[Trip report] - 10 day solo trip to Japan

Steyr69

Thanks for update.....
Stunning Tokyo skyline images...
Personally i dun think i can do capsule hotel....the whole idea of sleeping in an enclosed space is so daunting....scary.

Sent from Asus ME173X using GAGT

I love Chiobu

wah the capsule hotel really sibei cui leh. so dirty and ur luggages can put in the common area?! if is me maybe put the luggage inside the capsule liao, if not at night cant slp, lol.

MajiMax

(Day 7) Proceeded to my first actual point of interest of the day, Tokyo Metropolitan Government building. This place is free entry and the view is awesome. Highly recommended to visit should you visit Tokyo.

Of all observatory in Tokyo, I find World Trade Center Tokyo nicest, quiet place, got chair to sit also haha.

eedwinn

Thanks for update.....
Stunning Tokyo skyline images...
Personally i dun think i can do capsule hotel....the whole idea of sleeping in an enclosed space is so daunting....scary.

Ok la... The capsule is actually not that small, still can sit up straight and flip here and there inside...

You don't like sashimi?!?! How cannnn?!

Sent from my Corporate Phone using GAGT

Moi don't understand neither... :(

Kosongice didi!!! Chiu are back!

KSI KSI lumber 1! :s13:

Jin elite mans!!!!!

Jiak grass for the next 6 months :s22:

wah the capsule hotel really sibei cui leh. so dirty and ur luggages can put in the common area?! if is me maybe put the luggage inside the capsule liao, if not at night cant slp, lol.

Ya man, luggage was left at the common area without any locks. Lucky I have my own personal lock.

eedwinn

Got extra space first or not????

push all the way, then my legs rest on it lor. aiya the idea is i dun feel safe putting it outside, very paranoid.

I don't think the capsule has enough space for a luggage... I brought a relatively large one, definitely can't fit. Maybe those 21" or something still feasible.

Of all observatory in Tokyo, I find World Trade Center Tokyo nicest, quiet place, got chair to sit also haha.

Never really came across this while planning for my trip... Will keep it in mind for my next trip! :s12:

Kirakun83

Bookmarked.... ts the airbnb u book a room or whole apartment? For my last 2 solo trips to jpn mostly i stayed hotel.

eedwinn

Day 8 - Kawaguchiko

(Day 8) Towards Kawaguchiko today! Checked out of the capsule hotel early since I did not enjoy staying there. Had my breakfast and headed to board the highway bus which I bought the tickets for the day before.

The bus ride from Shinjuku to Kawaguchiko took about 1 hour 45 mins. I slept for the bulk of time in the bus. Finally arrived at Kawaguchiko! The first thing I felt after alighting from the bus was that the weather here is nice! Felt like it was about 20 degree celcius.

7QsuIqB.jpg

AFFKmtL.jpg

I stayed at this hostel called K’s House for that night. Top notch service from them, they even picked me up when I called them from the tourist information centre even though I am the only one, and it only costed me 3,300 yen for 1 night! The staff at the hostel also gave me some good recommendations for activities and places to go. Quick picture of the dorm. In the end, only 2 (including me) stayed in this dorm despite being a 6-person one.
YL5MqeO.jpg

I wasted no time going out since this was the highlight of my trip, being able to see Mt. Fuji. Got myself the 2 day sightseeing bus pass for 1,200 yen. This was the bus that brought me around all the different spots around Lake Kawaguchiko.
g0IZhJz.jpg

Had my lunch at one of the sightseeing stops. The cafe overlooked lake Kawaguchiko.
mHi4FVA.jpg

eedwinn

Day 8 - Kawaguchiko

(Day 8) My next stop was the Herb Hall, lots of different plants (especially Lavenders) products here! I bought myself a Lavender ice-cream.
o8y66Cn.jpg

After filling my stomach, I excitedly proceeded to the last stop of the bus (where the sight of Mt. Fuji is supposedly the best), but this was all I saw. The weather was turning bad with lots of clouds! No luck at meeting the glorious mountain.
uba3ngj.jpg

Disheartened and slightly wet from the rain, I decided to head back to the hostel to decide on my next plan. Since it was rainy and quite chilly, I went to try the Onsen! I planned to go to the Fujiyama Onsen which is near to the Kawaguchiko station, but was too lazy to travel again on such a rainy day. Hence, I went to the one recommended by the hostel, Kaiun no Yu, which was only 5 minutes walk away.

There was nobody there when I arrived! How nice. I quickly grabbed my phone to snap a picture (hence the blur picture) since no photography is allowed usually! Hehe. There are another 2 more hot spring at the outdoor area.
KGrYRzR.jpg

eedwinn

Day 8 - Kawaguchiko

(Day 8) Also recommended by the hostel, I had dinner at a restaurant that sells Hōtō, a traditional Japanese dish. Pretty cool setting for a traditional restaurant. There were also a number Japanese families having dinner there too! Quite a good authentic experience.
c0jTjzw.jpg

The Hōtō I ordered. It tasted like our Singapore Ban Mian, but with miso soup. It was really tasty!
v6tWEJZ.jpg

Ended the night at the large supermarket nearby, and prayed for better weather the next day!
ihjkCU4.jpg

eedwinn

Cool. Thanks TS. Looks like u had a awesome trip !!

Sent from somewhere out there using GAGT

Thanks! Yes, it was an awesome and memorable trip! :s12:

ts no more update liao ah?

Waiting for Mount Fuji pic.....

Pai seh, been busy with work liao... :(

Bookmarked.... ts the airbnb u book a room or whole apartment? For my last 2 solo trips to jpn mostly i stayed hotel.

The AirBnB was a room only! No way can it be so cheap if its the whole apartment... :s13: I can't afford staying in hotels for my full trip, those nights I stayed in hotels costed more than S$100 per night :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.