and yet raise 5 kids.
His parents or got friends helping him or not?

dnsfpl

i got a friend with 4 kids, keep huskey and marine fish

idk how he manages his time lol

zyklon86

Actually 4-5 kids is not difficult if you have enough space and one spouse is not working.

Sadly, under PAP policies, you need to be earning at least 40-50k a month to competitively afford 5 kids. Don't believe? I can tell you how the money just evaporates.

Sure you can raise 5 in rental hdb, but it will be garbage breed garbage.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.