Will this ruin my future?

Valkyrie

I was discussing something similar with my peers this morning. Warning : WOT.

The opportunity cost for Poly Grads is indeed high.

Student A :
Instead of going for full-time degree, earning a (being prudent here) starting pay of 1.6 to 1.8k a month for 4 years will put him in a fairly healthy financial position. By the end of the 4 years, it is safe to say (unless its a f-up company), that his basic pay should be 2k+.

{ I find that Poly Grades have little correlation to their starting pay, but with a 3.88 and presumably a diploma with Merit - you shouldn't have too much trouble finding employment. }

* I know of very rare cases of fresh Diploma Grads getting 2k pay. Its possible.

And someone who has gone the degree route after graduating from Poly ?

A huge study loan debt (Unless their parents forked out for them which isn't much to be proud of, or won a scholarship)

Even if he had worked part time during his 4 years, his savings will not be comparable.

Yes, his starting may easily be 2.5k+, or even 3k+, depending on his course. Possibly on par with you, but probably higher. So if this model continues, he will eventually overtake Student A from a financial point of view.

Now though, in your case, having taken a part-time degree with UniSIM, the situation changes totally.

Now we're comparing a UniSIM + few years of working experience VS NUS/NTU/SMU fresh grad.

Already at a financial headstart, the working experience pushes ahead. You will be on par at the very least, if not ahead. Don't worry about "future being ruined".

Of course, I'm comparing apples to apples. Average people ah. Don't jump in and talk about some NUS high flying Law Scholar with 5k a month, or some Poly entrepreneur who makes 10k a month. :s22:

I dun see you calculating the difference in tuition fees. UniSIM charges significantly more than local unis and their tuition grant is not as much. After CPF contributions and paying off the tuition fees, you actually take home only about 1k.

3 yrs in NTU can get u honours, while u can get a basic degree from NUS. It is also possible to squeeze SMU's program to 3 yrs if you just take a single major.

Also, there are a lot of loan programs and busaries in local unis. Your entire tuition fee can be loaned, along with 3.6k per yr (tuition loan + study loan). Every year, you can get MOE busaries of a few hundred. Once per program, you are also able to get a special hardship loan as well.

You also do not study for all 12 months in local unis. There will be a few month holidays where you are able to go out and work a temp job or internship.

You are a biz student. Do a spreadsheet calculation with all the factors i told you about. You can see that the work full time + study part time route actually do not gain you a lot.

Noobtopro

I dun see you calculating the difference in tuition fees. UniSIM charges significantly more than local unis and their tuition grant is not as much. After CPF contributions and paying off the tuition fees, you actually take home only about 1k.

3 yrs in NTU can get u honours, while u can get a basic degree from NUS. It is also possible to squeeze SMU's program to 3 yrs if you just take a single major.

Also, there are a lot of loan programs and busaries in local unis. Your entire tuition fee can be loaned, along with 3.6k per yr (tuition loan + study loan). Every year, you can get MOE busaries of a few hundred. Once per program, you are also able to get a special hardship loan as well.

You also do not study for all 12 months in local unis. There will be a few month holidays where you are able to go out and work a temp job or internship.

You are a biz student. Do a spreadsheet calculation with all the factors i told you about. You can see that the work full time + study part time route actually do not gain you a lot.

I get what you mean over here.
However, forgot to point out that I'm the only child and my dad's income isn't too little. So the household income divided no of family members will actually put me at a disadvantage and not eligible for much subsidies. It sucks that they don't care whatever debt that the family is having, but as long as parents drawing an average sum of income, I'm seldom eligible for subsidies.

kheng86

erms what? The subsidy for UniSIM degrees is 55% and a basic business 3-year degree cost S$13,376.07- S$13,506.08.

http://www.unisim.edu.sg/admissions/Undergraduate-Admissions/Documents/Course Fee-Programme.pdf

What about NUS? $8950 x 3 (if 3-year) = $26850

https://share.nus.edu.sg/registrar/info/ug/UGTuitionCurrent.pdf

akloaklo

Just do what you got to do.

If your family really in such a bad financial situation and you can't get any scholarship no choice but to go part time uni, then you just got to do it regardless of the career prospect.

If you can still make it financially (not so jialat till must sell house and downgrade to 1room hdb with 5 ppl) even if I tell you the advantage of unisim, you still will not choose unisim.

This thread is now pro unisim or pro nus/ntu/smu and it is going nowhere!

Many factors that will affect your pay.

I am diploma holder now and only started working july last year and I managed to get 2.2k after cpf. In 3 years even without a degree I believe my pay will be the same as a degree fresh grad's pay after calculating performance increment and yearly 5%-10%(more likely 5%) increment.

I am currently 3months into my degree studies so still 2year-3year more then i'll see if I can command a better pay.

unisim will not ruin your future.

syeechee

Go to the local unis' website to check what kind of student bursary programmes they have.

Valkyrie

ongwk0

Do not worry. whatever route u take only determine where u start. if ure good, eventually u'll catch up in life ;)

MoeMoeSama

No route will ruin your future. Just that some just take a longer route.

nitokit

If you are fit enough, I will advice you to sign on army. Even if you hated army, you can sign on as a military expert or a support vocation.

In the 2 years of army, you can easily save 50k. Moreover, army will give you scholarship for your uni education and so on.

nitokit

If not, if your family is really in a dire need for money and there is no way for you to find a way round it, then sim university may be a better option.

As you should already have known, sim university allows you to take evening classes while working full time. Also, personally, a local university education may be overrated and may not worth the opportunity costs (10+k tuition, 30+k salary (assuming you can earn 1k more a month working full time instead of part time) and 3 years of work experiences)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.