Is linksys support non existence in Singapore?

rootz

Dear all,

Just want to check for feedback on linksys support.
Recently bought a EA9500 and due to some issue, need to get it replaced. The linksys rep (800 120 4280) said that they will send the replacement to me and it was mentioned a few weeks back.

Last night, when I called the number again, the rep said that they can't get a reply from the Singapore Rep to carry out the necessary exchange.

I'm like, hallo? Can't u get yr own ppl?

As the issue had been dragging since Feb, would like to know what's the understanding for support from Linksys.

Appreciate all feedback.

Thanks and regard.

renfred89

Linksys has no local support. You have to send the router back to them once you have received your replacement..

Dear all,

Recently bought a EA9500 and due to some issue, need to get it replaced. The linksys rep (800 120 4280) said that they will send the replacement to me and it was mentioned a few weeks back.

Last night, when I called the number again, the rep said that they can't get a reply from the Singapore Rep to carry out the necessary exchange.

As the issue had been dragging since Feb, would like to know what's the understanding for support from Linksys.

Appreciate all feedback.

Thanks and regard.

yusoffb01

Go call the sg number

I'm like, hallo? why u call 800 number?

mrkiasu

Good to know. Time to re-think about this brand.

Dear all,

Appreciate all feedback.

Thanks and regard.

localITguy

Go call the sg number

I'm like, hallo? why u call 800 number?

Tech Support: 800 120 4280 is the singapore number.

how about u do research before replying

Thanks TS for the heads up. will avoid linksys now

renfred89

EA9500 like a lot of problem leh, the famous boot loop issues.

by right the latest update on the firmware seeks to address this issue and some other stability fixes leh.. are you sure you're referring to this current update?

rootz

Tks all. Just very upset that it's taking such a long time to get it done.

kashix

by right the latest update on the firmware seeks to address this issue and some other stability fixes leh.. are you sure you're referring to this current update?

I heard many horror stories from friends with regards to their products. Won't be my priority if I'm in the market to look for a router.

kashix

Nowadays Netgear is the better buy.

Not necessarily, you look at their web interface you will really think what is this lol. I have 1 nighthawk, I see the UI, I think to myself what the hell is this. Specs wise they are good but pricing too ex. But jin bad their UI. best UI I seen so far is Asus one.

renfred89

I heard many horror stories from friends with regards to their products. Won't be my priority if I'm in the market to look for a router.

i see... apart from the poor local technical support, in the market only asus and linksys are comparable in terms of experience and firmware support. as asus has taken a downhill since ac87u, i'm also starting to look elsewhere already. Haven't tried netgear before but i have to agree the UI a bit unfriendly.

TPLink can be an option too, for people who don't mind about the lack of AP mode support on UI level.

kashix

i see... apart from the poor local technical support, in the market only asus and linksys are comparable in terms of experience and firmware support. as asus has taken a downhill since ac87u, i'm also starting to look elsewhere already. Haven't tried netgear before but i have to agree the UI a bit unfriendly.

TPLink can be an option too, for people who don't mind about the lack of AP mode support on UI level.

I feel you bro, Asus quite solid really pity the firmware only. Best router I used so far is the AC88U, you beat me to death, I won't upgrade firmware. Staying 3941 till I change router or until AC88U spoilt HAHAHA. That time was considering X10 netgear but review say not worth the $ so skipped it. Linksys I don't dare to try, honestly. BOH choice liao market.

I used the nighthawk, I shocked, can't even change channel bandwidth. Everything auto one WDF lol!

Rock-kun

Not necessarily, you look at their web interface you will really think what is this lol. I have 1 nighthawk, I see the UI, I think to myself what the hell is this. Specs wise they are good but pricing too ex. But jin bad their UI. best UI I seen so far is Asus one.

Real men configure their routers with command line via a serial terminal.

kashix

Real men configure their routers with command line via a serial terminal.

To each his own, you prefer CLI is your problem. You expect end users to go learn how to configure via terminal???? You ok BOH? Web interface for router configuration is not here for no reason, thx :)

Rock-kun

To each his own, you prefer CLI is your problem. You expect end users to go learn how to configure via terminal???? You ok BOH? Web interface for router configuration is not here for no reason, thx :)

There's also a reason enterprise-grade routers are all CLI only. :s8:

kashix

There's also a reason enterprise-grade routers are all CLI only. :s8:

You know how to read? We talking about consumer grade or enterprise grade?????? Don't self pwn yourself?? LOL This is not edmw :) no one will clap for you :) jokes

cstanhwz

Using EA8500 and so far quite stable. Have not upgraded to the latest firmware yet.

One thing about Linksys is firmware support is very slow.

And not much advance feature in the UI (some even hidden).

Other than that, the UI is one of the easiest to use and set.

The EA9500 with latest firmware should be quite OK.

It used to have the IPTV issue last year but the Aug 2016 firmware already solved. The Mar 2017 firmware added enhanced stability.

kashix

Using EA8500 and so far quite stable. Have not upgraded to the latest firmware yet.

One thing about Linksys is firmware support is very slow.

And not much advance feature in the UI (some even hidden).

Other than that, the UI is one of the easiest to use and set.

The EA9500 with latest firmware should be quite OK.

It used to have the IPTV issue last year but the Aug 2016 firmware already solved.

Thx for yr feedback, this post much more constructive compared to what nonsense given earlier by some joker lol @_@

rootz

Haiz. Just tried again yest but still the same issue. Wait and wait.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.