Woman shocked after BF asked her to pay for his mum’s birthday dinner

SINGAPORE: A woman took to social media to express her disbelief after her boyfriend asked her to pay for his mum’s birthday dinner.

Sharing the story on the r/askSingapore subreddit, she explained that although she and her boyfriend have been together for two years and are already discussing marriage, she has only met his Singaporean Chinese parents once and is far from being close to them.

According to her, his mum had extended multiple invitations for her to join family dinners at their home, but she always declined, as she “did not want to set up a precedent of going over too often”.

This time, however, she agreed. Her boyfriend invited her to the birthday celebration, his mum chose the restaurant, and the woman even went the extra mile. She discreetly purchased a thoughtful gift after asking her boyfriend what his mum might like.

And then came the shocker. At the dinner, her boyfriend abruptly informed her that they should just “split the bill” instead of presenting a gift. To her, this was utterly baffling.

“In my opinion, it’s pretty weird to ask your SO to chip in for your parent’s birthday celebration especially when invited,” she said. “[For me], it’s enough to just buy a small gift for the parent (nice gesture but not necessary) but no need to offer to pay.”

She then asked other Singaporeans in the forum whether this is “considered the norm” in the country. “I wanted to know whether this was the norm and what the thought process behind this was.”

fandango

SINGAPORE: A woman took to social media to express her disbelief after her boyfriend asked her to pay for his mum’s birthday dinner.

Sharing the story on the r/askSingapore subreddit, she explained that although she and her boyfriend have been together for two years and are already discussing marriage, she has only met his Singaporean Chinese parents once and is far from being close to them.

According to her, his mum had extended multiple invitations for her to join family dinners at their home, but she always declined, as she “did not want to set up a precedent of going over too often”.

This time, however, she agreed. Her boyfriend invited her to the birthday celebration, his mum chose the restaurant, and the woman even went the extra mile. She discreetly purchased a thoughtful gift after asking her boyfriend what his mum might like.

And then came the shocker. At the dinner, her boyfriend abruptly informed her that they should just “split the bill” instead of presenting a gift. To her, this was utterly baffling.

“In my opinion, it’s pretty weird to ask your SO to chip in for your parent’s birthday celebration especially when invited,” she said. “[For me], it’s enough to just buy a small gift for the parent (nice gesture but not necessary) but no need to offer to pay.”

She then asked other Singaporeans in the forum whether this is “considered the norm” in the country. “I wanted to know whether this was the norm and what the thought process behind this was.”

Fake

KPO_SAHM

A healthy couple should share....
Future if woman's parents are asked for a meal, I believe the guy would auto pay for it too. Fair n sqaure

xllms

Treat future mother in law to a meal to gain brownie points.

Boyfriend saw the bill and felt it was to expensive so chipped in.

If woman want Sinkie man as husband, please be more sincere.

We have standards!
as a SG guy, asking for gf to chip in on dinner cost is really LC. Spend within your means lah. Really throw face.

yokine3a

Treat future mother in law to a meal to gain brownie points.

Boyfriend saw the bill and felt it was to expensive so chipped in.

If woman want Sinkie man as husband, please be more sincere.

We have standards!
This is sincere or cheapo? Own family arranged birthday dinner, invited son's gf to come without telling her she ought to share the bill? This is simi standards? More like a scam standard.

parchiao

as a SG guy, asking for gf to chip in on dinner cost is really LC. Spend within your means. Really throw face.

Woman also need to impress the man.

It is not a one way street.

Throw face is when men do everything for woman.

Carry their handbag, buy things for them, do all the heavy lifting during XYZ moments etc

They will never treasure you other than your assets

parchiao

This is sincere or cheapo? Own family arranged birthday dinner, invited son's gf to come without telling her she ought to share the bill? This is simi standards? More like a scam standard.

Son's standards to test what kind of gold digger she is.

One dinner and already kick up such a fuss

Not worthy wife material at all.

yokine3a

Son's standards to test what kind of gold digger she is.

One dinner and already kick up such a fuss

Not worthy wife material at all.
Did you see dubai prince or saudi arabia prince do such thing to test whether their gf is gold digger? Rich ppl won't do such laughing act.

Ownself can't afford the bill should borrow money, not asking outsider to chip in.

begintoend

She everytime decline.
Bf could have been cooking up too many favourable excuses to make her look good.

This time Join the gathering like machiam big fug. (simi lan give impression come too often. Sai excuse.)

Bf ask her to give an impression of being generous and placing his mother in high regards with the dinner. Like above bros mention is score brownie points.

Instead go Internet and ask.
Knn... Stupid or wat

Acetone

Probably just wanna show that the gf is generous bah… maybe the bf back end will reimburse her. Otherwise it’s also kinda weird not to inform her in advance

parchiao

Did you see dubai prince or saudi arabia prince do such thing to test whether their gf is gold digger? Rich ppl won't do such laughing act.

Ownself can't afford the bill should borrow money, not asking outsider to chip in.

You not rich how you know?

Joseph12

Is she rich or makes more than her boyfriend?
That could explain why he did what he did

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.