Electric toothbrush

WussRedXLi

Someone mentioned earlier that Sonicare takes care of the interdental areas (between teeth) better than Oral B.

From the NCBI researches, that found not to be true.

nomoreliaola

Ordered a 2500pink and 3000blue for 87GBP.. Not the cheapest but compared to sgp, its,good enough. Qn: what kind of brush is good? Cross action or precise or ? I have seen CK selling like quite reaaonable. Any alternate views? Ps: Watson's selling a 1000pink for 149 which is a marked up of $50 over blue, all in the name of mothers day.. Pui

Sent from Samsung SM-N910G using GAGT

-Zeora

Using electric + origator. Best combo. Teeth super clean now. Electric toothbrush is not just because lazy use manual but about being thorough cleaning and also most will lazy brush 2mins at least for me with manual.

Sent from Moi 1+2 using GAGT

Litmuss

I just tried my spare low end soniccare that I got as a gift from buying printer some time back. I have been using oralb 3000 series all along until the batt life kind of getting weaker from each charge that it can no longer hold the same anymore.

The first thing I experience is I didn't have to put too much pressure of the teeth and gums to get them cleaned like I did with oralb. Seems kind of strange that vibration could actually get the job done compared to oscillating action.

And it does really seem to clean the gaps between teeth much better.

Maybe I need to monitor a few more days and see how it goes.

LoneReaction

Read the last 20 pages and still clueless.

Can anyone recommend a high performance electric toothbrush? Preferably using AA rechargeable and have cheap replacement heads.

mindgamey

Ordered a 2500pink and 3000blue for 87GBP.. Not the cheapest but compared to sgp, its,good enough. Qn: what kind of brush is good? Cross action or precise or ? I have seen CK selling like quite reaaonable. Any alternate views? Ps: Watson's selling a 1000pink for 149 which is a marked up of $50 over blue, all in the name of mothers day.. Pui

Sent from Samsung SM-N910G using GAGT

Cross action for general cleaning.

Marketing materials say it's better at cleaning gum line.

mindgamey

Read the last 20 pages and still clueless.

Can anyone recommend a high performance electric toothbrush? Preferably using AA rechargeable and have cheap replacement heads.

Oral B 2000, 2500 or 3000.
2000 and 2500 is the same except for travel case.

2000 and 3000 is the same except for additional node for whitening and a extra whitening head.

Buy from ebay UK or Amazon UK.

Avoid battery operated toothbrush, too weak and only had 2D clean vs 3D clean.

Avoid series 1000 and below, oscillations of only 20000 vs 40000 and lack pressure sensor.

Value for money is 2000, 2500, 3000.

Beware of fake replacement heads, buy from reputable shops such as Amazon UK.

WussRedXLi

I just tried my spare low end soniccare that I got as a gift from buying printer some time back. I have been using oralb 3000 series all along until the batt life kind of getting weaker from each charge that it can no longer hold the same anymore.

The first thing I experience is I didn't have to put too much pressure of the teeth and gums to get them cleaned like I did with oralb. Seems kind of strange that vibration could actually get the job done compared to oscillating action.

And it does really seem to clean the gaps between teeth much better.

Maybe I need to monitor a few more days and see how it goes.

If you are not using a water flosser/oral irrigator, you should. All these toothbrush A vs toothbrush B vs manual brushing vs ABC, well perhaps they have differences...but properly techniqued oral irrigation/water flossing, once you get the hang of it, is really a totally new league altogether. The difference is really remakarble, if one can tahan the first 2 weeks or so of bleeding and continue to press on to learn how to do it properly. Eg head bowed into the basin, purse your lips or semi open also can, if you need a mirror to check your progress....put one into the basin (people often make the mistake of checking at the main mirror on the wall, bad bad mistake).

If you have periodontal issues, you should try out that special pik pocket rubber tip. Really no horse run. It's a bit slow though (purposely designed that way as stock, but i modified it so that it operates faster, for those interested just do a search on my posts in this thread), but extremely effective and goes very deep.

Actually I don't really have periodontal issues coz nothing is inflammed everything swee swee coz i even self ultrasonic scale subgingivally and supragingivally, just that i have a problem/difficult-to-clean area with the wisdom tooth, but swapping between a Waterpik WF-03 with pik pocket tip and the PAnasonic with a normal jet tip....both have their own naunces in cleaning.

Eg, my Waterpik WF-03 + pik pocket can flush out more "bad smells" from my 2 impacted wisdom teeth, esp for 1 which has folds and a deep pocket (actually it's a mix between a fold and a pocket).....even after being cleaned with the Panasonic.

My that particular fold has a pocket depth of about 6-7mm when i probe with my dental probe. As mentikoned it's not a periodontal pocket, coz if it is, it would have healed long time ago.

WussRedXLi

Oral B 2000, 2500 or 3000.
2000 and 2500 is the same except for travel case.

2000 and 3000 is the same except for additional node for whitening and a extra whitening head.

Buy from ebay UK or Amazon UK.

Avoid battery operated toothbrush, too weak and only had 2D clean vs 3D clean.

Avoid series 1000 and below, oscillations of only 20000 vs 40000 and lack pressure sensor.

