CapitaLand Ascott Trust f.k.a. Ascott Trust *Official* (SGX:HMN)

winorlose

I think alot of Service apartments/Hotels kena by AIRBNB massively.. nowadays go overseas everyone doing Airbnb liao..

xitrumch

I think alot of Service apartments/Hotels kena by AIRBNB massively.. nowadays go overseas everyone doing Airbnb liao..

I think it depends on the hotel class. Different hotels target different type of customers, high end hotel which target upper middle class won't be affected by Airbnb. But hostel/inn type will be heavily affected by Airbnb, where their customers usually go search for cheap deal online.

So I think Ascott won't be affected much by Airbnb but I think they will be affected by the global economy, since it affect their upper middle class/corporate customers, which indirectly affecting them.

Anyway, if investing for long term, I think this is one good opportunity to get this stock at discount price.

xSieghartx

I just averaged down my holding of 3 years to 1.14.

Agree with xitrumch, Ascott's portfolio attracts a different group of customers and is less affected by Airbnb.

Confession.pt3

once I stayed at airbnb for hk trip, the reviews are nice but the apt just suck. I would rather go for a decent hotel. Airbnb is for budget travelers.

Minx99

once I stayed at airbnb for hk trip, the reviews are nice but the apt just suck. I would rather go for a decent hotel. Airbnb is for budget travelers.
Go on holiday is to enjoy yourself and relax. Why get stressed out staying at a airbnb joint? Next time stay at one of the many Ascott reit properties around the world. Be nice to yourself. By the way, they have a few properties in Hong Kong as well. :)

winorlose

Go on holiday is to enjoy yourself and relax. Why get stressed out staying at a airbnb joint? Next time stay at one of the many Ascott reit properties around the world. Be nice to yourself. By the way, they have a few properties in Hong Kong as well. :)

lol

airbnb depends one leh.. i went melbourne and sydney bnb.. both were excellent houses.

https://www.airbnb.com.sg/rooms/9930169

if u book yourself a budget bnb.. den its budget la.

airbnb can cater to different kind of people..

Perisher

lol

airbnb depends one leh.. i went melbourne and sydney bnb.. both were excellent houses.

https://www.airbnb.com.sg/rooms/9930169

if u book yourself a budget bnb.. den its budget la.

airbnb can cater to different kind of people..

I also stayed in Airbnb houses while in Aussie and have absolutely no issue whatsoever other than the limited keys. Sometimes the group split up and go back at different time then went out separately again so having many set of key is important.

arctician

service apartment cater more to corp. tenants with longer lease term..direct contacts with HR and they need to be in the approved vendor lease..so ascott performance is tied to global economic cycles and less on biz model disruption from airbnb

anwyay valuations are good..imagine if you buy now..u get discounted pricing and option of CD..plus 20% below nav and dividend yield 6-7%

winorlose

service apartment cater more to corp. tenants with longer lease term..direct contacts with HR and they need to be in the approved vendor lease..so ascott performance is tied to global economic cycles and less on biz model disruption from airbnb

anwyay valuations are good..imagine if you buy now..u get discounted pricing and option of CD..plus 20% below nav and dividend yield 6-7%

Based on reitdata.com, Ascott Reit NAV is $1.410 so thats about 23% below NAV.

This fund raising exercise is to buy the NY Hotel..

highly geared at 39%

arctician

Based on reitdata.com, Ascott Reit NAV is $1.410 so thats about 23% below NAV.

This fund raising exercise is to buy the NY Hotel..

highly geared at 39%

Subject to relevant laws and regulations, the Manager intends to use the gross
proceeds of approximately S$100.0 million (based on the Base Issue Price) from
the Private Placement in the following manner:
(i) approximately S$98.5 million will be used to partially fund the proposed
acquisition of a hotel property located at 250 and 370-372 Canal Street
(a/k/a 13-15 Lispenard Street) in New York, United States (“U.S.”) (the
“Property”)1
(which is equivalent to 98.5% of the gross proceeds of the
Private Placement);
(ii) approximately S$1.5 million will be used to pay the estimated fees and
expenses, including professional fees and expenses, incurred or to be
incurred by Ascott REIT in connection with the Private Placement (which is
equivalent to 1.5% of the gross proceeds of the Private Placement).

anyway private placement are getting it at $1.055, so if you get it below $1.07 with CD, net net still lower

this is a gd counter..yesterday i just took it off the sell queue..no thinking required

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.