TKL - (public buses) so many digital displays

Many digital displays on public buses, wasteful?

• Agreed, waste of tax payer's money

Votes: 6 46.2%
  • Do not agree, I think its just nice

Votes: 4 30.8%
  • Do not agree, I think need more.

Votes: 3 23.1%

• Total voters

tatsit

93szeCQ.png

He brought up an issue, but the points are weak.

Think about this, a huge bulk of daily commute makes up of fixed route, meaning home <-> office/school.

Even before the introduction of such screen, commuters can find their way efficiently using apps.

Tourists too can use apps to navigate public transport in sg.

Just exactly how many benefited from such information displays?

Not to mention how useless the next 3 stops display is. In Europe, I've seen before full map/route information, way more useful then knowing the next 3 stops which I dont care.

ShinnAsuka

I think buses in other countries, e.g. Korea and Switzerland are equipped with this as well. As a tourist there, I find it useful. Using app drains battery using GPS.

begintoend

why cannot expect better things when i paying more and more for my journey

tatsit

I think buses in other countries, e.g. Korea and Switzerland are equipped with this as well. As a tourist there, I find it useful. Using app drains battery using GPS.
question is whether do you think public buses in sinkieland overly done it. because in a single deck, there are 3 interior displays, 2 exterior displays.

yes it is useful, but places that i've seen this only has 1 display, and it is good enough.

brushless

also this one

how much LTA has spent to build and maintaining this system?

how many drivers find this very useful if not useful at all

01.jpg

TrueBeliever_jh

Isn't this similar to buses in some European country~?

Only show you the next 3 stops.

DulanMax

Plus the UI for the display is shiat.

Totally not intuitive at all, need see for awhile to understand whats going on.

tuxguy

93szeCQ.png

He brought up an issue, but the points are weak.

Think about this, a huge bulk of daily commute makes up of fixed route, meaning home <-> office/school.

Even before the introduction of such screen, commuters can find their way efficiently using apps.

Tourists too can use apps to navigate public transport in sg.

Just exactly how many benefited from such information displays?

Not to mention how useless the next 3 stops display is. In Europe, I've seen before full map/route information, way more useful then knowing the next 3 stops which I dont care.

Many benefited - the contractors installing/supplying the panels, the contractors doing regular cleaning of the panels, contractors maintaining the panels etc

tatsit

also this one

how much LTA has spent to build and maintaining this system?

how many drivers find this very useful if not useful at all

01.jpg
this one the info take it with pinch of salt. some times indicate jam, yet no jam. some times indicate no jam, but got jam. very slow update. rely on google maps better
Isn't this similar to buses in some European country~?

Only show you the next 3 stops.
depends from city to city. some will provide full route info in another slide. some just put entire route info.

Ximple

It's okay to be wasteful cuz when they lose money, can just ask PTC for more fare hikes.

Overture1928

Voice announcements for visually-impaired

Visual signages for hearing-impaired

Facebook, social media for intellectually-impaired

EJB

GVGT ;)

last time govt give stupid reason like the sound from mobile tv helps reduce ambiance noise

Really jin sian last taim, if they show chio bu pics still neh mind... show adverts.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.