The truth about Chee Soon Juan's NUS sacking

licardi90

I am a CSJ supporter but somehow his NUS sacking seems quite suspicious to me and I want to get to the bottom of the matter. So I was browsing the Parliamentary debates on CSJ's NUS sacking and found the following info, which I think may answer some questions people may have. In fact the defense was provided by Chiam See Tong himself.

Q) Why Chee Soon Juan didn't fight his dismissal?

A) Under the service contract NUS could dismiss candidates on two grounds, clause 4(a) for no reason whatsoever with three months' notice and clause 4(c) for misconduct. CSJ was dismissed under clause 4(a).

Since he was dismissed without case, which was within the university's legal right there was no way he could win the case! MSM failed to publish this but thankfully we have parliamentary records that cannot be erased.

If he was really dishonest then why was he not dismissed under clause 4(c)?

Q) Why did Chee Soon Juan send his wife's thesis to the United States?

A) His wife was conducting research which was relevant to his and he wanted to send the dissertation over to be validated so he could incorporate the information into his own research. He was forthcoming about this reasons and used it to justify his $226.00 mailing fee. He even provided communication records between him and his PhD advisor who supported the relevance of his wife's research.

The funds were approved by his direct supervisor who sacked him later.. Below I quote from Chiam See Tong on the Parliamentary Record:

"Bills and Claims for payments must be certified by the principal investigator and approved by the Head of his Department before they are submitted to the Bursar's Office for payment. The vote chargeable and the item No. must be indicated. Only original copies of the bills are accepted for payment.

As far as we know, Dr Chee has complied with this condition. His bills comprising delivery notes and invoices were obviously checked by the principal investigator and approved personally by Dr Vasoo himself. Then they were sent to the Bursar. Payments were made. The whole matter was over because it was duly approved by the Head of Department."

Q) How about the inflated taxi claims?

A) In the end, the taxi claims did not play at part at all in determining his dismissal because NUS administration thought that the misuse of research funds was sufficient.

In the end whether or not CSJ should have been sacked hinges on whether sending his wife's thesis which was relevant to his research was indeed a misuse of funds. Chiam See Tong believed that NUS guidelines were not clear while PAP believed that it was a misuse and grounds for dismissal. If it was the latter, why did they not dismiss him on clause 4(c) for misconduct and dishonesty? You be the judge.

And another quote by CST: "During the drive [in 1990], Dr Chee asked casually what would happen to a NUS lecturer if he joined an Opposition party. Dr Vasoo replied that he would probably be sacked, or asked to resign."

Source: Singapore Parliamentary Reports (Hansard).
Details are below because I can’t post links.
Sitting Date: 13-04-1993
Section Name: MOTIONS
Title: DISMISSAL OF DR CHEE SOON JUAN

siloti

Q) How about the inflated taxi claims?

A) In the end, the taxi claims did not play at part at all in determining his dismissal because NUS administration thought that the misuse of research funds was sufficient.

Hello, if you take a cab, lets say the fare (on the meter) is $8.70, would the taxi driver allow you to pay only $7.40 and still give you a receipt of $8.70?? or you pay $8.70 and the taxi driver somehow manipulate the receipt printer to print as $10.0?

Then with that receipt of $8.70, and you try to claim from your company or department... would you show that receipt?

Mancunian2

those so-called "offences" involving a few hundred $ do not normally warrant a dismissal, at most a warning only.

it is obvious that CSJ was stiched up by forces behind the scenes

yousenko

Conspiracy. Who the heck get sacked for $200 claim of legit fees.

wadsad

is true story anot?

if 100% true, please spread.

and if 100% true, lky i believe now wont be having a good time. 1 whole life ruined so many ppl's lives.

wadsad

Hello, if you take a cab, lets say the fare (on the meter) is $8.70, would the taxi driver allow you to pay only $7.40 and still give you a receipt of $8.70?? or you pay $8.70 and the taxi driver somehow manipulate the receipt printer to print as $10.0?

Then with that receipt of $8.70, and you try to claim from your company or department... would you show that receipt?

i dunno what u are talking about. can rephase?

