Why companies located here rather IPO in USA than apply for listing on SGX?

phunware

Just realised Vantage IPO today and listed in US just like Bitdeer

Even Grab so proud to call themselves a Singapore coy and even send contingent go march in NDP....they are listed in USA instead of SGX

Singapore no good? Government stable, got continuity and a regional financial center that is pro business and respect rule of law

Most importantly no short selling to prevent crazy trader like Nick Leeson to bankrupt entire organisation

hardwriter

Even Grab so proud to call themselves a Singapore coy and even send contingent go march in NDP....they are listed in USA instead of SGX

Singapore no good? Government stable, got continuity and a regional financial center that is pro business and respect rule of law

Most importantly no short selling to prevent crazy trader like Nick Leeson to bankrupt entire organisation
Don't ask. Just know Singapore is the best

fly1111

Sinkie are daft. Most of them will over insurance, kena con to buy ILP or buy over price property…. Where got the spare cash or intellect to invest in stock market :(

mickey88

Listed down here is penny stock..listed in NYSE is blue chips..u wan to buy rubbish meh..NYSE listed coy shares all must min usd $1.

Philipkee

Actually a friend told me it’s also because for SGX you need to buy in lots of 100s while US and other stock markets you can buy one share if you wish

So let’s say there is a stock worth $7 on SGX and $7 US on NYSE and you are testing and dabbling on tiger brokers. You might want to try USD 7 for one stock rather than $700 for Singapore stocks (since must buy 100). Then when you gain interest in it then you buy the USD stock liao

Then my friend commented on apps like Webull you can buy 1 Singapore stock also. It’s allowed on Webull. But of cos comes the caveat. When it comes to selling there might not be buyers cos while Webull allows you to buy 1 Singapore stock and not necessarily in lots, when it comes to selling people are buying only in lots since that what is usually only allowed for SGX stocks so it might be harder to offload them

Shion

Senior Mentor
SG market is small and lack the volume
And also most people go for the same few handful of stocks only

phunware

Actually a friend told me it’s also because for SGX you need to buy in lots of 100s while US and other stock markets you can buy one share if you wish

So let’s say there is a stock worth $7 on SGX and $7 US on NYSE and you are testing and dabbling on tiger brokers. You might want to try USD 7 for one stock rather than $700 for Singapore stocks (since must buy 100). Then when you gain interest in it then you buy the USD stock liao

Then my friend commented on apps like Webull you can buy 1 Singapore stock also. It’s allowed on Webull. But of cos comes the caveat. When it comes to selling there might not be buyers cos while Webull allows you to buy 1 Singapore stock and not necessarily in lots, when it comes to selling people are buying only in lots since that what is usually only allowed for SGX stocks so it might be harder to offload them
SGX got offer odd lot trading and it is alot cheaper to buy than fractional shares

Just that boomers like to whack in broad lot of 100

tqx

SG stock no movement one, US stock can play a lot of pattern like options with robust market

I_m_limpeh

My company delisted from SGX. On the day itself, we threw a bigger party than the one we had when we first listed on SGX.

Companies today see delisting from SGX as a badge of honour, excluding companies who delisted due to financial losses. Can raise more money if the company listed in HK or US. More trading of the stock too.

Philipkee

SGX got offer odd lot trading and it is alot cheaper to buy than fractional shares

Just that boomers like to whack in broad lot of 100
I just realised you are right. Other than tiger brokers, it seems it’s possible to buy odd lots. I remember I couldn’t do so months earlier. Maybe it changed

Or maybe I wasn’t trying hard enough cos I was buying US stocks

diequick

I think the founders they themselves want to achieve a higher valuation lor. The shares have a higher multiple bcos US tax dividends, so for them, keep the share price high, hence their wealth is higher lor. They also have some simi A/B share structure, that enables them to just hold 10% shareholdings but can retain overall control the company.

testart

I saw one China movie say only if u get listed in America then people will look you up and not look down on you

Also is better to get listed along companies leaders like mark zerburg, Elon mask, bill gates, Larry, Jeff Benz than get listed along side with Non educated boss, Construction boss, SAF ex general scholars CEOs??

phunware

SG stock no movement one, US stock can play a lot of pattern like options with robust market
Singaporeans like stability mah

U see them lose one GRC already like end of the world

Later Genting from $2 stock become $0.60 will see many people follow TVB drama go rooftop scenes

phunware

I just realised you are right. Other than tiger brokers, it seems it’s possible to buy odd lots. I remember I couldn’t do so months earlier. Maybe it changed

Or maybe I wasn’t trying hard enough cos I was buying US stocks
Yup, bought before on webull and Moomoo when I just started and still a noob

Saw Genting $0.89 go buy 10 of it with $10

Got some stock at $0.0003 also. That one I buy like 100 000 and feel very rich when it moved to $0.01

coyote

Because America is the roller coaster cowboy town for any stock. Sgx seemed too stable, too many rules, too restrictive. Everyone wants to be the next Tesla, NVDA that swing 20% up and down everyday because every tom dick and Harry are speculating on that market. if you stock up 20% in a day, do you care if your company is still making money tomorrow? Just cash out and make billions for the founder and leave the company to the bad holders. No need to start a thread to ask...

tqx

Last 3 months I made 120% off US stock market , how to do that in SG market

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.