Water damaged MacBook pro

ohmagi

Hi friends!

I'm back here once again seeking for help (damn I have a lot of problems with Apple products it's unimaginable, my previous Macbook, my iPhone god..)

Firstly let's start with my MacBook specs.
It's a mid - 2014 model. Got it on Aug 2014
256 GB SSD
8 GB RAM
13.3 / 13 " with retina display
Spilled it with sauce all over my keyboard on 27 Jan 2015
Cycle count: approx 60???
5 months with little usage.
Warranty till: AUG 2015

Couldn't power on, charge, nothing
Knew that it would cost a ton to repair and Apple would not repair liquid - damaged items
But I brought it to the service center anyway cause I want to find out exactly what was damaged and how much would it cost to repair.

Mum collected the mbp for me yesterday and she said that the it person say it'll be really expensive to repair.

I think they listed the parts that got water damaged
And since I'm not really familiar with the parts and all, wanna try my luck and see if anyone got any idea

I'm going to assume that these parts are damaged and therefore useless
MLB (logic board(?))
LCD
SSD
I/O board

Yeah, every **** got damaged..
Do I still have any parts that are usable???
Cause i m looking to sell this piece of junk that is now useless to me to fund my new macbook.
But I want to make sure that there are usable parts in it.

Damn hard pain ah since I rarely use my MacBook and furthermore it's quite new why I so suay one T_T
Btw, pardon my command of English ah. It's 3AM now

kandinsky

Condolences... 5 months only, I feel your pain.

Damn hard pain ah since I rarely use my MacBook and furthermore it's quite new why I so suay one T_T

Not suay, sounds like you were very careless leh. :s13: Maybe you don't know how to take care of your stuff? :s8: If you know you're a bit clumsy or accident-prone that type, please get a keyboard protector for your next laptop. It's one of the first things I got for my mbp (cos I do eat/drink while using it), cos I know if spill something, GG liao.

Honestly, really no idea how much it's worth. You gotta bring it in to a 3rd party shop if you wanna find out the scrap value.

This site states $100-$600 for a non working unibody mbp: http://itconnectionz.com.sg/Trade-in.php

Can try getting a 2nd opinion/quote also:
http://zapplerepair.com/macbookprorepair.html
http://www.therepairhospital.com/
http://usedmacshop.com/
http://www.littlemacshop.com/The_Little_Mac_Shop/Home.html

ohmagi

Condolences... 5 months only, I feel your pain.

Not suay, sounds like you were very careless leh. :s13: Maybe you don't know how to take care of your stuff? :s8: If you know you're a bit clumsy or accident-prone that type, please get a keyboard protector for your next laptop. It's one of the first things I got for my mbp (cos I do eat/drink while using it), cos I know if spill something, GG liao.

Honestly, really no idea how much it's worth. You gotta bring it in to a 3rd party shop if you wanna find out the scrap value.

This site states $100-$600 for a non working unibody mbp:

Can try getting a 2nd opinion/quote also:

yah, :( .. super upset.

I spoke to a guy vaguely about my macbook and he quoted about 400-500 for the mac. But right, i'm afraid that most parts of my macbook are damaged and i don't to 'cheat' him ma, so i want to at least know that there are going to be usable parts so i feel better also.

spoke to another guy and asked him to quote a price to fix my mac and he quoted from 800-1000, like bo hua leh.. must well buy new one hor?

xkiller213

Actually, since it is already damaged, might want to take it apart, and see what is not corroded...

ohmagi

Actually, since it is already damaged, might want to take it apart, and see what is not corroded...

I have listed a bunch of names that are probably water damaged since i brought my macbook in to the a labs and they stated those names in my original post.

but where can i go to have my mac tear apart.

xkiller213

I have listed a bunch of names that are probably water damaged since i brought my macbook in to the a labs and they stated those names in my original post.

but where can i go to have my mac tear apart.
Haha, they usually say that most things inside are damaged, when not all of them are damaged... You might be able to find the screwdrivers in Daiso...

You might also be able to clean some of the parts with rubbing alcohol, and see if it is badly corroded...

IronMac

It's not corrosion that is the issue, it's what's shorted out due to the liquid.

The memory can be re-used if it is not soldered on to the MB, as can the SSD. Other than that, forget it.

You are best off getting it fixed at a proper Apple repair shop.

ohmagi

It's not corrosion that is the issue, it's what's shorted out due to the liquid.

The memory can be re-used if it is not soldered on to the MB, as can the SSD. Other than that, forget it.

You are best off getting it fixed at a proper Apple repair shop.

Hi

The thing is, the Apple service center told me that I'll be better off getting a new macbook as the repair fees would be well over the price of a new macbook and hence this post. Was trying to find out if there's any parts that can be used and how much can this MacBook fetch.

ohmagi

Hi all just another question! Since the paperwork that came back with my macbook said that my SSD was water damaged as well, does it mean that I can't retrieve my documents inside when they fix it? Well if it's fixable

B772ER

Hi all just another question! Since the paperwork that came back with my macbook said that my SSD was water damaged as well, does it mean that I can't retrieve my documents inside when they fix it? Well if it's fixable

It is almost next to impossible to recover any data from SSDs, as they don't have a traditional magnetic plate. The data is stored inside the ICs and if the drive is not working, everything is as good as gone.

IronMac

Hi

The thing is, the Apple service center told me that I'll be better off getting a new macbook as the repair fees would be well over the price of a new macbook and hence this post. Was trying to find out if there's any parts that can be used and how much can this MacBook fetch.

My apologies for not reading everything.

With what B772ER has posted along with the shop's diagnosis, I think you are best off getting a new machine.

MiNiCooper

Hi friends!

I'm back here once again seeking for help (damn I have a lot of problems with Apple products it's unimaginable, my previous Macbook, my iPhone god..)

Firstly let's start with my MacBook specs.
It's a mid - 2014 model. Got it on Aug 2014
256 GB SSD
8 GB RAM
13.3 / 13 " with retina display
Cycle count: approx 60???
5 months with little usage.
Warranty till: AUG 2015

Couldn't power on, charge, nothing
Knew that it would cost a ton to repair and Apple would not repair liquid - damaged items
But I brought it to the service center anyway cause I want to find out exactly what was damaged and how much would it cost to repair.

Mum collected the mbp for me yesterday and she said that the it person say it'll be really expensive to repair.

I think they listed the parts that got water damaged
And since I'm not really familiar with the parts and all, wanna try my luck and see if anyone got any idea

I'm going to assume that these parts are damaged and therefore useless
MLB (logic board(?))
LCD
SSD
I/O board

Yeah, every **** got damaged..
Do I still have any parts that are usable???
Cause i m looking to sell this piece of junk that is now useless to me to fund my new macbook.
But I want to make sure that there are usable parts in it.

Get the new macbook and sell off the one you have as parts.
Make sure you get an insurance for your mb, iphone etc since you mentioned you can be quite careless. Maybe you can get those protector to retard the water from getting into your device.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.