Those suffering from any kind of pollution, housing issues e.g. noise, air quality, flooding, flat defects, etc can share your experiences here

windwaver

First of all, I started this thread because there are simply too many threads with regards to Pasir Gudang but as time goes on I'm hoping to let this thread evolve into a place for people to vent their frustrations on all sorts of pollution, not just a particular spot in Singapore.

Since nobody has the time, I took the effort to seek clarification from NEA and HDB with regards to the concern.

These are some of the links that are monitoring air quality

1) https://www.haze.gov.sg/
2) https://aqicn.org
3) https://www.accuweather.com/

Couple of interesting articles but this is the latest.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/fire-in-punggol-no-its-in-jb

Reply from NEA.

We would like to clarify that the burning from a chimney that you mentioned is called flaring. In petrochemical industries or refineries, flaring system is adopted as a device to get rid of excess hydrocarbons at the plant for safety reason. Flaring may be carried out during manufacturing start-up, plant shut down or plant upset. When the combustion process is complete, the flaring products are not harmful to human health.

We checked the air quality data from NEA’s ambient air monitoring stations in Seletar, Punggol and Ubin. The records showed that the ambient air quality measured during the flaring period were within the normal range.

We thank you for the feedback and would be glad to help and provide you with further clarification that you may need. Please contact me or Mr Lee Kwan Hin at 67319979 or you may also contact our 24 hour Call Centre at 1800 - CALL NEA (1800-2255 632) for any further feedback.

Yours sincerely
xxxx xx

Mr. Joey Ng Kee Meng • Technical Supervisor • Pollution Control Department • National Environment Agency • DID : +65 6731 9979 • Fax : +65 6731 9651 • Email : xxxx_xx@nea.gov.sg

windwaver

Please feel free to post any articles or concerns in this thread.

You can also contact the NEA officers listed above for clarification(s).

Read this

https://pages.malaysiakini.com/johorriver/en/

Troubled waters:​

Why Pasir Gudang rivers are dying​

Wastewater being discharged into Sungai Buluh, Pasir Gudang. It is not illegal for industrial factories to discharge wastewater as long as it remains within the legal limits set by the Environmental Quality Regulations 2009.

map_1080x1080.gif

Turbid waters, foul smells​

Sungai Tukang Batu – the most polluted river in Malaysia according to the 2017 EQR – was inaccessible, as it runs down the middle of an industrial zone which has been covered up.

https://pages.malaysiakini.com/johorriver/video/sg-buluh-1080x1080-web-fps24.mp4

https://pages.malaysiakini.com/johorriver/video/sg-kim-kim-1080x1080-web-fps24.mp4

https://pages.malaysiakini.com/johorriver/video/pg-resident-640x640.mp4

Don’t use the water​

While the state of the rivers in Pasir Gudang is worrying, Zaki said that polluted rivers usually do not directly affect residents’ health, as they do not use the river water directly.

Marine life destroyed​

While the health of the Seletar Orang Asli tribe may not be affected, the state of the rivers nevertheless eats into their livelihood.

https://pages.malaysiakini.com/johorriver/video/orang-seleter-640x640.mp4

14335829-70fe-465b-8be5-fec1851a32ac.jpg
60f10c00-9718-447f-a0b2-9d962a18d786.jpg

One of the first to relocate to Kampung Kuala Masai from Stulang Laut more than 20 years ago was Lag Bacik.

Lag, who is now over 70 years old, still remembers that when she first moved, the waters of Sungai Masai and the Johor Straits surrounding the village were clear, and filled with fish and crabs.

The waters have long since turned murky. She lamented that even if they were to find mussels in the water now, they would be dead.

She and her 27-year-old son Michael claimed that during the dry season, black water can be seen coming down Sungai Masai heading towards the Johor Straits.

The villagers also used to go to the mangrove area in Sungai Masai to catch crabs, but Lag said they no longer dare to set foot in the river.

“Sometimes we would get wounds and scabs on our feet. We do not dare (to walk in the river anymore),” she claimed.

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/s...toxic-waste-from-sungai-kim-kim-minister-says

Pasir Gudang pollution caused by leftover toxic waste from Sungai Kim Kim, minister says​

PUTRAJAYA - The airborne pollution that has affected dozens of students in Johor's Pasir Gudang district were caused by leftover chemical waste in Sungai Kim Kim that was supposed to have been cleaned up three months ago, Malaysia's Housing and Local Government Minister Zuraida Kamaruddin said on Monday (June 24).

