turning at junctions

snowdrop05

Hi

I just want to confirm if I turn left at normal traffic junction with no the slip roads, I can turn into lane A and B, right? The opp. car turning right has to wait for me before it can turn right into lane B, is it?

Just asking because nowadays I had seen a lot of vehicles turning right without waiting.

runeruin

who say you got right to take lane A and B?taxi uncle?
you are suppose to take the lane nearest to you or follow guided line

endlssorrow

No leh
U mean when u wan turn left example got such zebra crossing de right? U have to wait for those car turning right as they making u turn to turn inside first

endlssorrow

Or u mean those straight roads like got 2 lane- right is for turning right and left is going straight or left turn type? Then opposite car has to wait for u to turn left first

endlssorrow

And normally for people walking halfway or what, stupid drivers esp taxi tend to turn right coz they predict u won't make a left turn as u will hit the people

snowdrop05

Or u mean those straight roads like got 2 lane- right is for turning right and left is going straight or left turn type? Then opposite car has to wait for u to turn left first

Yeah, this type of road. just a normal 90 degree turn. Mine is industrial area, so a lot of lorries, heavy vehicles just turned right lol. I am trying to remember my driving theory, but can't remember if car turn left, can turn into lane A and B.

doody_

Turning is quite standard. Leftmost lane to leftmost lane. Applicable for left and right turns. So if you're turning left into a 2 lane road, you should turn into the leftmost lane.

snowdrop05

Turning is quite standard. Leftmost lane to leftmost lane. Applicable for left and right turns. So if you're turning left into a 2 lane road, you should turn into the leftmost lane.

oh so the oncoming cars turning right can go to lane A or B, but car turning left should keep to leftmost lane. when i turn right, i always wait because alot of cars that turn left, will go straight into rightmost lane that lead straight to expressway.

that means if i turn right into rightmost lane then the car turning left bang into me, whose fault will it be?

doody_

oh so the oncoming cars turning right can go to lane A or B, but car turning left should keep to leftmost lane. when i turn right, i always wait because alot of cars that turn left, will go straight into rightmost lane that lead straight to expressway.

that means if i turn right into rightmost lane then the car turning left bang into me, whose fault will it be?

No, that is a bad habit people pick up when they drive for a while. When turning right, rightmost lane should turn into rightmost lane as well.

Something like the picture below. You have to "translate" it to our context as this picture is for left hand drive and Singapore is right hand drive.

80a.jpg

Those guys who are turning left into the rightmost lane are wrong. Unfortunately there is no point arguing after an accident, so you gotta look out for these jokers and maybe remind them by giving them a horn or high beam.

runeruin

No, that is a bad habit people pick up when they drive for a while. When turning right, rightmost lane should turn into rightmost lane as well.

Something like the picture below. You have to "translate" it to our context as this picture is for left hand drive and Singapore is right hand drive.

80a.jpg

Those guys who are turning left into the rightmost lane are wrong. Unfortunately there is no point arguing after an accident, so you gotta look out for these jokers and maybe remind them by giving them a horn or high beam.
those that stray into other lane are not jokers
they think they are right

Kiwi8

Hi

I just want to confirm if I turn left at normal traffic junction with no the slip roads, I can turn into lane A and B, right? The opp. car turning right has to wait for me before it can turn right into lane B, is it?

Just asking because nowadays I had seen a lot of vehicles turning right without waiting.

According to driving theory, yes, the opposite car must give way to the one turning left. But in practice, if there are two lanes, the left-turning vehicle should really turn into the left lane and the opposite vehicle turning into the right lane to share the road.

If u do want to turn left directly into the right lane, then u should make sure that there is no opposite vehicle turning into that lane before u do so. It's not hard to do for an experienced driver who is supposed to be aware of the road anyway.

snowdrop05

80a.jpg

Erm not like this??
traffic-lights-car-a.jpg

I should go n buy the theory book again, lol. i thought car turning right should always give way to car turning left in those no zebra crossing junctions. Then now there's the bus lane

EightTales

According to driving theory, yes, the opposite car must give way to the one turning left. But in practice, if there are two lanes, the left-turning vehicle should really turn into the left lane and the opposite vehicle turning into the right lane to share the road.

