Ask a Bicycle Question - Part 6

erwinrommel

Big chainring heavier. I rather go smaller for chainring to save weight, but yet can use 11t cog for fast ride and the biggest cog for climbing. If not, i will waste 2 cogs and getting a heavier bike because of big chainring and 2 useless cogs' weight. And because of smaller chainring, i don't need a 28t cog, but a 25t. This way can save a tiny bit of weight and the cadence becomes gradual within the closer range of cogs.

Having said this, i might not be getting the same cadence especially when i max out with 11t? I think sadisticnoob's need is also different since he is a power rider.

You are pretty spot on! But it's not due to weight considerations.

Sadisticnoob uses 61/14 on flat roads... Which is equivalent ratio 53/12 assuming wheel size is the same for both setup. Since he mentioned about chain drop at the smaller cogs, that's why he chose to compensate using larger chain ring. It's all about simple maths.

Having a capreo setup with 53t and 9t rear is the same as having a 65t chain ring with a 11t rear cogs! Assuming wheel size remains same.

Nowadays you seem to be a pretty hardcore weight weenie. Lol.

rarenick

You are pretty spot on! But it's not due to weight considerations.

Sadisticnoob uses 61/14 on flat roads... Which is equivalent ratio 53/12 assuming wheel size is the same for both setup. Since he mentioned about chain drop at the smaller cogs, that's why he chose to compensate using larger chain ring. It's all about simple maths.

Having a capreo setup with 53t and 9t rear is the same as having a 65t chain ring with a 11t rear cogs! Assuming wheel size remains same.

Nowadays you seem to be a pretty hardcore weight weenie. Lol.
Light weight for the shiokness only. Breezy just helped me ordered a pair of titanium paddles. It is 160+ grams only.

Btw whats the smallest cog size u using on capreo?
9t can withstand the load meh? Very fast spoil. Able to buy just the 9t cog or not? For 11t everyone also have and can give u if they changing to new cassette.
Sent from LGE LG-D802 using GAGT

breezy

Light weight for the shiokness only. Breezy just helped me ordered a pair of titanium paddles. It is 160+ grams only.

9t can withstand the load meh? Very fast spoil. Able to buy just the 9t cog or not? For 11t everyone also have and can give u if they changing to new cassette.

http://m.intl.taobao.com/detail/detail.html?spm=a1z5f.7632060.0.0&id=525994817103

180rmb only haha

erwinrommel

I don't use capreo. :o

I am a weak rider. Too weak to use capreo. :o

I already having jelly legs at 53/15 on 451 wheels. :s22:

Very few people are able to use 9t on capreo unless you are a hardcore power masher.

ericktkj

New rider here, sorry to ask stupid question. Bought my foldie no long ago, why the seat post keep on sliding down?

Cryogenist

For exercise purpose.

Then I suggest you up your budget alittle to get a better bike and brand.

Getting departmental stores bike will just make you feel frustrated after awhile, when all the issues start surfacing.

erwinrommel

Thanks. But why avoid aleoca?

Have to lower your expectations. Bikes of those price range do not really have good components.. which may frustrate your cycling experience.

Maybe you should pop by local bike shops and try other bikes before jumping onto the wagon.

Gixxerfied

Change the Marathon to Kojak..Tabao my Marathon home since got quite abit of thread...Headwind very jialat + that big plastic bag dangling on the handlebar..

And correct, MBS seems to charge extra is bicycle not purchase from them..Luckily i brought my MBS card along, got one guy came in with his punctured tyres but bring wheel only got charged installation for replacing tubes as not purchase from them..

ADOtZ07h.jpg

Sadisticnoob

Change the Marathon to Kojak..Tabao my Marathon home since got quite abit of thread...Headwind very jialat + that big plastic bag dangling on the handlebar..

And correct, MBS seems to charge extra is bicycle not purchase from them..Luckily i brought my MBS card along, got one guy came in with his punctured tyres but bring wheel only got charged installation for replacing tubes as not purchase from them..

ADOtZ07h.jpg
Really earn easy $ . 10 dollars for a 5 mins job

Sent from Asus ASUS_Z00ED using GAGT

Sadisticnoob

Shiok meh my spd weights 139 g for pedals

Cassette won't spoil so fast 1 maybe can use for like 30,000km kind

Sent from Asus ASUS_Z00ED using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.