She said initial investigations found the cleaning contractor assigned to clear the waste did not do a thorough job in clearing the hazardous materials, Bernama news agency quoted her as saying.

"As the hazardous materials have been exposed to wind and rain, the uncontrolled air borne substances may have spread and affected the people once again," she told reporters in Putrajaya, the news agency said.

That is why after the haze few years ago, can't trust the data provided by NEA. Built my own air monitoring with the Raspberry Pi and sensors.

Indeed the readings are higher than the official and I don't get the bullshat on 3 hrs readings that averages out the index. Realtime info on the air quality.
Oh wow, that's meticulous (y)

Anyway, check this out

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/c...dents-still-fear-pollution-at-sungai-kim-kim/

3 years on, residents still fear pollution at Sungai Kim Kim​

SungaI-Kim-Kim-Issues-2.jpg

JOHOR BAHRU: It has been three years since a major pollution incident at Sungai Kim Kim left more than 2,700 people in hospital, but several residents in the Pasir Gudang area continue to live in fear of another occurrence.

On March 7, 2019, the nation was shocked when many schoolchildren and canteen operators collapsed after exhibiting dizziness, nausea and vomiting.

A total of 2,775 people, mostly schoolchildren, were taken to hospital, and 110 schools near the river were forced to close. A total of 1,500 tonnes of river water was needed to clear the 900 tonnes of toxic sludge from the area.

Ahmad Ali, 58, remembered how he and his wife were awakened in the wee hours of the morning to a strong odour. The couple came out of their house at Kampung Bukit Pulai covering their noses, and so did their neighbours.

Feeling nauseated and concerned, some of the villagers went to lodge a police report while it was still dark, he told FMT. It was only when dawn broke that they saw the river had turned black.

River was oily and black

“Many had difficulty breathing that morning. We came out of our houses asking each other, ‘Do you smell that?’ It was only in the morning that we found the smell was coming from the river,” he said, describing the water at the time as oily and black.

It was alleged that the toxic substances were dumped into Sungai Kim Kim merely hundreds of metres from the houses in Kampung Bukit Pulai.

Asmah Kamaruddin, 60, recounted how ambulance sirens were frequently heard around her residential area of Taman Tanjung Puteri Resort; the school near her house was among those forced to close.

She told FMT she was worried for herself and her husband as they were both quite elderly. While no friends or family had fallen sick, she was aware from chat messages about several neighbours’ children having taken ill.

“We knew that this or that person’s child was sick, possibly out of sheer fear or because they really had difficulty breathing. I knew some who had quite severe asthma attacks and were in and out of the hospital,” she said.

Asmah said she was not sure if the authorities had taken much action to curb the river pollution; the incident would not have happened if proper measures were in place, she said.

SungaI-Kim-Kim-Issues-7.jpg

It was very scary, says parent

Puvendran, 33, said some of his neighbours at Taman Bukit Dahlia had developed health problems and were admitted to hospital. He said the pollution incident was “very scary”.

The father of one said he and his family barely left the house for a while and were ready to temporarily relocate if the situation got worse. While some acquaintances who fell sick at the time are now fine, he said they were quite traumatised.

“They still have that phobia that it might happen again. We need our authorities to look into and control any illegal activities of dumping things into the river. If we don’t monitor these things, it could happen again.”

Villagers take action

Nurul Athirah Mazumi, 27, said it was worrying when hundreds of students started falling sick since they had a weaker immune system, with one child after another in the area being admitted to hospital.

A recent visit by FMT found that the river looks cleaner, though it was far from crystal clear.

Ahmad said it still turns dark in colour from time to time, especially when it rained, claiming that this came from sewage plants upstream.

But he and his fellow villagers are now quick to whip out their phones and record videos of the river whenever any semblance of pollution occurs and report it to the authorities.

Still afraid of the worst

His wife, Noorma Noor, 55, said the people of Kampung Bukit Pulai did not feel safe yet, expressing wariness over the factories around Pasir Gudang.

“The authorities must monitor each factory there, especially those who handle scheduled toxic substances. If the incident happens again, imagine what will happen.”

Ahmad said the trauma was felt by all villagers there but acknowledged that there was some improvement and that the state government had taken the initiative to clean up the river.