If u do want to turn left directly into the right lane, then u should make sure that there is no opposite vehicle turning into that lane before u do so. It's not hard to do for an experienced driver who is supposed to be aware of the road anyway.
x2.

My understanding is that the left turning vehicles have the right of way, and so even if there are 2 lanes to turn to, the oncoming car that is waiting to turn right has to wait for the left turning car to complete his turn, then he can go ahead.

So actually if you extrapolate this theory, the guy turning right has to give way to the guy turning left no matter which lane he turns into, and I suspect if an accident happens, the car turning left (even if he turns into the right lane) will win the claim.

Sent from LGE NEXUS 5 using GAGT

snowdrop05

I always thought that practice and theory are the same :p actually i was turning left into leftmost lane, then the oncoming lorry turned right into the other lane very fast. I got a shock and almost oversteered. This is the first time that i experienced this in my short driving life, so am wondering did i remember the wrong theory

ZhuTou!

Left lane turn keep to left lane
Right lane turn keep to right lane
Dun think until so complicated

U turning left and opposite car turning right
U keep to left lane, opposite car keep to right lane

Honestly dun think so much about theory
Theory book and real life driving outside is totally diff
Driving outside need to anticipate other cars reaction, what stun they might do etc

Example a 2 lane road, u at the right lane
One car on the left lane ahead of u, keep his car close to the center dotted line
This kind of pattern most likely the left car wanna cut into the right lane liao

This is what i mean by anticipate car reaction
Everytime when u turning, u also need to anticipate those cars near to u

In short, dun rely on theory :o

snowdrop05

x2.

My understanding is that the left turning vehicles have the right of way, and so even if there are 2 lanes to turn to, the oncoming car that is waiting to turn right has to wait for the left turning car to complete his turn, then he can go ahead.

So actually if you extrapolate this theory, the guy turning right has to give way to the guy turning left no matter which lane he turns into, and I suspect if an accident happens, the car turning left (even if he turns into the right lane) will win the claim.

Hmmmmmmmmmmm Ok i was preparing to turn right even the car is turning left for tomorrow

snowdrop05

Left lane turn keep to left lane
Right lane turn keep to right lane
Dun think until so complicated

U turning left and opposite car turning right
U keep to left lane, opposite car keep to right lane

Honestly dun think so much about theory
Theory book and real life driving outside is totally diff
Driving outside need to anticipate other cars reaction, what stun they might do etc

Example a 2 lane road, u at the right lane
One car on the left lane ahead of u, keep his car close to the center dotted line
This kind of pattern most likely the left car wanna cut into the right lane liao

This is what i mean by anticipate car reaction
Everytime when u turning, u also need to anticipate those cars near to u

In short, dun rely on theory :o

Actually i am more worry that if kenna bang,who will be at fault. If theory teach me this but in practice i do that, i will have to pay when accident happens if i am in the wrong

EightTales

I always thought that practice and theory are the same :p actually i was turning left into leftmost lane, then the oncoming lorry turned right into the other lane very fast. I got a shock and almost oversteered. This is the first time that i experienced this in my short driving life, so am wondering did i remember the wrong theory
It happened to me once near westmall.. And the other car was a police car :s13:

Anyway my advice to you if you're turning right is to just wait for the cars turning left to complete their turn then you go ahead. That's what I usually do.

Don't worry too much about people honking and asking you to go when you don't feel its safe enough. End of the day, he honk and you go and get into an accident, the dude who honked is just gonna drive off. So don't take the risk.

ZhuTou!

Actually i am more worry that if kenna bang,who will be at fault. If theory teach me this but in practice i do that, i will have to pay when accident happens if i am in the wrong

I would say accident always 50/50 unless u got camera
Car insurance in sg is not very useful one
Usually if both car turn and ur car butt kena bang, u have higher chance to win
But if the other driver have talent in story telling, it will become 50/50 again
So if u have camera is the best

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.