Xperia Z5 Premium - World's first 4K display smartphone

carlover76

hello. i looked at the new range from Sony. Doesn't look good. Saw many reviews online from different sites citing some problems with some of the new models. I'm thinking of getting Z5. But what if the newer Z model is released? Some have said Z series will come to an end. Help me.

That depends on what you are looking for on the new range, there are different models with different specs. Some mention that the models which are running on Mediatek processor may not be good so left with only Qualcomm model, Xperia X.

I agree that the Xperia XA and XA Ultra has removed the finger print scanner button so left with Xperia X still comes with it but all the Xperia models comes with the Quick Charge 3.0 even though they are not running on Qualcomm processor so it is still be good.

The moment I touch the Xperia XA Ultra screen, I can see that the screen is nice and smooth with almost no gap from the display to the bezel so overall, it is very smooth with some curvy on all the edges. Best of all, all models are Dual Sim by default so it makes travelling easy by just inserting the local sim card much easier than before and I am used to using Dual Sim models.

Get a feel of the phone and see whether you like it before deciding. =:p

osh6

hello. i looked at the new range from Sony. Doesn't look good. Saw many reviews online from different sites citing some problems with some of the new models. I'm thinking of getting Z5. But what if the newer Z model is released? Some have said Z series will come to an end. Help me.

Z5 series is the last of Z series phone, X series is the new naming of Sony high/mid range phone from 2016 its replacing Z series, M series and C series.
For eg X performance is replacing Z series(SD800 series Chips), X i dunno(SD650 Chips), XA replacing M Series(Mediatek chips) and XA Ultra(Mediatek Chips) replacing C series.

I still prefer previous naming, Z for high end, M for mid Range and C for big screen, the current X naming is sometime confusing.

bryando

Looking at getting the Z5 premium but can any kind soul advise if I can use a 256GB micro SD card for the phone? I understand that the specs state its up to 200GB micro SD......

Thanks in advance....

shin7829

hi all

m1 shop no more stock liao le leh

i wanna recontract this phone leh

Can anyone give me advise where can recontract and still have stock?
I want Gold one
T_T now i need to hunt around liao

rssd21

hi all

I want Gold one

You can actually call and check with them which M1 shops have stocks.

Or you can consider buying the phone without contract at about 750 bucks.
Check out shops like mobilesquare, redwhitemobile, whymobile.

You can save more in the long term by using sim-only mobile plans.

hush66

hi all

I want Gold one

Recontract iPhone, sell it to a buyer at HWZ Bazaar, use the money to buy no-contract Z5P. You might end up paying a lot less than simpy recontracting Z5P with M1. :D

rssd21

Recontract iPhone, sell it to a buyer at HWZ Bazaar, use the money to buy no-contract Z5P. You might end up paying a lot less than simpy recontracting Z5P with M1. :D

For me, I save about 30 bucks per month using sim-only plan compared to 2 year contract plan.
That is about 720 bucks of saving for 2 years.

I think this is better than buying and selling other contract phones to buy Z5P.

hush66

For me, I save about 30 bucks per month using sim-only plan compared to 2 year contract plan.

I think this is better than buying and selling other contract phones to buy Z5P.

That depends on what plan you are on, and the recontract plan. For me, regardless of whether I recontract or not, I pay the same amount. And he already signalled his intention to recontract. :)

Hinata76

same here. mysim 45.

12gb data plan

carlover76

I did a test on the WIFI Speed test on both my Xperia Z5 Premium Dual and XA Ultra Dual and notice that there is a difference in the Download Speed and Upload Speed on both sets.

Xperia Z5 Premium Dual (Qualcomm Processor)
Download Speed : Less than 50Mbps
Upload Speed : Less than 50Mbps

Xperia XA Ultra Dual (Mediatek Processor)
Download Speed : Around 400+ Mbps
Upload Speed : Around 400+ Mbps

My router is ASUS AC-87U and I get the same result as my Z4 Tablet on Qualcomm Processor as well.

Seems like Mediatek has a limitation on the WIFI Speed, anyone has done such test or comments?

1-wind

I did a test on the WIFI Speed test on both my Xperia Z5 Premium Dual and XA Ultra Dual and notice that there is a difference in the Download Speed and Upload Speed on both sets.

Xperia Z5 Premium Dual (Qualcomm Processor)
Download Speed : Less than 50Mbps
Upload Speed : Less than 50Mbps

Xperia XA Ultra Dual (Mediatek Processor)
Download Speed : Around 400+ Mbps
Upload Speed : Around 400+ Mbps

My router is ASUS AC-87U and I get the same result as my Z4 Tablet on Qualcomm Processor as well.

Seems like Mediatek has a limitation on the WIFI Speed, anyone has done such test or comments?

I think you meant Xperia Z5 getting 400+ Mbps and Xperia XA Ultra getting 50 Mbps.

Basically, hardware specs determined by Sony:

Xperia Z5 Premium supports Wireless AC and Dual Band Wi-Fi standards, hence it is able to achieve a higher connection speed.

Xperia XA Ultra supports only Wireless N and Dual Band Wi-Fi standards, so it will have a lower connection speed in comparison.

Not so much of a Mediatek chipset limitation as there are other phones which supports Wireless AC and Dual Band standards.

UPDATE: White Paper states that Xperia Z5 Premium Dual supports up to 867 Mbps and Xperia XA Ultra Dual supports up to 150 Mbps.

Of course, this is subjected to the router specs as well as broadband plan as well.

carlover76

I think you meant Xperia Z5 getting 400+ Mbps and Xperia XA Ultra getting 50 Mbps.

Basically, hardware specs determined by Sony:

Xperia Z5 Premium supports Wireless AC and Dual Band Wi-Fi standards, hence it is able to achieve a higher connection speed.

Xperia XA Ultra supports only Wireless N and Dual Band Wi-Fi standards, so it will have a lower connection speed in comparison.

Not so much of a Mediatek chipset limitation as there are other phones which supports Wireless AC and Dual Band standards.

UPDATE: White Paper states that Xperia Z5 Premium Dual supports up to 867 Mbps and Xperia XA Ultra Dual supports up to 150 Mbps.

Of course, this is subjected to the router specs as well as broadband plan as well.

Thanks brother for your detailed information. =:p

Now waiting for available Screen Protector so back to my Z5 Premium Dual for the mean time. =:p

Legionchaos

hurh M1 no stock? Hopefully Sony Z5P is still avalaible fo rthe next 2 months, contract ending and planning to get 2 sets.
By the way issue with the recent batches of Z5P? Like heat, battery (really dun like the new android version where Sony took away the stamina mode).

carlover76

hurh M1 no stock? Hopefully Sony Z5P is still avalaible fo rthe next 2 months, contract ending and planning to get 2 sets.
By the way issue with the recent batches of Z5P? Like heat, battery (really dun like the new android version where Sony took away the stamina mode).

No leh. Stamina mode still available in my Z5 Premium and Xperia XA Ultra leh. It is under Battery menu.

yhw22

Yalor, where the stamina mode can control what app can run in background when the phone is sleep/standby mode. :)

any ideas got any app that got similar function like stamina mode which no need root rights? :(

carlover76

Yalor, where the stamina mode can control what app can run in background when the phone is sleep/standby mode. :)

any ideas got any app that got similar function like stamina mode which no need root rights? :(

Ha ha. I never play with the stamina mode cos seldom use it.

I dun think Sony has remove the option to add or remove app but they have shifted to another menu. You can check the instruction below, it is under app optimisation.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.