“But the trauma is still there. We can’t run away from that fear,” he said.

windwaver

https://pentasflora.com/improper-management-of-hazardous-waste-its-a-global-crisis/

Improper Management Of Hazardous Waste – It’s A Global Crisis​

On 6th March 2019, tons of hazardous waste were illegally disposed into Kim Kim River, Pasir Gudang, Malaysia. As a result, 975 students in the vicinity developed signs and symptoms of respiratory disease due to chemical poisoning.1

Poor management of hazardous waste can lead to environmental pollution, injuries, and adverse health risks. Children’s exposure to hazardous waste may cause serious acute and chronic health problems due to their higher vulnerability to the toxic effects of chemicals.

In April 2020, CNN also reported a discovery of 110 containers of illegally dumped toxic waste at the Port of Tanjung Pelepas in Johor Bahru, in what authorities in Malaysia called “the biggest finding of its kind” in the country’s history, according to state media Bernama.

Inside was 1,864 tonnes of electric arc furnace dust – a hazardous by-product of steel production, containing toxic elements such as lead and chromium. They were brought into the country from Romania and falsely declared as concentrated zinc, officials said. This became an Interpol investigation. 2

What’s causing the sudden influx of illegal waste?

In 2018, China imposed a ban on plastic waste imports in an attempt to clean up its environment. Since then, many countries have looked for an alternative dumping ground for their trash, thus creating problems for many countries including Malaysia, Philippines and Cambodia.

To limit irresponsible dumping, 187 countries added plastic to the Basel Convention last year, a treaty that regulates the movement of hazardous materials from one country to another. But the problem has continued regardless.

The Environmental Quality Act 1974 is Malaysia’s maiden environmental legislation. It primarily relates to the prevention, abatement, control of pollution and enhancement of the environment. To date, there are no fewer than 40 legislations with numerous regulations, rules and orders enacted for the purpose of environmental protection in Malaysia.

In April of 2021, the Malaysian government proposed a RM15 million fine for scheduled waste pollution.3 This is because in the event of pollution, local councils have to suspend the operation of water treatment plants and water operators have to deploy water tankers to provide water supply to residents.

The Department of Environment Malaysia’s Hazardous Substances Division does not allow the import of hazardous waste including electronic waste into the country. It is also the policy of the government of Malaysia not to allow hazardous waste to be exported out of Malaysia; except for recovery in an overseas facility if local recovery facilities do not have the capability and capacity to carry out such activity.4

It has become a global crisis.

Ever increasing population growth, urbanisation and economic development are exacerbating the increase in quantities of waste that are overburdening existing waste-management systems. Waste management is one of the most complex and cost-intensive public services, absorbing large chunks of municipal budgets even when organised and operated properly.

Public waste systems in major cities cannot keep pace with the urban expansion and rapid industrialisation happening in countries that have not developed proper systems to deal with hazardous and special wastes.

Even in countries with proper waste management systems, simply collecting and disposing of waste out of sight is no solution. In waste management, there is no such thing as ‘throwing away’.

Today’s ‘away’ might be your child’s backyard tomorrow or, worse, might have already impaired the health of the next generation. A lot of the waste that we discard can be prevented by changing the design of a product, producing more with fewer resources, reusing, recycling and so on. However, there will always be some waste that cannot be prevented and will require proper handling.

As the crisis unfolds, there are significant opportunities for organising the waste sector, with all its complexities, in a way that is more economically, environmentally and socially sustainable.

Indeed, if handled properly, waste management has huge potential to turn problems into solutions and to lead the way towards sustainable development through the recovery and reuse of valuable resources; the creation of new business and employment opportunities, reduced emissions of greenhouse gases from waste management operations, such as landfills; and conversion of waste to energy.

The benefits are huge, for both climate and business.

A 2010 United Nations Environmental Program (UNEP) report showed that, in Northern Europe, recycling one tonne of paper or aluminium saves more than 600kg and 10,000kg of CO2 equivalent respectively. And that is not all. A 2009 UNEP report revealed there is 65 times more gold in one tonne of old mobile phones than the five grammes in a tonne of ore. Those who work in the UDS$410 billion waste sector already understand the great potential of sound waste management.5

So, let’s consider waste not as a problem, but as an opportunity to recover and convert resources, a paradigm shift that is gaining increasing currency. Whatever your perspective, there is no time to waste in tackling this global crisis.

