What do you conclude about Singapore's cost of electricity?

stanlawj

Estimated price in SGD$ per kW-hour:

Singapore: 31c
Cambodia: 20c
Thailand: 18c
Indonesia: 14c
Vietnam: 11c
Laos: 4c
Malaysia: 7c
China: 11c

Singapore's cost of electricity is 2X of Thailand, Indonesia, nearly 3X that of Vietnam, China, and more than 4X of Malaysia.

What future does Singapore have? Kiss goodbye to manufacturing. That's why MALAYSIA IS NOW MANUFACTURING FOR SINGAPORE at JS-SEZ.

Singapore instead is going to become DESTINATION FOR HOARDING AND SHUFFLING $MONEY$.
  • Strong govt with more than 2/3rd majority support -> long-term stability/continuity in policies
  • Rule of law,
  • IP protection,
  • Efficient civil service,
  • Low corporate taxes,
  • Protection under Uncle SAM
That's all we have left. Don't ever mess this up. Understand the future of Singapore, so choose career appropriately and vote correctly.

Never vote for opposition who will screw up our future. Yes, you can attempt to change the govt but your electricity price won't come down, and you stand to lose everything just to be a prick.
(Neither will your rent and property price come down - because the HDB owners will vote out any opposition or govt that tries to reduce their property value appreciation).

Ref: https://energyusecalculator.com/global_electricity_prices.htm

testerjp

Manufacturing, even if your electricity is 5c.
The rental and cost will also kill it.

83sarahtan

Singapore's cost of electricity is 2X of Thailand, Indonesia, nearly 3X that of Vietnam, China, and more than 4X of Malaysia.

What future does Singapore have? Kiss goodbye to manufacturing. That's why MALAYSIA IS NOW MANUFACTURING FOR SINGAPORE at JS-SEZ

Singapore instead is going to become DESTINATION FOR HOARDING AND SHUFFLING $MONEY$.
  • Strong govt with more than 2/3rd majority support,
  • Rule of law,
  • IP protection,
  • Low corporate taxes,
That's all we have left. Don't ever mess this up. Understand the future of Singapore, so choose career appropriately and vote correctly.

Never vote for opposition who will screw up our future. Yes, you can attempt to change the govt but your electricity price won't come down, and you stand to lose everything just to be a prick.
(Neither will your rent and property price come down - because the HDB owners will vote out any opposition or govt that tries to reduce their property value appreciation).

Wah bro, this one spicy sia. But not wrong also energy price really siao high here, how to compete with the neighbours? Manufacturing slowly shift out, can see already. Now SG more like brain and money hub lor, not factory hub liao.

stanlawj

Manufacturing, even if your electricity is 5c.
The rental and cost will also kill it.
Other countries have the same access to the same technology to generate electricity in Singapore, so if the price drop here, it will drop in other countries too. If you want electricity price here to drop to match other countries, it's the other factors that cause the difference: land, labour, distribution costs.

That's why I say,... you cannot have lower electricity price without destroying land valuations, which in turn will destroy the household net worth/retirement.

coyote

What future does Singapore have? Kiss goodbye to manufacturing. That's why MALAYSIA IS NOW MANUFACTURING FOR SINGAPORE at JS-SEZ

• Rule of law,
  • IP protection,
  • Low corporate taxes,

We lacked the hills and mountains to build dams or huge plains to build windmills, of course our cost will be higher than most other countries. If you want cheaper price in a smaller country, the only solution is nuclear reactors. Where would you like to place them? Woodlands, Tuas, Changi, greater Southern water front?

iammole

still pap is pushing for low carbon emissions , eventually our electricity costs will be pushed even higher when we start buying electricity from overseas.

krikering

still pap is pushing for low carbon emissions , eventually our electricity costs will be pushed even higher when we start buying electricity from overseas.
Grace Fu's recent statement about Carbon Footprint is actually a forewarning liao imo.

I think there might be some environmental-policies being pushed and then don't know which bills are going to shoot up now.

stanlawj

It's not just build a nuclear plant, it is build our OWN nuclear FUSION power plant that other countries need to buy from us.

If other countries can also build a nuclear plant, their own electricity price will also drop (de-link from future fossil fuel scarcity).

It is a pipe dream that our electricity cost will ever come down. It will forever be many times our neighbours.

AndroidComa

u know why SO MANY solar installers in China?
cos their cost of electricity is not evenly priced one
some cities more ex
some time frame more ex
same for many countries

in SG, is 1 price thruout

Ronin881

Trump Tariffs

Malaysia = 24%

Singapore = 10%

Now that is a 14% advantage to be made in Sg.

lampano

• Rule of law,
  • IP protection,
  • Low corporate taxes,

https://www.spgroup.com.sg/about-us/media-resources/energy-hub/annual-report

Covid times all energy up prices, but still can record billion profits

Amidst a backdrop of volatile environment, slowing global growth, inflation and higher interest rates, SP Group recorded a strong performance in FY22/23. The Group achieved a net profit of S$1.033 billion and Return of Equity of 7.9 per cent.

Come 2024

The past financial year was marked by both optimism and uncertainty – optimism from the global economic recovery and increased business activity, and uncertainty due to geopolitical tensions, supply chain disruptions and inflationary pressures. Despite the challenges, SP recorded yet another year of strong financial results. For the year closing 31 March 2024, we achieved a net profit of S$1.11 billion – 7.5 per cent higher than last year. Our Return on Equity has increased to 8.8 per cent, from 7.9 per cent.
Now in our third year of executing SP’s Strategy 2030, the Group’s Net Revenue rose by 5.7 per cent from last year to S$2.9 billion.

While the revenue from our electricity and gas networks business continues to register stable growth in tandem with our continued investment in infrastructure, the revenue for our Sustainable Energy Solutions business has increased by 57 per cent to S$168 million.

The Group’s robust financial position, coupled with prudent financial management, allowed us to maintain the strong investment grade credit ratings of Aa1 by Moody’s and AA+ by S&P for the last three years.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.