Why I have not yet return my Samsung Note 7? Although I have been trying hard to return it....

jaredl

This post is to highlight my personal frustrations with Samsung Customer Service regarding my return and refund of my Note 7. I detailed my personal experiences and frustrations with Samsung ever since the start of this entire episode as it seems no one in Samsung is keen to help me and keep changing their instructions and pass me from one person to the next and at one point, even forgot about my question about returning the phone whilst I am overseas.
When the recall of the Note 7 occurred, I was overseas for a work trip but at that time, the airlines still allow passengers to travel with their Note 7 so long we switched off the phone and do not charge it while onboard. So I was able to come back to Singapore and exchange for a new Note 7 at Suntec City.

However when the next return was called, I was in Jakarta for a work trip and the airlines banned all passengers from bringing onboard their Note 7. This was disastrous so I emailed Samsung on what should I do to get my refund. Their reply was that they will arrange for their local Samsung Office to collect the phone from me and Samsung will refund to my Bank account. This was their first instruction, which was fine by me.. see the screenshot of their email.

Screen_Shot_2016_12_14_at_9_38_14_am.png

However when I replied to their email dear_customer@contactus.samsung.com, it constantly bounced back and I could not get a hold of samsung to collect my Note 7.

Screen_Shot_2016_12_14_at_9_43_33_am.png

After many failed attempts to contact dear_customer@contactus.samsung.com, I sent another message via their contact form and I made a long distance call back to Singapore Samsung and this is what I got. Seems that they have changed the email to note7return@samsung.com. This is frustrating as they changed email addresses in the midst of the correspondence. Fine, I can still tolerate this as it is a BIG company and how do i expect them to remember an email from a small customer like myself :(. So now I have wasted money and time to call them and all I got is a new email address to restart the whole conversation on how to return my Note 7!

Screen_Shot_2016_12_14_at_9_45_06_am.png

After a few more emails to note7return@samsung.com, they now tell me to return my Note 7 to a Samsung shop in Jakarta. This is their reply to me…

Screen_Shot_2016_12_14_at_9_51_50_am.png

So fine, they have decided they do not want to collect the Note 7 from a small time customer like me, who has been extremely inconvenienced by them. Following their instructions, I went to a Samsung Shop in Jakarta but was told by the shop that the Samsung Shops do not take returns and I have to go to their Samsung Service Center in Jakarta. This is the tipping point as I am in Jakarta for work and really do not have the time to travel here and there to return a phone due to no fault of mine.

I then sent an email back to Samsung to ask them for new instructions. The customer service went dead on me and there was no reply for several days until I message their Samsung Mobile Singapore Facebook account. Then 6 days later they sent me the below email and they have the cheek to ask me to call Samsung Indonesia myself to find out where to return.

Screen_Shot_2016_12_14_at_9_57_47_am.png

This is extremely frustrating as they have been changing their instructions on how to return the Note 7. From day 1 it was that they will arrange for a collection from me and it will be refunded to my bank account, then it changed to return to a Samsung Shop in Jakarta and they will have to make an appointment in Singapore to give me a cheque. And now I have to find out where to return the bloody Note 7 in Indonesia??????

This is extremely disconcerting and I have started asking the Samsung Mobile Singapore FB account about what to do. And I have made it clear that I would like to get my refund on the appointed date of 18th Dec and I am flying back on 17th Dec. I have also informed them that they should follow their original instruction of collecting the Note 7 from me in Jakarta as I cannot fly back with the phone nor can I return the phone to their Samsung Shops. Their reply was classic… they send me a templated answer that they have to collect the phone from me in order to pass me the cheque. WOW!!! as if I do not know that but why are you not telling me how you intend to collect the Note 7 from me???

Screen_Shot_2016_12_14_at_10_17_47_am.png

And below is their latest reply to me..after so many frustrating emails and messages, they still do not know that my Note 7 is not in Singapore!! There is obviously no continuity with their support staff and no one in Samsung management is checking on their Customer Service KPI. The only way for small time customers like myself to be heard is now to post my frustrations online so that hopefully someone up in their management can hear about it and do something about it.

Screen_Shot_2016_12_14_at_10_45_15_am.png

This is a post to express my personal frustration with Samsung for the Note 7 return and why the phone is still with me. I hope with this post, Samsung will finally refund me what I paid for the phone and the Samsung Concierge. What they cant refund me though is my time wasted and money wasted on transportation and phone calls and my heartache.

Someone in Samsung, please read this email and assist me. I am at my wits end.

Btw I have changed to a Google Pixel XL….

