Delidded 4770K on a Naked run!!!

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

spyboy48

Finally, it came upon a time, 4770K gonna be good but not quite yet.
It came to a halt, but can it be save....trying to find a solution....to solder?

Delidding service, PM me for schedule.

Methods of service.
Removed IHS by using Razor rotary tool & Credit card method. Cleaned, lightly sand IHS edges using 1500grit & lightly polished internal IHS using 2000grit sand paper.
Caps beside the bare core need to be insulated, hence lacquer is applied for Haswell, so 1 day needed to be dry & hardened.(as Liquid pro is electrically conductive)
Liquid pro applied on both sides & silicone to seal it back to its original form.
Clamped & aligned IHS to the LGa 1150 socket for 3-4days for the silicone to cure.

Time taken for 2 options:
1) within a week, usually about 5 days(with chip only) - no hurry as I need to work too :D

2)Another Quick option is to Bring your mobo & chip, collect back after 2 days depending on my "OFF Day" schedule. (must arranged timing to suit me)
###Clear Lacquer needs one day to dry & Hardened. Once the chip is clamped down, it must not be moved/removed out. Enjoy!
###excess silicone can be easily remove by using your little finger nail (only after 5 days, no sharp object) or just leave it & used your pc.

PM on FAQ.
I cannot guarantee that intel warranty will not be a problem. I can only guarantee upon delidding it will work & with better temp as before.
Delidding is a risk that I am under taking, so I can promised after delidding it will be in good working condition.
Adding to it, Haswell carry a high risk in delidding, especially the caps beside the core.
I will replaced it with a delidded chip if anything goes wrong, or doesn't boot-up.

Do bench & test with Linx/ibt before & after delidding.

