Windows 8 freeze

west_ray

Hi all,

Ever since i upgraded my OS to Windows 8, it keeps freezing. I do not know what's the issue.

Every time while using halfway, it will freeze. Pls see screenshot of the freezed image. i tried to change monitor but to no avail. And it's quite frustrating.

Any kind soul can help?

E_T

Your image is too small.

Is it random freeze as in mouse doesn't move or mouse can move but Windows shell just hang there.

west_ray

The whole windows hang, can't even move the mouse. I've Google n found many hang but with their mouse still moving, however that wasn't my case.

E_T

Yah, mine is like that, after about 3 days, the Windows Shell becomes unresponsive. Have to push reset button. Started about 2 months ago.

If your whole system hang for no reason, it usually mean hardware problem. If you've upgraded all your drivers for mobo, GPU & network card, then it's probably a hardware issue.

Do this in order. Based on my experience, these are the things that seem to fail first.

If you overclocked anything, revert to factory speed. Do a memory diagnostic, run full hdd scan. If you see snow on your screen before hanging, most likely your GPU overheated. If your system suddenly slow down A LOT, it could be your CPU fan.

senser

donno related or not....I have win7 pc and using google chrome opening multiple tabs it hangs...freeze...for a minute and all will be ok...thought it's because the desktop is 4yrs old...then i got new aio pc haswell i5 8g ram and GT740...oso hangs when multiple chrome tabs open...not often but it does happen...wonder if it's window issue or chrome issue...found on web people have same issue..

windows - How does Google Chrome manage to freeze my entire PC? - Super User

west_ray

Yah, mine is like that, after about 3 days, the Windows Shell becomes unresponsive. Have to push reset button. Started about 2 months ago.

If your whole system hang for no reason, it usually mean hardware problem. If you've upgraded all your drivers for mobo, GPU & network card, then it's probably a hardware issue.

Do this in order. Based on my experience, these are the things that seem to fail first.

If you overclocked anything, revert to factory speed. Do a memory diagnostic, run full hdd scan. If you see snow on your screen before hanging, most likely your GPU overheated. If your system suddenly slow down A LOT, it could be your CPU fan.
i nv overclocked my stuff. but ya i will try to do a factory reset and see how. haiz. sian.

west_ray

donno related or not....I have win7 pc and using google chrome opening multiple tabs it hangs...freeze...for a minute and all will be ok...thought it's because the desktop is 4yrs old...then i got new aio pc haswell i5 8g ram and GT740...oso hangs when multiple chrome tabs open...not often but it does happen...wonder if it's window issue or chrome issue...found on web people have same issue..

windows - How does Google Chrome manage to freeze my entire PC? - Super User
hmmm ok ! i will try to uninstall Chrome and see if that helps. tks!

E_T

i nv overclocked my stuff. but ya i will try to do a factory reset and see how. haiz. sian.

No lah, I never say factory reset. That one too extreme liao! Anyway Win8.1 coming, want to factory reset, do it next month.

Now try to troubleshoot first. I never use Chrome but I don't understand how it can hang PC... IE10 & IE11 also create a process for every tab.

Maybe try to turn off graphics acceleration for Chrome? IIRC Chrome also started rendering to GPU. Or try to run Chrome with no extensions?

tenzine

Maybe graphics card and driver issue. What GPU card are you using? Nvidia or AMD? Nvidia geforce community forum abuzz with Nvidia drivers causing a lot of PC freeze on GT 400 and 500 series GPU cards. See if this is a cause.

aerosmiths

from your microscopic picture, i can guess it is a GPU overheating issue.

1. try reseat gpu. see if it occurs again

2. then try reseat rams. see if it occurs again

3. upgrade gpu drivers to latest. see if it occurs again

4. change GPU and see if it occurs again. see if it occurs again

5. exchange GPU with a friend and see if it occurs again

btw, i don't recommend upgrade windows 8, if possible, backup everything and reinstall windows 8 as a clean fresh install.

west_ray

Hi guys, thanks for the suggestions. i tried several methods but the problem persisted.

i have reinstall a clean windows 8 and i guess it solved my problem.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.