Looking for contractor to put OpenNet cabling into false ceiling

GreenHorn

Mine concealed in the false ceiling as well, done by open net contractor (just give him some kopi money la)

lohloh

You may check with Ayub at 81186069 who does structured cabling aka network cabling.

I got my CAT 5E installation done by him yesterday.

Furthermore, he is able to get it done within the same date I called him.

In my own views,

I give him 10 out of 10 points for the work done up nicely.

He does not rush his work.

Anything you request to touch up to your liking, he will do it for you again and again.

He uses adhesive tape instead of drilling to secure the PVC trunking to wall.

After that, he will use gap filler (white colour silicon) to seal up the gaps on both sides of the PVC trunking.

He also tested the RJ45 connectors using a device to ensure that all the 8 mini wires are touching the teeth inside the jack head.

He did issue me a receipt for the service done by him.

He also added to call him is anything goes wrong after he left.

By the way, I am not related to him but I am a happy customer.

Cheers.

Can pm me the cost and how he charge!

Thanks in advance.

comtt74

From what i know using adhesive tape on the wall won't last long it will drop within 5mths abv.. this wiring man Ayub should nail it on the wall not using adhesive tape or what sided tape by not nail it will drop ....

You may request him to drill or nail. It is up to you as it is your house's wall.

Cheers.

i1magic

Can anyone recommend your cabling contractor for conceling Open Net cable in false ceiling.. My appt with Open Net is scheduled in Mar 2012. Appreciate your help.
Thanks

I called the guy liao.

He say just pull the cable thru, $80. If installed with PVC trunking, $150.

Which one should I go for? Which one did you guys went for?

i1magic

I called the guy liao.

He say just pull the cable thru, $80. If installed with PVC trunking, $150.

Which one should I go for? Which one did you guys went for?

I called him yesterday ... and told him that I'll go for the cheaper option $80 ... just pull the cable thru. So he asked me to sms him my address and he didn't reply or call back liao.

Anybody has other contacts which i can call? I don't like to give biz to people who are not bothered with responding.

i1magic

I called him yesterday ... and told him that I'll go for the cheaper option $80 ... just pull the cable thru. So he asked me to sms him my address and he didn't reply or call back liao.

Anybody has other contacts which i can call? I don't like to give biz to people who are not bothered with responding.

Ok .. update. I called him again and managed to arrange a time to come down and do liao.

Will post review later on.

i1magic

can include picture also? thanks. :)

Post picture is quite troublesome ... but what I can say is that ... he was able to do pretty well. So much so that ... when the OpenNet guys came ..... they were trying to figure out how he run the fibre cable thru my L-box and thru a pillar (that has existing holes for electrical wires).

What I like is that he is very experienced and he will try to use your existing cable trunking as much as possible.

My L-box is something like this :

l-box_plaster.JPG

From the door (where the fibre cables come in), to my TV point ... it is about 7.5metres.

Then he patch back the holes very well also ... initially when it was still damp ... can still see where he made the holes .. but after it dries up liao ... very difficult to spot.

So if you were to call him or sms him ... and he didn't reply .. please give him time or call him. He didn't reply to my sms unless I called. Later on when I asked, he told me that he had a very tight schedule during that time when I tried to arrange for an appointment.

comtt74

Hi i1magic, I am glad to hear that you are satisfied with his overall service and charges.

Cheers.

SNAG

Would also like the contact too. So he will trunk using those preterminated cables?

danlim

ok, i sms Ayub this morning , last minute request, for him to lay the sstring for opennet to install the fibre cable in my false ceiling. he called back and came to my place at 2pm, survey the area, then cut 2 square holes in the false ceilings, but one part of it was blocked, so he has to cut another square hole. then he pull the strings through, Opennet came at 3pm(good timing) as Ayub just got the string ready at the termination point.
so the opennet guy had a simple job of pulling the cable over and another opennet guy install n check the fibre optics, all done within 30 mins.
Ayub even help them to pull the cable etcc, after that, Ayub continue to patch back the holes, he applied the paste 3-4 times, after the first layer dried for 5 mins, he put another layer, etccc

I am impressed by his professional service, for $80 its damn worth it. His attitude you see also shiok. He spent 2 hours doing all this. I asked him to install new powerpoints for my router but he was not free today, so I will ask him to come again tomorrow

comtt74

Hi danlim, I am glad to hear that you are satisfied with his overall service and charges.