Thanks

**********Lists of Delidded Jobs completed**********

1) Tensor(TS): 4770k done on 13th Aug
2) Godslayer(GS): 3770k done on 13th Aug
3) Elbryan03(EB): 4770k(BNIB) done on 14th Aug
4) Gantzzz(G): 4770K done on 14th Aug
5) Supermint(S): 4770K(BNIB) done on 14th Aug
6) JK(4770k) & my Spare 4770K chip
7) KLx(3770 BNIB) done on 23 Aug
8) Maxen's(4770K BNIB) done on 25 Aug
9) Tamjinhang(2x Xeon E3-1230 V2) done on 26th Aug.
10) GrimaH's 3770K done & collected on 5th Sept...http://forums.vr-zone.com/hardware-depot/2900968-delidded-4770k-naked-run-9.html#post13461780
11) Bond, James Bond done & collected on 13th Sept...http://forums.vr-zone.com/hardware-depot/2900968-delidded-4770k-naked-run-9.html#post13483629
12) Clammyslayer(green camp), 4770K delidding was done on 26th Sept 2013 & collected.
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/79857360-post64.html
13) AsakuraJames's BNIB 4770K done & collected on the 5th Oct 2013.
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/80066652-post67.html
14) Tamjinhang done & collected on 19th Oct 2013...http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/80457639-post71.html
15) Nin3tails's 3570k delidded, clamped on Z77x UD3H, collected 9th Nov 2013
http://forums.vr-zone.com/hardware-depot/2900968-delidded-4770k-naked-run-10.html#post13648242
16) Cyberwave's 4770K bundle with M6H done on the 19th Nov 2013.
http://forums.vr-zone.com/hardware-depot/2900968-delidded-4770k-naked-run-11.html#post13680086
17) mjbengx's 3570k bundle with Biostar z77 mobo done & collected on 19th Nov 2013.
http://forums.vr-zone.com/hardware-depot/2900968-delidded-4770k-naked-run-11.html#post13682614
18) thatdumbdoor's 4670K done & collected on the 30th Nov 2013
http://forums.vr-zone.com/hardware-depot/2900968-delidded-4770k-naked-run-11.html#post13718519
19) fragrantbiscuit's 4670k done & collected on the 30th Nov 2013
http://forums.vr-zone.com/hardware-depot/2900968-delidded-4770k-naked-run-11.html#post13718519
20) ChickenRapist's 4670K bundle came in on Sunday 1st Dec and collected on 3rd Dec 2013...http://forums.vr-zone.com/hardware-depot/2900968-delidded-4770k-naked-run-12.html#post13721765
21) Kuniyo's Intel Intel Xeon E3-1230V3 Haswell 3.3GHz came in for surgery on 5th dec 2013...http://forums.vr-zone.com/hardware-depot/2900968-delidded-4770k-naked-run-12.html#post13724866
22)cysmail's 4670K bundle came in as it is on the 13thDec 2013 & collected.
http://forums.vr-zone.com/hardware-depot/2900968-delidded-4770k-naked-run-12.html#post13754113
23)Dennis's BNIB 4770K Chip from Costa Rica came in on 22nd Dec & collected 23rd DEc2013.
http://forums.vr-zone.com/hardware-depot/2900968-delidded-4770k-naked-run-12.html#post13777847
24)lzxhenry's 4770K chip & Z87X-OC board came in on 28th Dec & collected 30th Dec2013.
http://forums.vr-zone.com/hardware-depot/2900968-delidded-4770k-naked-run-13.html#post13796680
25)Stressmage's 4770K chip & Z87x-D3H came in on 29thDec 2013 & collected 30th Dec 2013
http://forums.vr-zone.com/hardware-depot/2900968-delidded-4770k-naked-run-13.html#post13802700
26)Pho3nixor's 2 sets of bundle 3770K & 4670K(BNIB)came in on 2nd Jan, collected 3rd Jan 2014
http://forums.vr-zone.com/hardware-depot/2900968-delidded-4770k-naked-run-13.html#post13816589
27)Mattsong77's M6H and chip 4770K came in on 3rd Jan & collected 5th Jan 2014.
http://forums.vr-zone.com/hardware-depot/2900968-delidded-4770k-naked-run-13.html#post13821457
28)Goondo's package(3 items inside) was sent to my house today, 5th Jan 2014
http://forums.vr-zone.com/hardware-depot/2900968-delidded-4770k-naked-run-13.html#post13821618

spyboy48

Luckily I have one person in mind who is still one of the best service engineer in the IT industry.
He was able to locate one old mobo lga775 south bridge chipset, so tiny I couldn't make out when the soldering iron was at it....incredible job!
Thumb-up to him!
Does it works? I have faith in him :)

to be continue....

spyboy48

Finally, applying a lacquer coating as an insulation on the caps(waited a day to be hardened and dry, 2 coating).
Cleaned again before applying "Liquid pro" and covered it up with black silicon on ihs.
I am posting here on that same delidded working chip....Bravo!!!

Delidded 4770K at 4.7Ghz 1.35Vcore not tune, just post and benched.

LesterQ

Wow... His hands damn stable.. Or is use a mechanical hand... Because I solder my pcb I wanna die already.. My pcb x2 the size. Lol

spyboy48

Lol you ah..... Already warn you all to becareful.....

well, it was very hard to delid this ihs, took me quite a bit of time to get into one corner, only one corner the blade able to go in. The other 3 corners can't even push it in, very stubborn! so i worked from there.
Very hard to control your strength especially that corner.

spyboy48

Looking back at my previous benchies at 4.5GHz at 1.18Vcore and 1.2Vcore, before this same chip went under surgery...see for yourself the 30degC dropped.
Do note that the previous platform was using Z87X-OC FORCE before delid.
And AFTER delid I am using Z87X-OC. I will post another one with the "FORCE" in due time
because i need the chip to be cure before I can remove.
Z87X-OC FORCE
2 benches were uploaded just to be sure the temp variations.

