Johor Bahru - share is caring

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

powerfulforce

im explaining y its just plain stupid and impractical to take taxi/uber/grab from ksl to jb sentral, with security being one of the reasons.

ksl bus pickup point itself always have guard looking. pickpocket wan strike also tough.

replies in red. alot of ur points are from the inability to read properly.

Well, snide comments aside. Clearly you are the one with the handicap.

Like i said, anyone on that bus can pickpocket you at any stage and time. Doesnt have to be right in front of the guard, EXACTLY where the guard is standing and EXACTLY when you are getting off.

Similarly, if you are carrying alot, boarding a bus is tough. But clearing customs? Really? i have never had a problem clearing customs even with a full backpack and plastic bags on either hands. I do not see your reference here.

Lastly, if you want to be pedantic about KSL to JB sentral, stick to your bus rides and i will have my cab rides. At least i am aware it would be comfortable, clean and safe. Less competition that would drive up the surge in the area anyway.

powerfulforce

usually i will insist that the driver to drive in to the carpark area, outside the supermarket. I will call them and ask them about it. if they don't i'll cancel and book another one.

Kinda risky to go out to the main road at night. If going with group of friends still ok, solo better not.

Well yeah! i was with my girlfriend through out. 2 of us around so it should not be that bad. I always made sure i was on the side with a healthy human traffic aka other people waiting for their ubers and grabcars (overheard 2 girls talking about waiting at some place).

colton0

im explaining y its just plain stupid and impractical to take taxi/uber/grab from ksl to jb sentral, with security being one of the reasons.

ksl bus pickup point itself always have guard looking. pickpocket wan strike also tough.

replies in red. alot of ur points are from the inability to read properly.

Yes, there's guard around the pickup point. Anyway since he likes pte cars as he is time poverty let him be.

The reason he is so worked up is because of being called plain stupid(which i agree for that journey). Thus his counter defense.

razorlala

Well, snide comments aside. Clearly you are the one with the handicap.

Like i said, anyone on that bus can pickpocket you at any stage and time. Doesnt have to be right in front of the guard, EXACTLY where the guard is standing and EXACTLY when you are getting off.

Similarly, if you are carrying alot, boarding a bus is tough. But clearing customs? Really? i have never had a problem clearing customs even with a full backpack and plastic bags on either hands. I do not see your reference here.

Lastly, if you want to be pedantic about KSL to JB sentral, stick to your bus rides and i will have my cab rides. At least i am aware it would be comfortable, clean and safe. Less competition that would drive up the surge in the area anyway.
says the one that claim he finds it tough carrying a full backpack and plastic bags on either hands up a bus. clearly, i am the one with the handicap :s13::s13::s13:
cmon la, u can carry all ur sht to clear at custom, cannot carry the same sht up a bus? between sg and my custom that road how u travel? grab/uber also ar? or u commando walk at side of road cause u cannot carry it up the bus? :s13:

wa now say until inside bus can get pickpocket, captain oblivious. u must be a special kind of dumbfk. uber sibeh safe 1. car confirm clean af. driver confirm sibeh honest also.
to think your justification for uber/grab over bus is cause on the bus can get pickpocket and some sibeh lame bs :s13:
u stay at home better la hor. later u go toilet ppl grope your boobs how?

Yes, there's guard around the pickup point. Anyway since he likes pte cars as he is time poverty let him be.

The reason he is so worked up is because of being called plain stupid(which i agree for that journey). Thus his counter defense.
not even sure if taking uber/grab saves u that much time lol. like only once on a ph day waited 5~10mins for bus. :s22::s22:

Habrosus

... There is a Grab pickup point that i noticed at the JB Sentral side for anyone attempting to Grab out of JB Sentral.

Care to share where exactly is this Grab pickup point at JB Sentral? Would this be the side facing City Square, or the other side that's facing the CIQ building?

I've only noticed a Grab sign at Komtar JBCC.

Thanks! :)

koolaid

Heard about the Malaysia TP crackdown on SG cars for unpaid summons last Fri/Sat..anyone keneh?

Sent from HUAWEI MHA-L29 using GAGT

hope no one here kena man...

do also keep the receipt in your car once u pay the fine at axs. someone told me they screwed up and claim there was still an outstanding from the same offense even after he had paid the fine months ago. not sure how true but good to be be prepared.

daxiong88

Care to share where exactly is this Grab pickup point at JB Sentral? Would this be the side facing City Square, or the other side that's facing the CIQ building?

I've only noticed a Grab sign at Komtar JBCC.

Thanks! :)

which part of Komtar JBCC?

daxiong88

Does anybody know the name of the pickup/drop off place just in front of the CIQ checkpoint bus terminal? You can buy a taxi voucher there too.

Habrosus

which part of Komtar JBCC?
Somewhere end of Komtar JBCC driveway (below the bridge, facing the CIQ building). The Grab sign "disappeared" for a while, then it came back. Not sure about now.

Does anybody know the name of the pickup/drop off place just in front of the CIQ checkpoint bus terminal? You can buy a taxi voucher there too.
I just call it a "taxi kiosk". Can't find anything labelled on Google Map.

It's on the left of what Google Map labelled as "CIQ Drop-Off/Pick-Up (Jln Jim Quee)", while the JB Sentral bus station is on the right.

trd2970

hope no one here kena man...

do also keep the receipt in your car once u pay the fine at axs. someone told me they screwed up and claim there was still an outstanding from the same offense even after he had paid the fine months ago. not sure how true but good to be be prepared.
Yeah agree... better have a soft copy also as backup

Sent from HUAWEI MHA-L29 using GAGT

Zaalaa

Have alot of fines.

Was stopped on the highway near singapore from melaka.

Police use their device to check. but nothing. LOL. :s13:

koolaid

in jb today to groom my car.

wash, claybar, polish, 3 layer wax and 1 sealant. using autoglym for polish n wax. and some jap sealant. all in rm250. not bad.

wcmonk

hi ,

can someone recommend any good bkt near city square or place which can reach by bus?
i usually only go ksl n city sq nia but there not much good bkt, so far only know of one which is opposite ksl mall

beanstalk6

hi ,

can someone recommend any good bkt near city square or place which can reach by bus?
i usually only go ksl n city sq nia but there not much good bkt, so far only know of one which is opposite ksl mall

You can scout the area closer to the causeway along Jln Meldrum. Not certain if those in these coffeeshops are good though.

Handsome_guy

hi ,

The one opposite ksl lousy one. Not nice.

You go to this one at taman sentosa. It is those in the terrace house.

kuehteow

hi ,

You can try this WahMei Bak Kut Teh. It should be walking distance from City Square i think. I drive there to eat once. I remember the BKT is brew using charcoal and i find it reasonable but not exceptional.

Address: Malaysia, 146, Jalan Lumba Kuda, Bukit Chagar, 80300 Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia

It is a corner shop solely own by them. The shop beside it looks nice as well but i never really try.

Habrosus

You can try this WahMei Bak Kut Teh. It should be walking distance from City Square i think. I drive there to eat once. I remember the BKT is brew using charcoal and i find it reasonable but not exceptional.

Address: Malaysia, 146, Jalan Lumba Kuda, Bukit Chagar, 80300 Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia

It is a corner shop solely own by them. The shop beside it looks nice as well but i never really try.
Thought I'd look up WahMei BKT out of curiousity and yes, have come across it when I was browsing JohorKaki's blog. :)

http://johorkaki.blogspot.com/2013/04/hwa-mei-b-bak-kut-teh-in-johor-bahru.html

Thanks for the recommendation! I might stroll over one day. :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.