Transfer Count Affects Value?

RayOfLight

would number transfer count affect value of the car? if yes, how much are we looking at in terms of yearly deprecation?

which car would you choose?

car 1
- 2 owners
- 50k mileage (don't really believe though dealer said can verify with C&C)
- 9.6k yearly deprecation
- advertise as 'direct owner' but it's actually dealer, doubt will have warranty

car 2
- 1 owner
- 100k mileage
- 9.8k yearly depreciation
- from dealer and said that 6 months warranty will be given (would theere normally be black and white that states that there will be 6 months warranty?)

both are same car and around 4 years left.. condition is around the same.. difference will be around $1000..

jury_pack

would number transfer count affect value of the car? if yes, how much are we looking at in terms of yearly deprecation?

which car would you choose?

car 1
- 2 owners
- 50k mileage (don't really believe though dealer said can verify with C&C)
- 9.6k yearly deprecation
- advertise as 'direct owner' but it's actually dealer, doubt will have warranty

car 2
- 1 owner
- 100k mileage
- 9.8k yearly depreciation
- from dealer and said that 6 months warranty will be given (would theere normally be black and white that states that there will be 6 months warranty?)

both are same car and around 4 years left.. condition is around the same.. difference will be around $1000..
First car I will walk away Liao.

ZhuTou!

U buy one car is like very jialat
Got so many doubt lol

By right transfer count will affect but depends on car and selling price
Most ppl look at price only but dealer will lowball u when ur transfer count is high, direct buyer still ok
Example hot favourite civic mostly sell 10k depre
U sell 8-9k depre with abit high transfer count, ppl will still buy one
For less favourite car, ppl will try to find weakness to lower down ur selling price so they will tell u transfer count too high bla bla bla
Reason very simple coz there are alot of ur car in the market due to lower demand
They can easily find one with lower transfer count etc

First car mileage too low, 6 yrs old use 50k only, less than 10k per yr, only drive to market buy vege is it lol

Anyway what car u buying?

doody_

Hard to put a number value on it... If I see high transfer count I will think is there a problem with the car... Why keep selling it off...

Anyway I would strike off number 1 for being a fake direct owner...who knows what else is fake

tankgunner

Mentor
there is a reason why the only owner cling on the car. reliability!
and this owner knows the full history of the car inside out.

while I don't mind buying used cars but I only accept I am the 2nd owner. nothing more.

trd2970

It does affect value
Suggest u check for signs of accidents, get an experienced mechanic

2 owners still reasonable for 6 years old car
As for subsequent resale value, if you are driving til end of 10 years, then no worries

yanbros

You will need to view the car and come up with conclusions based on what you have seen and felt when test driving it. Just bought a car with 2 owners. Dealer say test drive as much as you want, send it for inspection. Do whatever you need.... True.. True..

HeadQuarters

I see got 2 transfers ish no buy liao. Must oso see who the dealer is. Google them out. No name dealer must be v wary. :o

-nyox-

2 transfers still acceptable to some. Once the transfer count is 3 or more, will be very difficult to sell, probably need to sell below market rate.

RayOfLight

exactly why i ask TS if he driving til scrap. if he resells it, it will be 3 transfers liao

Sent from brain using GAGT

intend or not won't know leh.. never know what happen next time.. depends on jobs requirement..

to be safe i purchased car 2 liao.. higher genuine mileage, 1 owner (0 transfer count), hopefully the 6 months warranty counts (no black and white on warranty but at least got a shop in turf city) hopefully worth the extra 1k..

trd2970

Extra $1K is reasonable considering the car is $50K+
Spread over your monthly loan repayment, it's insignificant

intend or not won't know leh.. never know what happen next time.. depends on jobs requirement..

to be safe i purchased car 2 liao.. higher genuine mileage, 1 owner (0 transfer count), hopefully the 6 months warranty counts (no black and white on warranty but at least got a shop in turf city) hopefully worth the extra 1k..

doody_

So how, what ride? :o

1 owner cars safer, easier to trace history. Hopefully he never trash the car.

aerosmiths

depends on car. if it is sports car or coe car or unique car, then high transfer count no issue one la. i have one car with 11 transfers.

getting a mechanic to check a car is 10 times more important than transfer count. just buy the one that the mechanic gives a clean bill of health, not those free inspection check le, i mean those that must pay one.

kebinu

By right, the condition of the car is more important than transfer count or mileage, or at least, these undesirable factors may be used to bargain for a lower price. This is it.

Regarding the higher mileage for the second car, it can be tempered with too. So, don't trust these figures at all. Again, condition.

JX1983

That depend on what type of cars u are buying? The amount of years left for the cars too. If the car u are buying left maybe 1 year I don't see the number of owners make any different.. But if u are buying a car that is like 1 year+ only and maybe change 4 owners than maybe different story..

Mileage sometimes believe 50% can already.. My friend just bought a 4 owners 5year conti car with mileage only 70k+ and everyone of us said confirm got tweak the mileage but in the end bring to workshop and then agent again to check and found that the mileage is real.. So take it as a pinch of salt..

High mileage doesn't means no good too as most of the major items would have been change already..

RayOfLight

actually I wanted to make deposit for car 1 already but the dealer pattern say got other viewer.. then I realised he changed the adv price to 1k higher.. probably wanna earn more, don't like this type of dealer, agree price already then when I want buy he said he will let me know again.. ended up few days later ask me if I still keen to deal or not..

the price is generally good I would say.. around 1k yearly depreciation cheaper than the rest.. that's why when I saw it I straight away went to view.. then went to see car 2 next day and paid deposit.. a bit impulse on the decision, hope I made the right choice..

kebinu

actually I wanted to make deposit for car 1 already but the dealer pattern say got other viewer.. then I realised he changed the adv price to 1k higher.. probably wanna earn more, don't like this type of dealer, agree price already then when I want buy he said he will let me know again.. ended up few days later ask me if I still keen to deal or not..

the price is generally good I would say.. around 1k yearly depreciation cheaper than the rest.. that's why when I saw it I straight away went to view.. then went to see car 2 next day and paid deposit.. a bit impulse on the decision, hope I made the right choice..
if can buy at the agreed price, why not? if the price is higher, then see if it's worth it.

usually, if it's average, i'll skip it. only you view it, only you will know.

when there's too much pattern, it's usually not a good thing.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.