Where to buy Cat5e/Cat6 Ethernet Cables at Sim Lim/Funan?

nfshp253

Anyone got good recommendations on shops at Sim Lim Square or Funan selling Cat5e/Cat6 Ethernet Cables for my Fiber installation at home? I'm looking to buy at least a 30m cable. Will Challenger have such lengths? Should I get Cat5e or Cat6? Seems like Cat6 is not substantially costlier than Cat5e.

sOt0nGz

at 30M you better get Cat6.
Cat5e may not be able to maintain signal quality if too long..
A lot of shops at the 4th or 5th level got leh..
Some even crimp for you if they don't have the length you want

liangtam

I wonder where you read that BS sia!
You need to go read again the difference of the cabling standards.

alvinaloy

I was recently looking for 1m Cat 6 super flat LAN cables recently and realised that not many shops in SLS has it. Funan seems to have more shops that sell LAN cables.

xbfloater

I've seen flat Cat 6 cables at Challenger. For 1m, it's 2 bucks more ex than Cat 5e. You can also go to LHS at Sim Lim Tower n look for Robert, I think... They're very passionate about cables n cld give good advices on Cat 5e/6 if you ask him...

HTH.

nobrain1

ISTM engrg at SLS 5th or 6th floor can't rem, carries a variety of cables. they have premade cat5e at 30m as well, but they always quote w/o gst when enquiry so rem to factor that in.

liangtam

Hmm, whats with the flat cable craze? Don't think it can even be labelled cat5e/6 at all.

But but but, moi ish oso rike flat cable :o

civicguy

Nt really relevant but i bought 300m of Cat 6 from LHS this week

For my 5-room new flat cabling..

i-JVzZZxX-S.jpg

i-bXz46Cc-S.jpg

i-Sc9rVgJ-S.jpg

If i got left, I can sell 30m to u :) :) :)

Fyre

A lot of shops at the 4th or 5th level got leh..
Some even crimp for you if they don't have the length you want

i thought cat 5/5e as long as under 100m can liao.

outer92

i thought cat 5/5e as long as under 100m can liao.

The Simple Answer:
CAT-5 is rated to 100M
CAT-5e is rated to 350M
CAT-6 and CAT6e is rated to 550M or 1000M depending on your source

freddychin

The Simple Answer:
CAT-5 is rated to 100M
CAT-5e is rated to 350M
CAT-6 and CAT6e is rated to 550M or 1000M depending on your source

Very sorry that I cannot agree to the information given above.

You have cut and paste from a website that is outdated

I do not take 100M, I always tke 90M as the max and the patch cord from the wall face plate can be 3m or even longer as depends where the equipments is. Also give the flexibility of movement.

My company network cable infrastructures runs on Belden CAT6

My first building project on network intrastructure in 1997 uses CAT5E, then follow by other project that uses CAT6 in 2002, 2006, 2008 and 2010

We use Nordex initially but was brought over but Belden

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category_5_cable

regards

liangtam

Theres no cat6e either. Its 6a. Besides, 6 has not much significant benefits over 5e

Kiwi8

Hmm, whats with the flat cable craze? Don't think it can even be labelled cat5e/6 at all.

But but but, moi ish oso rike flat cable :o

Sometimes need to lay cable to go through top or bottom of the door. :o

liangtam

Sometimes need to lay cable to go through top or bottom of the door. :o

That is not valid you know. Alot ppl already had layed countless cables. And besides, flat cable are not suitable for laying because they cannot be long distance.

Kiwi8

That is not valid you know. Alot ppl already had layed countless cables. And besides, flat cable are not suitable for laying because they cannot be long distance.

I am using a 15m one, it's ok so far. :o

NWT1978

wow didnt know... guess the round type better :s11:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.