Who still gaming at 60hz monitors????

Stevejobless

Its not choppy. The video he embedded is in 8K and the game is running in Ultra at 85FPS. You need to have a 8K monitor to view the Youtube video in native 8K resolution. If not, the video will just play at 1080p.

It does look quite choppy. I am surprised its running at 85 fps coz it looks like low 20s to me.

holyark

Of course it doesnt make you better or worse in a game.obviously your own gamesense makes you win games. Its the same reason why u wanna buy a gtx 1080 just to play ow or csgo. A gtx 970 is more than sufficient. Or even a 960. But why choose the luxury of getting a gtx 1080? Same reason.

It just gives you a better gaming experience compared to the choppy 60hz.
I do own a gtx 970 before upgrading to gtx 1080 and my IPS monitor was gotten just a few months back.
The reason I gotten a 1080 is to support max candyeye at 1440p and ensuring a few years future proof down the road.
Yes, you may think 970 or even 960 is sufficient, but I won't agreed for 1440p, you can't max candyeye on games like witcher3, doom3, tomb raider etc.
Like what a lot of us said earlier, ultimately it's up to each individual users' requirement and their budget.. who doesn't want 144mhz, max candyeye and high resolution for gaming :)

mousemaniac

I do own a gtx 970 before upgrading to gtx 1080 and my IPS monitor was gotten just a few months back.
The reason I gotten a 1080 is to support max candyeye at 1440p and ensuring a few years future proof down the road.
Yes, you may think 970 or even 960 is sufficient, but I won't agreed for 1440p, you can't max candyeye on games like witcher3, doom3, tomb raider etc.
Like what a lot of us said earlier, ultimately it's up to each individual users' requirement and their budget.. who doesn't want 144mhz, max candyeye and high resolution for gaming :)

ya lo exactly.

So 144hz its not a must same like your 1080 isnt a must. But you purchase it so that it can support max eye candy for 1440p.

Same goes to a 144hz. Its not a must but it is to be able to view at least 144 frames on your display rather than 60 frames to support a better smoother gameplay feel.

And yes its up to individual. For those who keep wanna argue that 60hz is sufficient, so be it, they happy can already. =D

enenyi

thats why i dont play console games, and this topic is about pc games anyway.

Not talking about console games. Talking about console games ported over to PC. E.g. GTA 4, or the famous Batman Arkham Knight.

I play fifa on pc. 60hz, the ball looks choppy a little to me. 144hz does indeed has a better gaming experience, the ball movements does look more smoother. Dont know whether u know whats the meaning of "a better gaming experience"

Nevermind.

Of course, I would not know wad u mean by a "better gaming experience", hence I take issue with it coz taking the phrase literally implies that 144Hz is overall superior to 60Hz, which is not the case.

Everyone's eyes perceive response time differently. Just because u can differentiate easily between 60Hz and 144Hz doesn't mean I can, and doesn't mean the reader (whether logged in to HWZ or not) viewing this comment can differentiate. Everyone has their abilities and limitations with this.

The video below is one of the few tests one can do to find out if they have the "magical 144Hz ability":

So don't try to justify why 144Hz is better than 60Hz or the other way round. Different people perceive refresh rates differently, hence no one solution fits all. Comment and move on.

Gametaku

It does look quite choppy. I am surprised its running at 85 fps coz it looks like low 20s to me.

yah I think it's around 30 or 40+ also :s22:

There's a frame rate counter at the top right of his video (super small as its 8k). I tried watching it with Youtube 1080p setting applied and it does look kinda choppy. Its looks smooth when i tried watching it at 4K 60hz Youtube setting. I guess its the way Youtube decompress the video :s22:.

koroshiya8

Some specs are not available even if you have lots of money.
For eg. 4K Gsync @ 120hz (dun say 144hz) and 32-34 inch and above.

it just does not exist at the moment because of the connections availability.

mousemaniac

Not talking about console games. Talking about console games ported over to PC. E.g. GTA 4, or the famous Batman Arkham Knight.

Of course, I would not know wad u mean by a "better gaming experience", hence I take issue with it coz taking the phrase literally implies that 144Hz is overall superior to 60Hz, which is not the case.

Everyone's eyes perceive response time differently. Just because u can differentiate easily between 60Hz and 144Hz doesn't mean I can, and doesn't mean the reader (whether logged in to HWZ or not) viewing this comment can differentiate. Everyone has their abilities and limitations with this.

The video below is one of the few tests one can do to find out if they have the "magical 144Hz ability":

So don't try to justify why 144Hz is better than 60Hz or the other way round. Different people perceive refresh rates differently, hence no one solution fits all. Comment and move on.

you dont need a video to prove anything plus did u even see the video? he STRONGLY recommend a 144hz for gaming. so EVEN the guy in the video is "justifying" that 144hz is better than 60. see from 10:25 onwards. what you talking bro? lol

see the youtube comments too.

Nvm maybe u really cant percieve 60hz and 144hz, doesnt mean others cant too. its a massive difference.

"Of course, I would not know wad u mean by a "better gaming experience", hence I take issue with it coz taking the phrase literally implies that 144Hz is overall superior to 60Hz, which is not the case. "

Not the case? then why show me the video when the the guy in the video is trying to say that there is a difference lol? your video contradict what you are saying sia.. if based on your opinion, displaying 144 frames on a display is not superior over displaying 60 frames, i really dont know what to say haha...

longsiew

Me still using 60hz monitor.....

will only change when my current monitor up the lorry:vijayadmin:

enenyi

you dont need a video to prove anything plus did u even see the video? he STRONGLY recommend a 144hz for gaming. so EVEN the guy in the video is "justifying" that 144hz is better than 60. see from 10:25 onwards. what you talking bro? lol

see the youtube comments too.

