How to calculate book value (The real thing)

digitalism

Ok theory to calculate is total assets minus intangible assets and liabilities.

But practically can it be done by seeing a financial report?

eg. old chang kee (5ML)
PB Ratio 3.126
Present Price = 0.82
0.82/3.126 = 0.262316058 (Book value)

The above calculation if wrong please correct me.

now on their annual financial report, say for example I take their 2012 one (Balance sheet pg 35) which are the numbers to focus and take to calculate the book value?

2012 Annual Report

Need help on how to do this practically thanks in advance!

Perisher

TS, mind if I move this to Stocks, Shares and Indices forum? There got more interest in stocks.

henrylbh

Nowadays, BV sometimes known NAV includes intangible assets. No need to calculate. NAV is same as Shareholders' Equity disclosed in financial statement. If BV per share is not given, just divide it by the number of shares, either before and after dilution. But info on dilution is lacking.

wahkao3

use these numbers
these are book value
EoJNSyJ.png

lbs

But practically can it be done by seeing a financial report?

eg. old chang kee (5ML)
PB Ratio 3.126
Present Price = 0.82
0.82/3.126 = 0.262316058 (Book value)

The above calculation if wrong please correct me.

now on their annual financial report, say for example I take their 2012 one (Balance sheet pg 35) which are the numbers to focus and take to calculate the book value?

2012 Annual Report

:s13: 2012 Annual Report as opposed to 2017. home work siboh!? :s13:

take total assets - total liabilities - (not needed here as there is none, FYI only) non-controlling interest

(15.154 + 19.38) - (10.701 + 1.373)
= 24.282 (nicely calculated for you under "Total Equity" already)

Page 80, total shares outstanding: 95,555,000

24.282m / 95.555m = $0.2562 a share.

:o

Asphodeli

TS, i hope this is school work...I personally don't bother calculating and trust the annual report numbers - assuming there are no opinions raised by the auditors of course. :s22:

Mr.Canberra

Talking about Old Chang Kee. Yesterday pass by one kiosk and saw the curry puff price at S$1.50.

I still remember about 15 years ago around S$0.90 nia. :s13:

Perisher

Talking about Old Chang Kee. Yesterday pass by one kiosk and saw the curry puff price at S$1.50.

I still remember about 15 years ago around S$0.90 nia. :s13:

I still remember $2-$2.50 was the norm for hawker food.

lbs

times have changed. most of us want better quality of life too, i guess. there are still ANANAS chicken rice but i guess most of us hardly eat there.

Mr.Canberra

On average S$2.50 hawker food still can find in those older estates. S$2.00 I think very hard to find liao. Ananas chicken rice at MRT stations also cost S$2.20 but the portion is so damn small! :s22:

Over priced and not nice... Try Richie curry puff

You also pop up here! Hahaha today never go Johor Bahru to eat KFC meh?

times have changed. most of us want better quality of life too, i guess. there are still ANANAS chicken rice but i guess most of us hardly eat there.

I beg to differ. With more disposable income = better quality of life. If the wall exterior of a HDB block looks old or no lift landing on every floor. That does not mean we eat lousy food at home every day. You can ask those brought up in the 60s and 70s and ask them compare the purchasing power then and now. Asset enhancement and upgrading is just a political propaganda.

I do not mind higher cost of living but the wages must keep up what. If not might as well make do with third world economy standard in the 70s or 80s. 1 person work can feed a household of 8 persons. Still can afford to buy HDB 3 or 4-Room flat sia!

Parents x 2
Husband breadwinner x 1 and Housewife x 1
Children x 4

The million dollar question is can you do that in 2017?! :s13:

I am speaking in context to the pioneer generation seniors and people with no higher education background. Blue collar workers. Treat this group better please. Don't need what Pioneer Generation package, GST Rebate, Workfare handouts at the expense of taxpayers. Just pay a decent wage!

In present day we can only increase our purchasing power by crossing over to Malaysia to eat KFC but not in Singapore! :D

Mr.Canberra

OLD CHANG KEE LTD (5ML.SI)

Dividend Yield 3.66%

30 Nov, 2016 0.015 Dividend
8 Aug, 2016 0.015 Dividend
30 Nov, 2015 0.015 Dividend
6 Aug, 2015 0.015 Dividend
28 Nov, 2014 0.015 Dividend
4 Aug, 2014 0.015 Dividend
2 Aug, 2013 0.015 Dividend
6 Aug, 2012 0.01 Dividend
13 May, 2011 0.01 Dividend
18 May, 2010 0.01 Dividend
19 May, 2009 0.005 Dividend

xersion

On average S$2.50 hawker food still can find in those older estates. S$2.00 I think very hard to find liao. Ananas chicken rice at MRT stations also cost S$2.20 but the portion is so damn small! :s22:

You also pop up here! Hahaha today never go Johor Bahru to eat KFC meh?

I beg to differ. With more disposable income = better quality of life. If the wall exterior of a HDB block looks old or no lift landing on every floor. That does not mean we eat lousy food at home every day. You can ask those brought up in the 60s and 70s and ask them compare the purchasing power then and now. Asset enhancement and upgrading is just a political propaganda.

I do not mind higher cost of living but the wages must keep up what. If not might as well make do with third world economy standard in the 70s or 80s. 1 person work can feed a household of 8 persons. Still can afford to buy HDB 3 or 4-Room flat sia!

Parents x 2
Husband breadwinner x 1 and Housewife x 1
Children x 4

The million dollar question is can you do that in 2017?! :s13:

I am speaking in context to the pioneer generation seniors and people with no higher education background. Blue collar workers. Treat this group better please. Don't need what Pioneer Generation package, GST Rebate, Workfare handouts at the expense of taxpayers. Just pay a decent wage!

In present day we can only increase our purchasing power by crossing over to Malaysia to eat KFC but not in Singapore! :D
So hot... Stay at home enjoy aircon better

Sent from OPPO X9079 using GAGT

digitalism

:s13: 2012 Annual Report as opposed to 2017. home work siboh!? :s13:

take total assets - total liabilities - (not needed here as there is none, FYI only) non-controlling interest

(15.154 + 19.38) - (10.701 + 1.373)
= 24.282 (nicely calculated for you under "Total Equity" already)

Page 80, total shares outstanding: 95,555,000

24.282m / 95.555m = $0.2562 a share.

:o

Thanks for the help, I was playing with the Warren Buffett Intrinsic Value Calculator and finding value companies randomly. Anyway OCK was just an example, but it'll be a great help for some long term play.

In a way is a personal "homework" for FA play.

havetheveryfun

Ananas sell so cheap also unable to survive. Seen a few close down already

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.