IMG_20200905_121640.jpg

3rf5bzllgcf81.jpg

52040821222_e43210dc9d_b.jpg

https://stackedhomes.com/editorial/waterfront-ii-northshore-review/

51968990106_2eafe977b2_b.jpg

51967991332_d4746f35cc_b.jpg

The articles on chemical spill is on the first page, recent fireball is in this thread too.

However, the review is pretty neutral so there are plus points too.

In summary,

51969580350_22f40b1f18_b.jpg

windwaver

There's also helicopter noise at times, it can be as early as 8am from what I understand from residents.

The helicopter will fly along the Singapore side of the Johor Strait, those units having the sea view to Pasir Gudang will be the worst affected.

I experienced it once and it was really noisy, much worse than fighter jets higher up in the sky.

However, it was interesting having such a closed up view of a helicopter in operation.

The sound is like this (captured at Northshore), you'll notice the helicopter coming real close at around the 1 min mark.

image-2022-10-11-150426732.png

On the other hand, I came across this article. Not related to pollution but also something Punggol residents have asked a couple of times, especially those staying in Northshore.

Just hope it's useful.

https://qanvast.com/sg/articles/the-case-of-punggol-rust-why-stainless-metals-still-rust-2536

The Case of Punggol Rust: Why "Stainless" Metals Still Rust​

Those of you staying near water bodies, take note.
Homeowners living near the sea may be treated to nice views everyday, but they should also be more mindful about the metal things they have at home.
Over the years, several homeowners living in such areas have mentioned that their stainless steel fittings rusted within a few months after moving in. And after seeing these pictures of these these stainless-steel-turned-rusty railings found along Punggol coastal shores, we’ve decided to ask our Instagram followers for additional input, and have also spoken to an interior designer to find out more.
Here’s what we found:

Stainless steel – rust-resistant or not?​

Stainless steel is one of the most commonly-used metals in our homes. They’re known for their resistance to rust, so of course, any rusting issues would spark some concern.
Punggol Rust

Save to Qanvast Board

Source: Punggol Northshore District
In our Instagram poll, many of our followers shared that their metallic items such as sinks, railings, and even rain showers would rust. Amy Ang (not her real name), who used to live near Pasir Ris Beach, recalled a time when everything from her railings to her window grilles would rust within a matter of months, even after cleaning or replacing them.
Punggol Rust

Save to Qanvast Board

Based on our recent poll on Instagram, 67% of poll respondents encountered a similar rust problem.
So given these responses, is “stainless” steel just a marketing gimmick? Or are sea breezes really just that potent? Here’s what Shawn Ng, an interior designer from ProjectGuru, has to say.
“The moisture and salt particles in the sea breeze can damage the chromium layer of stainless steel, which causes it to rust,” said Shawn. “But even then, stainless steel is still better in terms of rust resistance, as compared to wrought iron items.”
That just goes to show how even tough materials like stainless steel have chinks in their armour - which, in this case, is the mighty sea breeze. So if you’re a resident living in coastal districts like Punggol, Pasir Ris, and the East Coast, take notes.

How do we prevent our metal fittings from rust?​

Northshore Drive by Orange Interior

Save to Qanvast Board

View this project by Orange Interior
As many of our followers mentioned, powder coating or painting your metal structures can stave off the rusting as it creates a protective layer. But they’ve acknowledged that this method isn’t a foolproof prevention method - in fact, people like Amy have said that her metal items still rusted despite the added protective layer.
So then, what else can you do?
“Prevention can be done by cleaning the [sic] steel regularly and drying it with a soft cloth to wipe away any salt settling on the surface,” he says. “Alternatively, you can also apply a layer of car wax on a dry stainless steel surface and allow it to air dry before buffing it with a dry cloth.”
Chelsea Lodge by Inizio Atelier

Save to Qanvast Board

View this project by Inizio Atelier
In addition, you should also consider choosing items made out of grade 316 stainless steel which is the best in the market for rust and chloride resistance. Although Shawn has stated that most homes in Singapore use this particular grade of stainless steel, it’s always good to double check with your interior designer and keep these in mind the next time you’re out hunting for new accessories.
At any rate, rust isn’t inherently harmful to human beings, so there shouldn’t be any cause for concern if you find a rusty fixture at home or outside. However, if you think the structural integrity of a fixture has been compromised, consider contacting your interior designer, HDB or your local Town Council for assistance.

spurman

First of all, I started this thread because there are simply too many threads with regards to Pasir Gudang.

