'Working hard' is not for Gen Zs and Millennials: survey

edwarde2

https://sbr.com.sg/hr-education/news/working-hard-not-gen-zs-and-millennials-survey
The majority of employees believe that reducing personal time and work-life balance will help them achieve career and financial growth but the younger generation said they are not willing to do so, according to survey results from job search website, Indeed.

In its report, Indeed said Millennials and Generation Z employees said they are less willing to work hard to advance their roles. Whilst almost half or 46% of those aged 16 to 24 sacrifice time for better wage, almost 60% of the 45 to 54 age group do so.

Nishita Lalvani, senior manager of Indeed Southeast Asia and India, said younger workers are less confident that working hard will give them benefits that previous generations had.

Over three in five young workers or those aged 16 to 24 years old said they are looking to shift to a job that has flexibility and only 17% of those between 45 and 54 years old are doing the same.

Conversely, Indeed’s study said 69% of Generation X and Boomers said it's more difficult to achieve professional and financial goals for younger workers and mistake the youth’s frustrations for fear of working hard.

rilo

A lot of these are spoilt by their parents. Those born in 70s and 80s know the need to work hard.

HirotoXeno

https://sbr.com.sg/hr-education/news/working-hard-not-gen-zs-and-millennials-survey
The majority of employees believe that reducing personal time and work-life balance will help them achieve career and financial growth but the younger generation said they are not willing to do so, according to survey results from job search website, Indeed.

In its report, Indeed said Millennials and Generation Z employees said they are less willing to work hard to advance their roles. Whilst almost half or 46% of those aged 16 to 24 sacrifice time for better wage, almost 60% of the 45 to 54 age group do so.

Nishita Lalvani, senior manager of Indeed Southeast Asia and India, said younger workers are less confident that working hard will give them benefits that previous generations had.

Over three in five young workers or those aged 16 to 24 years old said they are looking to shift to a job that has flexibility and only 17% of those between 45 and 54 years old are doing the same.

Conversely, Indeed’s study said 69% of Generation X and Boomers said it's more difficult to achieve professional and financial goals for younger workers and mistake the youth’s frustrations for fear of working hard.
When u on your deathbed. Then u write down thing u havent done , or wish u have done while u alive , whats the point?

Egg Tart 33

Common sense what. We all grew up seeing the boomers gen work hard for 20-30 yrs at the same co. and then tio retrenched... so obviously we know working hard/stay loyal will not guarantee u a secure retirement

That's why those in the 80s era onwards plunge their money into stock mkt for long term returns...

Nicholas92

Wow finally got survey to confirm my personal observations.

My batch (2016) - we didn’t like it but we understood the importance of chionging in our earlier years, cause old already cannot chiong.

Then around 2018 to 2019 my juniors starting telling me “eeyar, dun want lah, no life, must have work life balance. Uni chiong so hard already why work must chiong also. “

Was thinking whether it’s just the juniors I met or indicative of a larger trend lol.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.