Cheers.

sadboy

Hi

Should I get a contractor before opennet come in

or

get the opennet come first then contractor

or

both on the same day???

jacktan23

You may check with Ayub at 81186069 who does structured cabling aka network cabling.

I got my CAT 5E installation done by him yesterday.

Furthermore, he is able to get it done within the same date I called him.

In my own views,

I give him 10 out of 10 points for the work done up nicely.

He does not rush his work.

Anything you request to touch up to your liking, he will do it for you again and again.

After that, he will use gap filler (white colour silicon) to seal up the gaps on both sides of the PVC trunking.

He also tested the RJ45 connectors using a device to ensure that all the 8 mini wires are touching the teeth inside the jack head.

He did issue me a receipt for the service done by him.

He also added to call him is anything goes wrong after he left.

Cheers.

Called him yesterday. He is too busy and cant take my job. my opennet installation is this Sat morning..anyone here got other recommendation?

wanaka100

any electrician can do the job

I believe any electrician can do the job as mine entire wiring was done by a electrician last time. I provide him the cabling, patch point. I even teach him to to punch the cabling. 35 per cable.

saidean

Our condo is finally getting opennet installation but I'm getting a lot of conflicting messages from neighbours and from opennet (ON) customer service officers (CSO). For our estate we have an ON subcontractor that will install the cabling inside our homes. According to neighbours, if we don't choose surface trunking on ceiling or floor, but via false ceiling or even through existing ceiling, we must pay the subcon $60-80. This is cash to them, not to ON.

When I checked with ON, this is what they said to me.. I verified with 3 different CSOs:

1. The subcon's scope of work is ONLY for surface trunking on ceiling or floor, up to 15 m only.
2. Anything other than surface trunking, the subcon will not do. We have to get our own contractor to do it.
3. ON will KIV our installation up to 1 mth for our own contractor to install any conduit etc on the false ceiling, then ON will come back in.

However, the ON subcon has been using the existing trunking in the flats to pull in the cable into the TP. This does not involve any opening up of false ceilings or anything of that sort. Just the riser where our existing SCV cables are etc. For that, they are charging people $60-80.

Is this correct? The ON documentation states clearly that we can choose existing trunking, and need not pay. Does this mean the subcon is trying to take up for a ride?

Cabling Inside Your Home

Any help appreciated. Got lots of anxious owners getting very confused about this...

Delon1234

Our condo is finally getting opennet installation but I'm getting a lot of conflicting messages from neighbours and from opennet (ON) customer service officers (CSO). For our estate we have an ON subcontractor that will install the cabling inside our homes. According to neighbours, if we don't choose surface trunking on ceiling or floor, but via false ceiling or even through existing ceiling, we must pay the subcon $60-80. This is cash to them, not to ON.

When I checked with ON, this is what they said to me.. I verified with 3 different CSOs:

1. The subcon's scope of work is ONLY for surface trunking on ceiling or floor, up to 15 m only.
2. Anything other than surface trunking, the subcon will not do. We have to get our own contractor to do it.
3. ON will KIV our installation up to 1 mth for our own contractor to install any conduit etc on the false ceiling, then ON will come back in.

However, the ON subcon has been using the existing trunking in the flats to pull in the cable into the TP. This does not involve any opening up of false ceilings or anything of that sort. Just the riser where our existing SCV cables are etc. For that, they are charging people $60-80.

Is this correct? The ON documentation states clearly that we can choose existing trunking, and need not pay. Does this mean the subcon is trying to take up for a ride?

Cabling Inside Your Home

Any help appreciated. Got lots of anxious owners getting very confused about this...
Existing trunking = existing surface trunking and not equal to concealed conduit.

As long as is concealed means they got the right to charge you, as a third party.

comtt74

Ayub's contact is 81186069.

For those who is interested in his service, please to try make an early appointment with him to avoid disappointment.

He is currently working alone and sometimes his schedule can be very tight that he may not be able to reply your call/sms immediately.

Refer to the thread below for more screen shots and reviews.

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/n...ice-cat-6-lan-cable-installation-3675789.html

Cheers.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.