Anything_Whatever

This post is to highlight my personal frustrations with Samsung Customer Service regarding my return and refund of my Note 7. I detailed my personal experiences and frustrations with Samsung ever since the start of this entire episode as it seems no one in Samsung is keen to help me and keep changing their instructions and pass me from one person to the next and at one point, even forgot about my question about returning the phone whilst I am overseas.
When the recall of the Note 7 occurred, I was overseas for a work trip but at that time, the airlines still allow passengers to travel with their Note 7 so long we switched off the phone and do not charge it while onboard. So I was able to come back to Singapore and exchange for a new Note 7 at Suntec City.

However when the next return was called, I was in Jakarta for a work trip and the airlines banned all passengers from bringing onboard their Note 7. This was disastrous so I emailed Samsung on what should I do to get my refund. Their reply was that they will arrange for their local Samsung Office to collect the phone from me and Samsung will refund to my Bank account. This was their first instruction, which was fine by me.. see the screenshot of their email.

Screen_Shot_2016_12_14_at_9_38_14_am.png

However when I replied to their email dear_customer@contactus.samsung.com, it constantly bounced back and I could not get a hold of samsung to collect my Note 7.

Screen_Shot_2016_12_14_at_9_43_33_am.png

After many failed attempts to contact dear_customer@contactus.samsung.com, I sent another message via their contact form and I made a long distance call back to Singapore Samsung and this is what I got. Seems that they have changed the email to note7return@samsung.com. This is frustrating as they changed email addresses in the midst of the correspondence. Fine, I can still tolerate this as it is a BIG company and how do i expect them to remember an email from a small customer like myself :(. So now I have wasted money and time to call them and all I got is a new email address to restart the whole conversation on how to return my Note 7!

Screen_Shot_2016_12_14_at_9_45_06_am.png

After a few more emails to note7return@samsung.com, they now tell me to return my Note 7 to a Samsung shop in Jakarta. This is their reply to me…

Screen_Shot_2016_12_14_at_9_51_50_am.png

So fine, they have decided they do not want to collect the Note 7 from a small time customer like me, who has been extremely inconvenienced by them. Following their instructions, I went to a Samsung Shop in Jakarta but was told by the shop that the Samsung Shops do not take returns and I have to go to their Samsung Service Center in Jakarta. This is the tipping point as I am in Jakarta for work and really do not have the time to travel here and there to return a phone due to no fault of mine.

I then sent an email back to Samsung to ask them for new instructions. The customer service went dead on me and there was no reply for several days until I message their Samsung Mobile Singapore Facebook account. Then 6 days later they sent me the below email and they have the cheek to ask me to call Samsung Indonesia myself to find out where to return.

Screen_Shot_2016_12_14_at_9_57_47_am.png

This is extremely frustrating as they have been changing their instructions on how to return the Note 7. From day 1 it was that they will arrange for a collection from me and it will be refunded to my bank account, then it changed to return to a Samsung Shop in Jakarta and they will have to make an appointment in Singapore to give me a cheque. And now I have to find out where to return the bloody Note 7 in Indonesia??????

This is extremely disconcerting and I have started asking the Samsung Mobile Singapore FB account about what to do. And I have made it clear that I would like to get my refund on the appointed date of 18th Dec and I am flying back on 17th Dec. I have also informed them that they should follow their original instruction of collecting the Note 7 from me in Jakarta as I cannot fly back with the phone nor can I return the phone to their Samsung Shops. Their reply was classic… they send me a templated answer that they have to collect the phone from me in order to pass me the cheque. WOW!!! as if I do not know that but why are you not telling me how you intend to collect the Note 7 from me???

Screen_Shot_2016_12_14_at_10_17_47_am.png

And below is their latest reply to me..after so many frustrating emails and messages, they still do not know that my Note 7 is not in Singapore!! There is obviously no continuity with their support staff and no one in Samsung management is checking on their Customer Service KPI. The only way for small time customers like myself to be heard is now to post my frustrations online so that hopefully someone up in their management can hear about it and do something about it.

Screen_Shot_2016_12_14_at_10_45_15_am.png

This is a post to express my personal frustration with Samsung for the Note 7 return and why the phone is still with me. I hope with this post, Samsung will finally refund me what I paid for the phone and the Samsung Concierge. What they cant refund me though is my time wasted and money wasted on transportation and phone calls and my heartache.

Someone in Samsung, please read this email and assist me. I am at my wits end.

Btw I have changed to a Google Pixel XL….

"dear_" should not be part of the email address.
The email address should be customer@contactus.samsung.com

Maybe that could be the reason you cannot reach Samsung and the email bounced back ....

jaredl

The dear was not added by me.