AFTER DELID........50degC!!! shiok dah!
Z87X-OC

FinalTidus

Looking back at my previous benchies at 4.5GHz at 1.18Vcore and 1.2Vcore, before this same chip went under surgery...see for yourself the 30degC dropped.
Do note that the previous platform was using Z87X-OC FORCE before delid.
And AFTER delid I am using Z87X-OC. I will post another one with the "FORCE" in due time
because i need the chip to be cure before I can remove.
Z87X-OC FORCE
2 benches were uploaded just to be sure the temp variations.

AFTER DELID........50degC!!! shiok dah!
Z87X-OC
The absolute power of delidding.

30C drop!!!

Its so amazing its not funny....

betadyne

Btw, I did a naked run w/o IHS. Temps are around the same as with IHS. But I am using AS5, not liquid pro.... Already ordered liquid pro, waiting for it to come only. I think with liquid pro, naked should be better than IHS results.

Teng Zai

Btw, I did a naked run w/o IHS. Temps are around the same as with IHS. But I am using AS5, not liquid pro.... Already ordered liquid pro, waiting for it to come only. I think with liquid pro, naked should be better than IHS results.

Sorry to sidetrack from original topic but want to ask how you delid? Vice or razor method?
And your CLP/CLU order from where? :o

betadyne

Sorry to sidetrack from original topic but want to ask how you delid? Vice or razor method?
And your CLP/CLU order from where? :o

I use razor method..... Been doing it since P4 days....lol....

As for CLP I order it from ebay. Unable to find it locally... :(

Teng Zai

I use razor method..... Been doing it since P4 days....lol....

As for CLP I order it from ebay. Unable to find it locally... :(

You guys here have some major dingdongs haha.. Ask me use vice method I also scared to death liao, poor peasant some more no $ to replace if chip spoilt.

Also, duno where to get vice leh :s11: So mafan need to find ppl who have.
By any chance do you know anyone who do delidding service??

spyboy48

You guys here have some major dingdongs haha.. Ask me use vice method I also scared to death liao, poor peasant some more no $ to replace if chip spoilt.

Also, duno where to get vice leh :s11: So mafan need to find ppl who have.
By any chance do you know anyone who do delidding service??

Not to worry, I did countless delidding service over at the blue camp.
Pm me for delidding service, it takes about 1 wk.
With guarantee too.

spyboy48

Delid and Remove IHS, clean, lightly 1500grit to sand and clean away access paste inprinted on the Pcb and Ihs.
Caps need to be lacquer(2 coating)for Haswell, so 1 day needed to be dry and hardened.
Liquid pro to be applied on both sides IHs and the Bare core, apply Black silicone to IHs and seal back leaving a small gap for lhs to its original form.
Whole Process took one wk or more(silicone to dry 3-5days).

Reply as per PM on FAQ.
But I cannot gaurantee that intel warranty will be no problem. I can only guarantee upon delidding it will work and with better temp as before.
Delidding is a risk that I am under taking, so I can promised after delidding it will be in good working condition.
Adding to it, Haswell carry a high risk in delidding, especially the caps within the core.

I will replaced it with a delid chip if anything goes wrong.

Do bench and test with Linx/ibt before and after delidding.
Thanks

Maeda_Toshiie

Interesting. One big question: does delidding (by reducing temperatures) help in terms of the increasing the maximum attainable 24/7 stable overclock (for the same cooling)?

spyboy48

bare core below the Lga clamp and u need to clamp it down too.

spyboy48

Interesting. One big question: does delidding (by reducing temperatures) help in terms of the increasing the maximum attainable 24/7 stable overclock (for the same cooling)?

Delidding is for the purpose of putting in the best thermal paste, Liquid Pro!
Temp down and OC mileage went up :D
this is a short test with Gigabyte Z87X-OC with i7 4770K delidded....not meant for 24/7 used...as the temp is quite ok at 4.9GHz but under Prime might be high....so ideally 4.5GHz is just right.
e.g.

snipes14

Hmmm... Quite curious how are the temps delidded at stock speeds?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.