MM2 Asia *Official* (SGX: 43D) - Part 2

darkflame

mda give mm2 $8,000,000 to develop talent, but u think they can take this $8,000,000 go acquire cinema meh? :s13:
bro, scripts is only a component cost to produce a movie, normally 10 to 15% of total project value. The grant gives indication of production pipeline for mm2 sg movies?

Sinkie

bro, scripts is only a component cost to produce a movie, normally 10 to 15% of total project value. The grant gives indication of production pipeline for mm2 sg movies?

oh u mean if lets say one day i want to produce my own ra film, then i quote mm2 $8m for script writing only, mm2 can actually use this $8m to pay me meh?? then mm2 can just attach a few xi ginna scriptwriter wannabe to my team like holiday internship ma?? so simple?

but market not buying in this news lah, means this is non-material story lahh.. still flat.. or is it market dont understand this news?

darkflame

oh u mean if lets say one day i want to produce my own ra film, then i quote mm2 $8m for script writing only, mm2 can actually use this $8m to pay me meh?? then mm2 can just attach a few xi ginna scriptwriter wannabe to my team like holiday internship ma?? so simple?

but market not buying in this news lah, means this is non-material story lahh.. still flat.. or is it market dont understand this news?
Go MDA site and read about how grants work. Jinghu gives grants for scripts development followed by production grants is what I read. From my understanding, you think you got a good story idea, you go to MDA first to get a scripts grant. If they think you got a wining story, they give you money (scripts grant) to develop your story into a full movie scripts. But it doesnt stop there, thereafter with the completed scripts you can apply for a production grants of up to 40% of local production cost.

if you are a mm2 24/7 watcher and doesnt understand underlying implications of their news, who will?

Sinkie

Go MDA site and read about how grants work. Jinghu gives grants for scripts development followed by production grants is what I read. From my understanding, you think you got a good story idea, you go to MDA first to get a scripts grant. If they think you got a wining story, they give you money (scripts grant) to develop your story into a full movie scripts. But it doesnt stop there, thereafter with the completed scripts you can apply for a production grants of up to 40% of local production cost.

if you are a mm2 24/7 watcher and doesnt understand underlying implications of their news, who will?

then where mm2 come in? with the $8m grant? or kingpartner csb??

darkflame

then where mm2 come in? with the $8m grant? or kingpartner csb??
Not sure what is the incident of script grants given but never made it into production and release in our cinemas. But it will be not surprising that even if you got script grant and developed the scripts, it does not guarantee that it will go into production and worst still it may just sit there and not even make it to our local cinema screens.

I only can guess that maybe MDA wants to make sure, script grants handed out go on to be produced and eventually released in cinemas.

must say the news very sketchy. But it does look MDA did a lump sum grant approval for mm2 developed new script writers thru some understanding that these scripts will go into production and finally released on screens. Perhaps when MDA / MM2 release more information on the programme we will know.

if this is so, this news is a boost to mm2 production pipeline for the coming months.

Sinkie

this mm2 chart, is look like seahorse or look like dragon now??

KZ1O8pl.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.