Nvm maybe u really cant percieve 60hz and 144hz, doesnt mean others cant too. its a massive difference.

"Of course, I would not know wad u mean by a "better gaming experience", hence I take issue with it coz taking the phrase literally implies that 144Hz is overall superior to 60Hz, which is not the case. "

Not the case? then why show me the video when the the guy in the video is trying to say that there is a difference lol? your video contradict what you are saying sia..
Bro, u noe wad I'm trying to say?

I'm trying to say dun try to pick a fight with the other side just because u feel that your side is more justified? Everyone has different views on the 200Hz vs 144Hz vs 120Hz vs 60Hz vs 30Hz vs 15Hz refresh rate because we are wired differently. So can't u just answer the original question and move on? Do I need to justify why I find 60Hz better than 144Hz and why everyone should stick to 60Hz? No, because that would be asking for trouble. Which is wad u have been doing.

So if u can't even back off, I assume u r trying to gather people to bait a flame war with the other side. Coz clearly I was hitting out on your sweeping statement and not your stance/opinion.

mousemaniac

Bro, u noe wad I'm trying to say?

I'm trying to say dun try to pick a fight with the other side just because u feel that your side is more justified? Everyone has different views on the 200Hz vs 144Hz vs 120Hz vs 60Hz vs 30Hz vs 15Hz refresh rate because we are wired differently. So can't u just answer the original question and move on? Do I need to justify why I find 60Hz better than 144Hz and why everyone should stick to 60Hz? No, because that would be asking for trouble. Which is wad u have been doing.

So if u can't even back off, I assume u r trying to gather people to bait a flame war with the other side. Coz clearly I was hitting out on your sweeping statement and not your stance/opinion.

no la not gathering people to start any flame war. i didnt make any sweeping statement without based on facts. 144 frames is definitely better than 60 frames. if you dont agree, its like saying a gtx 1080 is not better than a gtx 970.

i am just saying through experience that 144hz is the way to go IF you are gaming thats all. Only critics and probably those who dont want to spend more money on a better refresh rate monitor will want to defend all day. Whos picking what fight here man.

koroshiya8

no la not gathering people to start any flame war. i didnt make any sweeping statement without based on facts. 144 frames is definitely better than 60 frames. if you dont agree, its like saying a gtx 1080 is not better than a gtx 970.

i am just saying through experience that 144hz is the way to go IF you are gaming thats all. Only critics and probably those who dont want to spend more money on a better refresh rate monitor will want to defend all day. Whos picking what fight here man.

I do see sweeping statements... are you saying ALL games are the same, thus

144hz is the way to go IF you are gaming thats all

anyway arguing is not my forte, just want to highlight that the stance u are taking is pretty extreme.. peace out.

Op_Valkyrie

I do see sweeping statements... are you saying ALL games are the same, thus

anyway arguing is not my forte, just want to highlight that the stance u are taking is pretty extreme.. peace out.

More like he already spent good money on a 144hz monitor... need the mass in here to justify his epeen... lol :s13:

VinceGan

144hz is the way to go IF you got the money to invest in it. That said, 60hz is till perfectly usable for most people. Once the price of 144hz panels come down within reach of the masses then I think most people would go for it wouldn't they?

Ironically for me, its not that I can't afford 144hz monitors... I got work and other commitments so I cannot convince myself that I would make full use of my investment. If a good deal comes along then I would jump straight to 144hz.

mousemaniac

oops typo. i mean fps games in general. sigh.

Okay la! 60hz is fine too. just get a 4k panel and have an "immersive" gaming experience. period.

no point stating an opinion here. 60hz 4k ftw.

but food for thougt, wonder why professional gamers all use high refresh rates monitors while casual gamers (obviously not good in games) just goes for picture quality/higher pixel count instead?

mousemaniac

More like he already spent good money on a 144hz monitor... need the mass in here to justify his epeen... lol :s13:

seriously whats all this sacarstic comments for? i dont need the mass to justify anything seriously. omg.. it is JUST an opinion.

speaks alot about your character. geez.

cannot believe from discussing refresh rates can now talk about what all this justifying bull crap. must be ppl like you like to stir. peace out.

royfrosty

lol, i guess you should read all your previous comments in this thread itself.

You are merely putting everybody down, saying that 144hz is indeed better for gaming than 60hz. Your perspective, not ours.

Thats why enenyi was trying to say that you are trying to put your point across to us, when it doesnt work that way.

Learn how to respect peoples need, not implying what you think to what peoples need. Two different things, and it is something where you must consider first before commenting.

For instance; what is with people buying a GTX 1080, and 60hz monitor? And commenting that they are "stupid"? Although you removed it and edited it, you did start to stir once.

PC hardwares, why Percy shushu can buy atas stuffs, despite till now i have yet to see a working pc from him. lol. Cause he can, and cause he prefer to do his rig slowly and enjoy his things. I respect that, and i feel that he can do better, but i dont force anything that i think he should do into him. Something like that lah.

dawntime

professional playing for $$$, 144 gives them the extra edge (however, still subjecting to skill level to say).

casual gamers (preference here) go for what they like because they are casual.

Edit: the casual in bold above simply means they are not playing for "importance" or any sort of that.... no offence

VinceGan

Errhh... think you just insulted a lot of people by saying casual gamers are not good at games. Most people just can't invest that much time and money into gaming, that's all. "Pro" gamers just happen to be either passionate enough (and wealthy enough) or lucky enough to not have to juggle other commitments in life.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.