Screen_Shot_2016_12_15_at_12_55_33_am.png

You can see from the sender address.. it was from samsung.

jaredl

Does anyone has their CEO or higher management email addresses? it would be a great help so that I can forward them my post...

renfred89

Does anyone has their CEO or higher management email addresses? it would be a great help so that I can forward them my post...

actually if you have followed closely, samsung did issue a faq on situation like yours. there were a few teething problems initially when the exchange/refund programme started but most of them resolved because i don't see them making noise already.

i empathise with you and therefore believe you are one of those who fell through the cracks and i think the samsung peeps could have seen your plight by now already.

give them a few more days to follow up the issue and let them get back to you.

jaredl

Thanks I do have the FAQ which was similar to the instruction from their first email.. actually that FAQ even state that we should just dispose of the phone and Samsung will refund me. But they changed their minds along the way and say they will collect from me ... Then changed to want me to return it.

Btw if you go to the Samsung mobile Singapore Facebook page and read some of the comments, you will see quite a few complains about the refund and people not getting their cheques....
actually if you have followed closely, samsung did issue a faq on situation like yours. there were a few teething problems initially when the exchange/refund programme started but most of them resolved because i don't see them making noise already.

i empathise with you and therefore believe you are one of those who fell through the cracks and i think the samsung peeps could have seen your plight by now already.

give them a few more days to follow up the issue and let them get back to you.

Teo Ming Ern

Really empathize with you bro... what a lousy feeling it must be to have the phone trapped in Indonesia with no way to return it.

jaredl

Thanks bro. You know ... It is appalling that their management is hiding behind the sub-par customer service in this whole episode. I have asked them for their higher management email and they asked me to send my queries thru the website contact form :( :(
Really empathize with you bro... what a lousy feeling it must be to have the phone trapped in Indonesia with no way to return it.

hoosdathu

today already 15dec, TS flying back from smokeyland to sinkieland on 17th.
and airline already issue warning no note 7 aboard, whether switched on or off.

yet samsung sinkie and samsung smokey like no urgency to resolve the matter...
no wonder TS jin moody :o

jaredl

Finally after a lot more messages and calls with Samsung, they agreed to refund me without me having to go find some service center in jakarta. I just have to dispose of the phone on my own.

I believe that it is due to me airing my issue online that got them to quickly resolve this case, as they suddenly called me after I send them the link to this post.

Samsung really needs to improve their customer support.... i do not think I will ever get another Samsung phone.

Suhaimi Jusoh

Finally after a lot more messages and calls with Samsung, they agreed to refund me without me having to go find some service center in jakarta. I just have to dispose of the phone on my own.

I believe that it is due to me airing my issue online that got them to quickly resolve this case, as they suddenly called me after I send them the link to this post.

Samsung really needs to improve their customer support.... i do not think I will ever get another Samsung phone.

-Hi There...don't be easily frustrated with what Samsung have done..Im also disappointed with the exchange programme myself but looking forward for the Ultimate Next NOTE 8...:s12:

jaredl

It took me a month of ridiculously poor customer service before I got easily frustrated :(. Haha.

Now that I am using the Google pixel XL.. I doubt I can go back to Samsung. The pixel is definitely one notch higher than the note 7 in terms of how intelligent it is.
-Hi There...don't be easily frustrated with what Samsung have done..Im also disappointed with the exchange programme myself but looking forward for the Ultimate Next NOTE 8...:s12:

swgj86

return the phone la. safety > having the best android phone.

Note7 is still the best android phone out there as of today.
that's why I am still using Note7 and refused to opt for refund.

If they really force update my software to stop charging, then yes, I will return and use back my current s7e.

the last time they force update to restrict 60% charging, my phone didn't get it as I blocked their update so not sure if the update to stop charging will go through.

Now my Note7 still can charge to full, 100%.:D
I think now I gonna temporarily ditch my iPhone 7 Plus for awhile and use my Note7 gao gao first before I say bye bye to my Note7 :(

noobekistan

I think now I gonna temporarily ditch my iPhone 7 Plus for awhile and use my Note7 gao gao first before I say bye bye to my Note7 :(

If you can afford another device, just keep the Note as a memento lah. I'm sure it makes for a beautiful paperweight. :s13:

An inherent flaw in its design means every Note is susceptible to blowing up. Don't use it until you say bye bye to a hand or leg...

noobekistan

INow that I am using the Google pixel XL.. I doubt I can go back to Samsung. The pixel is definitely one notch higher than the note 7 in terms of how intelligent it is.

I'm using using the Pixel XL too! Can't deny, it's damn good. And if I keep bloatware off I'm sure it'll always be smoother than any Samsung phone.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.