Laneige

those so-called "offences" involving a few hundred $ do not normally warrant a dismissal, at most a warning only.

it is obvious that CSJ was stiched up by forces behind the scenes

assuming all abt receipts n mailing fee is true .... lets not talk abt dismissal but is it okay for a lecturer to do this? lecturer dont earn little
if this really happened then its weird the same person is asking others where is the money wo when he isnt v honest with $ himself wo
also, what does he takes others as when these are being done.

gravity_infinity

assuming all abt receipts n mailing fee is true .... lets not talk abt dismissal but is it okay for a lecturer to do this? lecturer dont earn little
if this really happened then its weird the same person is asking others where is the money wo when he isnt v honest with $ himself wo

but what if it is untrue?

wadsad

A) His wife was conducting research which was relevant to his and he wanted to send the dissertation over to be validated so he could incorporate the information into his own research. He was forthcoming about this reasons and used it to justify his $226.00 mailing fee. He even provided communication records between him and his PhD advisor who supported the relevance of his wife's research.

The funds were approved by his direct supervisor who sacked him later.. Below I quote from Chiam See Tong on the Parliamentary Record:

"Bills and Claims for payments must be certified by the principal investigator and approved by the Head of his Department before they are submitted to the Bursar's Office for payment. The vote chargeable and the item No. must be indicated. Only original copies of the bills are accepted for payment.

As far as we know, Dr Chee has complied with this condition. His bills comprising delivery notes and invoices were obviously checked by the principal investigator and approved personally by Dr Vasoo himself. Then they were sent to the Bursar. Payments were made. The whole matter was over because it was duly approved by the Head of Department."

assuming the OP is accurate. your point being?

BBClone

It's very clear his sacking was politically motivated.

What is unclear is how Singaporeans continue of think of him as a psychopathic gangster.

Laneige

but what if it is untrue?
Means something with the receipt charge lo.
Sys/ human errors/ sabo etc u can think of. Actually if ts never post, people might forget abt the receipts thing Liao.

assuming the OP is accurate. your point being?

Too sleepy missed out. Thank u for the quote

licardi90

The issue is whether his claim is within NUS guidelines. NUS did not defend it's guidelines but Lee Yock Suan just said, "Oh this kind of thing must say meh?" To me it is a grey area because the sending of his wife's thesis advanced his research work. Personally I think in grey areas, if the admininistration approves your claim means it's OK, case closed liao. If later they want to say that sorry we take back the approval, you have to pay back then it's fair. But I think dismissal is not fair.

Mancunian2

I was studying at NUS around that same time. Lecturers those days don't earn that much, but that's besides the point.

CSJ was alleged to have misuse funds during the course of work, not pocketed them. Be very clear on this.

Was it proven comprehensively that CSJ was guilty as alleged?
And if it was true, other lecturers don't take the same liberties?

In any case, my point is even if a lecturer is guilty for such small misdemeanour, it does not warrant a dismissal.

Not unless it was politically motivated.

gravity_infinity

The issue is whether his claim is within NUS guidelines. NUS did not defend it's guidelines but Lee Yock Suan just said, "Oh this kind of thing must say meh?" To me it is a grey area because the sending of his wife's thesis advanced his research work. Personally I think in grey areas, if the admininistration approves your claim means it's OK, case closed liao. If later they want to say that sorry we take back the approval, you have to pay back then it's fair. But I think dismissal is not fair.

exactly approved already later back tracked. then he could just return the money since it was backtrack. wrongful dismmal is really unfair.

anhyeuem

What's the differences between him and our famous Nisha?

Sinkie vs FT. Full stop.

Laneige

I was studying at NUS around that same time. Lecturers those days don't earn that much, but that's besides the point.

CSJ was alleged to have misuse funds during the course of work, not pocketed them. Be very clear on this.

Was it proven comprehensively that CSJ was guilty as alleged?
And if it was true, other lecturers don't take the same liberties?

In any case, my point is even if a lecturer is guilty for such small misdemeanour, it does not warrant a dismissal.

Not unless it was politically motivated.

Misuse funds is liked the shifu that didn't pocket fund but lend the staff the money or something? Too long also forgot the actual details. Something liked this? As far as I rem, he didn't pocket the money

Actually dismissal or not really have to depend on the sch policies ba but normally will have terms liked can dismiss if there's misconduct etc or what? Normally the clauses are pretty clear to protect the "co" butt?? So it's up to those above to decide? But it's not surprise if people may also see it as politically linked

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.