Since nobody has the time, I took the effort to seek clarification from NEA and HDB with regards to the concern.

Errmm...... issint pasir gudang governed by ermm malaysia.

So what can singapore do to it ah... ask the factories to move ah...

This not china leh... if hebei polluting beijing... their own govt can do something leh....

Ermmm ermm ermm

windwaver

Errmm...... issint pasir gudang governed by ermm malaysia.

So what can singapore do to it ah... ask the factories to move ah...

This not china leh... if hebei polluting beijing... their own govt can do something leh....

Ermmm ermm ermm

I think having something scientific from NEA is better than see, hear, guess, think, etc.

The_Davis

Is it normal compared to other parts of singapore?

hindsight

Its NEA... do you expect them to tell you air quality is bad even if thats the truth? The fallout from such an admission would be politically disastrous.

windwaver

Its NEA... do you expect them to tell you air quality is bad even if thats the truth? The fallout from such an admission would be politically disastrous.

I guess everybody have their rights to believe what the authorities said but personally I trust the words of the Singapore government.

Do you think NEA will risk their reputation just because of a few BTOs near Pasir Gudang?

cet87

I guess everybody have their rights to believe what the authorities said but personally I trust the words of the Singapore government.

Do you think NEA will risk their reputation just because of a few BTOs near Pasir Gudang?

The last time they also said they don't raise price.

windwaver

Latest reply.

Our team are always monitoring the readings from our online air monitoring stations in Seletar, Punggol and Ubin.

The air quality information is available on the NEA website (www.nea.gov.sg) and myENV mobile application.

Regards
Joey Ng

Mr. Joey Ng Kee Meng • Technical Supervisor • Pollution Control Department • National Environment Agency • DID : +65 6731 9979 • Fax : +65 6731 9651 • Email : Joey_Ng@nea.gov.sg

dnsfpl

take haze for eg, 200-300 is consider acceptable
do you think its really acceptable?

unless there's special reason, like super cheap or convenient
why would anyone even consider taking the risk?
and its not a few weeks but at least 5 years

nothing can buy health

OahidY

Good thing about Punggol is that it is not a concrete jungle like town areas...

EraStar

There's been ppl living around punggol point ( also known as punggol end during the 80s ) , from track 17 onwards , those BIG houses I mean .... they don't seem to have problem after so many years , even until today , they are still there , so don't worry about the air quality..... if you look at the traffic around us , I think it's worst ! Carbon everywhere

deskoh91

I would frankly not even be concerned about pollution from Pasir Gudang. If the air their factories produce is poisonous, many northeasterners would be affected by it. We are so small!

The only thing I would concede is the view, which would be a psychological reminder of the activities going on, rather than imagining there would be any physiological impact.

windwaver

take haze for eg, 200-300 is consider acceptable
do you think its really acceptable?

unless there's special reason, like super cheap or convenient
why would anyone even consider taking the risk?
and its not a few weeks but at least 5 years

nothing can buy health

Now the thing about some people here is not trusting our authorities on the data they provided.

For those who continue to spread untrue news, please refer to

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news...ering-how-to-deal-with-fake-news/3647556.html

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/fake-news-current-laws-offer-limited-remedies

http://www.tnp.sg/news/singapore/shanmugam-current-law-limited-dealing-fake-news

Shanmugam_FakeNews_zpspuy9kkp8.jpg

As for what dnsfpl posted, I have to agree that there might be a monitoring lag leading to the situation but there is no doubt the authorities are monitoring the situation and by no means trying to fool Singaporeans.

dnsfpl

the comments we posted are opinion, not news

you sound like 90.5fm, if so this discussion will lead you to no where

are you staying in or near that area?

i feel that you are more concern about the property price than pollute levels

cet87

the comments we posted are opinion, not news

you sound like 90.5fm, if so this discussion will lead you to no where

are you staying in or near that area?

i feel that you are more concern about the property price than pollute levels

Ya, think he is. Try to sell your property in the morning, at least the flare not so obvious.

Nobody1122

Hahaha nice try 👎

If you look into the amount of discussion and work spent on choosing their BTO. I can bet with you these people are here to stay, not some speculative investors when after MOP straightaway sell.

Ya, think he is. Try to sell your property in the morning, at least the flare not so obvious.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.