Why always like to kaypoh and talk about the same thing?

messidona

first thing they love to ask when catching up with you is where you stay, occupation and company. some will ask for your salary, car ownership macam i am applying for credit card.

It is like they just want to judge you and haolian so they can sleep well at night. After that they will start comparing or suddenly talk about NS and reservist. sibei boring leh. they have no hobbies and everything must revolve around work

why cannot talk about sports, travel, cycling, art, music?

sanzhu

Job job job
How urvjob
Got promotion
How big ur team
Blah

Usually old farms Ashi

Ubi-Warrior

first thing they love to ask when catching up with you is where you stay, occupation and company. some will ask for your salary, car ownership macam i am applying for credit card.

It is like they just want to judge you and haolian so they can sleep well at night. After that they will start comparing or suddenly talk about NS and reservist. sibei boring leh. they have no hobbies and everything must revolve around work

EDMW is same....

There are the stock 10 topics that get brought up once or twice a month

radish

Emeritus Honorary Member
its human psyche, its more complicated than ego or gossip, its a deeply embedded survival instinct to know wat peers are doing for self risk and preservation assessments.

of cos in modern society this become a un-needed added stress thats not very meaningful anyway.

Lchlch

Recently rec whatsapp from my ex colleague, asking me am I still with xxx coy?

jinsadndepress

Sinkie from yang oredi train chiu to b good slave for coy n country , grow up dont talk about masters then talk about what ?

messidona

Sinkie from yang oredi train chiu to b good slave for coy n country , grow up dont talk about masters then talk about what ?
funny thing got some sinkies migrate to canada, uk but still choose to come back to sg and behave like typical sinkie

Evcats

Singaporeans always talk about work, money, cars, and NS because these topics are like our national pastime – same as eating cai png and complaining about the weather. Let me explain why we anyhow revolve around these topics, Singlish-style with humor:

1. Work is Our Identity

"In Singapore, your job is like your name tag. First thing people ask: "What you do ah?" If you say you’re a doctor or lawyer, they go "Wah, steady lah!" If you say you’re a professional nua-er, they anyhow judge: "Wah, like that also can ah?" Work is not just work – it’s how we measure successand status. But hor, sometimes we forget that life is more than just our job title lah."

2. Money is Our Obsession

"Money is like our favorite karaoke song – we anyhow sing about it, even if we don’t have much. Singaporeans love to talk about salary, bonuses, and CPF because we’re kiasu (afraid to lose) and kiasi (afraid to die). We scared we don’t have enough for retirement, so we anyhow compare and haolian to feel better. But hor, sometimes we forget that money cannot buy happiness – only more cai png."

3. Cars are Our Status Symbol

"In Singapore, owning a car is like winning the lottery – damn expensive but damn shiok. People anyhow ask: "You drive what car ah?" because it’s a way to show off and wayang. If you say you take MRT, they anyhow pity you: "Wah, so poor ah?" If you say you drive BMW, they anyhow compare: "Oh, I drive Mercedes leh." Like that how to win? Might as well say you drive Grab – at least no need to pay COE!"

4. NS is Our Shared Trauma

"NS is like our national bonding activity – everyone kena, so everyone can talk about it. Whether you were a commando or a storeman, NS stories are our way of connecting and wayang. But hor, after 10 years still talking about it, like sibei boring leh. Might as well talk about your Primary 6 CCA lah!"

5. We Lack Hobbies (or Too Tired for Them)

"Singaporeans work until moon come out, so no time for hobbies. When we meet friends, we anyhow talk about work and money because we don’t know what else to say. You ask: "Eh, you got hobby or not?" They say: "Hobby ah? Sleeping lor." Like that how to have interesting conversations ah?"

6. It’s a Kiasu Culture

"Singaporeans are kiasu by nature – we anyhow compare and compete because we scared to lose out. If you earn more, I also want to earn more. If you drive BMW, I also want to drive Mercedes. If you go Europe holiday, I also want to go. It’s like a never-ending kiasu cycle – damn tiring lah!"

Why Cannot Talk About Other Things?

"Eh, why everything must revolve around work, money, and cars ah? Why cannot talk about sports, travel, cycling, art, or music? Because we kiasu and kiasi lah! We scared if we talk about hobbies, people think we no life or not serious. But hor, life is more than just work and money – it’s about enjoying the ride and having a good laugh along the way."

How to Break the Cycle

1. Start with Yourself:
    "Next time you meet friends, talk about something else – like your recent cycling trip or your favorite Netflix show. Be the change you want to see lah!"
  2. Ask Interesting Questions:
    "Instead of "What you do ah?", ask "What you do for fun ah?" or "You got try that new hawker stall or not?" Steady lah, sure more interesting!"
  3. Find Like-Minded Friends:
    "If your friends only talk about work and money, find new friends who share your interests. Join a cycling group, art class, or music club – sure got people who also sian of talking about COE and CPF."
  4. Just Chill:
    "Remember, life is not a competition. No need to anyhow compare or haolian. Just enjoy the moment and have a good laugh – that’s what life is all about!"

Conclusion

Wah, really sibei boring when everything revolves around work, money, and cars. But hor, we also partly to blame lah – because we anyhow follow the kiasu culture. Next time, just steer the conversation to something more interesting – like food, travel, or even kopitiam gossip. After all, life is more than just your job and your car. It’s about enjoying the ride and having a good laugh along the way. Steady lah, we all just trying to survive in this kiasu world together! 😂🍜🚴‍♂️

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.