How much did u spend on renovation for ur house?

derazor

My whites are all led daylight..

My coves are using t5 led warm white..

my track lights using led daylight bulbs.

Nowadays warm white for cove light already got t5 led riao..

http://www.tlcled.com.sg/led-lights/led-light-tube.html

Think u very long nv take a look at lightings?? :s13:

Most of the time when i'm home at night using the pc or watching tv or both, it's only warm white..

Haha.. I think you taobao all rite? ;);)

hwaa

Balconies/Kitchens help sell the unit, Maid room / yards how to advertise? :( sad reality...

Besides... nowadays developers proportion out space for dryers liao...

dryers and yard drying is different one lah.

hwaa

no la not say avoid cleaning. there's no way u can avoid. not so naive.

imagine cleaning this
Designer-Lighting-Discount-Pendant-Light.jpg

wanna have nice looks in the house, also must think about the ease of cleaning.

i never like such lights.

nemo88

good sia. i like guards thats on the ball and the managers are reactive de. dun hang at balcony is house rule so good if the manager will monitor everyday rather thab waiting for it to happen theb send letter

Yah the balcony thing may sound too strict, but when you see those condos with balconies facing a nice pool and messy laundry - really ugly. Visited my friend's condo before and she pointed out this one ground floor unit always hang things outside. Problem is this type of thing cannot have grey area one, must black and white. People who are considerate will hang neatly and once dry keep inside. This family on ground floor all kinds of things hanging outside - obviously not just drying laundry.

For me my own property is must have service yard. Not just for laundry - it's normal day to day task we all just need some 'mess' space that is more open air to clean things, air things out, dry umbrella etc etc.

Gixxerfied

Haha.. I think you taobao all rite? ;);)

Actually no..

Lazy to wait for taobao shipping cos rather mid renovation then started sourcing..Got all my lights(Except for track light) from up north actually..Still cheaper than q10..

I did try to get 2 wall lamps and a ceiling light from taobao but they wont ship over, okay if i get ezbuy to get it for me..

gumbokins

How so? To me dry is dry lol. I used dryers exclusively for a year while overseas and felt it was a far superior option.

To me, nothing beats sundried laundry. That's the best. But dryers sure are convenient...can wash, dry, fold in a few hours.

nemo88

But you haven't explained what is 'best' about sundried. In Singapore where it's so humid, the sun is of little effect. Ho kua only. And how many people can hang their laundry in direct sunlight these days.

Laundry is dry effectively most important. Got sun no sun is just window dressing.

Yureak

Yah the balcony thing may sound too strict, but when you see those condos with balconies facing a nice pool and messy laundry - really ugly. Visited my friend's condo before and she pointed out this one ground floor unit always hang things outside. Problem is this type of thing cannot have grey area one, must black and white. People who are considerate will hang neatly and once dry keep inside. This family on ground floor all kinds of things hanging outside - obviously not just drying laundry.

For me my own property is must have service yard. Not just for laundry - it's normal day to day task we all just need some 'mess' space that is more open air to clean things, air things out, dry umbrella etc etc.

Another thing very obvious is blinds. All colour code must match. If no match will look like pasar malam.

Gixxerfied

Not sure if i want to use full warm white for LVR and Dining Room
Kitchen Day White

Miss ur post..

My MBR only has warm light for slping area, daylight for wardrobe area. 2nd bedroom only has daylight.

Living rm + kitchen and both toilets have warm white and daylight..

Service yard and bomb shelter only white.

Gixxerfied

To me, nothing beats sundried laundry. That's the best. But dryers sure are convenient...can wash, dry, fold in a few hours.

I like sun dry for my towels, maybe sometimes for quilt cover and bedsheets..

Would prefer air dry for my clothes, colours seems to last longer that way as compared to sundry..

hwaa

How so? To me dry is dry lol. I used dryers exclusively for a year while overseas and felt it was a far superior option.

cos u used dryers exclusively. i never even have to use dryers at all. :s13:

CCCustom

Wah, not sure .have to ask contractors
But good quality quartz can be as ex as marble

But those better quartz are nicer.

U feel u know it's better
I don't have prices, but just for comparison's sake, Caesarstone costs more than Lian Hin's (1 of the most if not the most common granite top provider for IDs / contractors) Black Galaxy granite. Black Galaxy is usually within "package price" ... you want Caesarstone you need to top up $$.

CCCustom

I lived in England till I came back in 2001 ... was hanging clothes on clotheslines initially until I discovered the convenience of using dryers. I don't know maybe weather / humidity difference, but using dryers seemed to make my clothes, towels, etc feel a bit fuzzy, you don't get that from sun-dry.

I know for a fact that cats love lying in a basket of clothes fresh out from a dryer though :s13:

CCCustom

imagine cleaning this
Designer-Lighting-Discount-Pendant-Light.jpg
The Other Half had a colleague who wanted to give us a similar pendant from IKEA, it's actually an opaque "ball" then you pull a string and the ball will open up to reveal the light and look something like this. I rejected ... cleaning the exterior of the "ball" is easy you just need to close up and wipe (I hope nobody is stupid enough to try to wipe the exterior when it's opened up :s13: ), but to clean the inside of the "ball" is going to be a major PITA.

We also decided, definitely no crystal lighting :s8: Apart from being old-fashioned as hell, I see my mother clean her crystal chandelier I think to myself ... oh hell no I ain't gonna do that $#!t.

We ended up with this for our dining:

360611710.jpg

Supposedly discontinued locally, I imported from Germany myself.

Yureak

I lived in England till I came back in 2001 ... was hanging clothes on clotheslines initially until I discovered the convenience of using dryers. I don't know maybe weather / humidity difference, but using dryers seemed to make my clothes, towels, etc feel a bit fuzzy, you don't get that from sun-dry.

I know for a fact that cats love lying in a basket of clothes fresh out from a dryer though :s13:

Not sure what you mean by fuzzy. I lived overseas myself and the norm was to use dryers so I did so for years exclusively.

Only downside i saw was a faster wear cause dryers tumble your clothes around. Otherwise, it'd be mostly dry within 30-45mins

gumbokins

But you haven't explained what is 'best' about sundried. In Singapore where it's so humid, the sun is of little effect. Ho kua only. And how many people can hang their laundry in direct sunlight these days.

Laundry is dry effectively most important. Got sun no sun is just window dressing.

The UV disinfects (at least I perceive this). Don't fget pillows also, gets rid of the sweaty smells

But yah unfortunately the way flats nowadays are placed plus inconsiderate neighbours make outdoor drying impractical and impossible. Even though mine is old style resale, with the bamboo pole holders outside the kitchen window, I still do indoor drying.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.