Value for money is 2000, 2500, 3000.

Beware of fake replacement heads, buy from reputable shops such as Amazon UK.

The differences between 20k and 40k pulsations/min doesn't seem to be a lot. I posted before a few NCBI articles that done research on them (scientific randomized controlled trials).

That said, nowadays the price difference between Pro 600/1000 vs Pro 2000 and above isn't much as well....so people may still be more comfy in getting the 2500 etc. I used to get my Pro 600 for just $25 shipped from Amazon UK, really brainer. Item cost was 12.50 pounds and shipping was just additional 1 pound+ when tagging to an existing order.

You pop 2pcs into the mouth (remember not to press too hard to prevent enamel erosion) still cheaper than the ebay 2500. 17600 oscillations/min and 40000 pulsations/min anyone? :s13:

But that deal is now gone. Wanted to buy a couple more.....
Kids shutting between 2 places, so need twice the number anyway....

Pro 600/650/690 is 8800 and 20k.
Pro 500, 450 is 7600 and 20k.

RxJ7zE1.jpg

Well, ok....now it's 16.64 pounds (after minusing the VAT when you checkout, checkout page can see..... my above 12.50 pounds figure is after deducting the VAT for international orders. (17.5%?)

Amazon lists it as 19.97 now.
So not too bad. The last time i saw it when i wanted to re-order, it was listed in the 20+ pounds range. Bo hua.

Oral-B Pro 600 White and Clean Electric Rechargeable Toothbrush Powered by Braun, Ships with a UK 2 pin plug
£16.64 - Quantity: 3
Sold by: Amazon EU S.a.r.L.

WussRedXLi

Since thread is active again...reposting this.

The difference(s) between the ORal B models is like this.

Oral B DB4010 / type 3733. The 2 x AA battery operated ver found on Amazon etc.
Oscillations per min = 7600
No pulsations/vibrations. ie no sonic clean of sorts

Oral B DB4510K. The 2x AA battery operated ver Pro-health Stages series. 5yr+ as recommended
Oscillations per min = 5600
No pulsations

Oral B Pro-heath Stages. 1 x AA 3yr+ as recommended, the ones with Jake, Monster inc, frozen, star wars.
Oscillations per min = unknown. No pulsations.

Oral B 450
Osc/min = 7600
Pulsations per min = 20000

Oral B 500.
Osc/min = 7600
Pulsations / min = 20000

Oral B 600/650
Osc/min = 7600 or 8800 (unsure)
Pulsations/min = 20000

Oral B 690 (Euro ver)
Osc/min = 8800
Pulsations/min = 20000

Oral B 1000
Osc/min = 8800
Vibrations/min = 20000

Oral B 2000, 2500, 3000, 5000, 7000.....
Osc/min = 8800
Pulsations / min = 40000
Have additional features like bluetooth, timer, different vibration modes for better feel etc.
(some people might have recessed gum line, exposed dentine coz fugged up oral health, so these electric toothbrushes if not tuned down might be uncomfortable in the first few weeks/months of usage until it heals with improved oral health.

Oral B Vitality
Osc / min = 7600
No vibrations

WussRedXLi

Using electric + origator. Best combo. Teeth super clean now. Electric toothbrush is not just because lazy use manual but about being thorough cleaning and also most will lazy brush 2mins at least for me with manual.

Sent from Moi 1+2 using GAGT

Really glad to see more pax doing water flossing. And remember, it must be regular too. If you can, do it twice a day.

There is no such thing as water flossing too much, compared to brushing (can happen with brushing though be it manual or electric, oral B or sonicare or Crest etc). Been doing 3-4 times a day depending on weekday or weekend......for many many years liao. The good thing is that it's very efficient, no sweat.....doesn't take much time. A 2 reservoir refill with a portable is under 2 minutes. Even a chop chop 45 seconds single reservoir blast is fine at times.
If you have AC power in the toilet and can do countertop models, lagi better.

My MIL (close to 60 yrs old) just came back from the dentist today.......she scared liao originally tot needed to pluck out 4 teeth.
She's gonna be conscientiously using that Oral B 690 that i got her last year.... (PIL got the Oral B AA DB4510 but spoil liao coz dropped on the floor and something went haywire inside, cannot vibrate easily).

So far so good, got all the pax at my side (parents, in law, kids) to be using electric toothbrush, 8 of them..... and 3 water flossers (much harder to convince to do water flossing due to the blood involved initially)

mindgamey

The differences between 20k and 40k pulsations/min doesn't seem to be a lot. I posted before a few NCBI articles that done research on them (scientific randomized controlled trials).

That said, nowadays the price difference between Pro 600/1000 vs Pro 2000 and above isn't much as well....so people may still be more comfy in getting the 2500 etc. I used to get my Pro 600 for just $25 shipped from Amazon UK, really brainer. Item cost was 12.50 pounds and shipping was just additional 1 pound+ when tagging to an existing order.

You pop 2pcs into the mouth (remember not to press too hard to prevent enamel erosion) still cheaper than the ebay 2500. 17600 oscillations/min and 40000 pulsations/min anyone? :s13:

But that deal is now gone. Wanted to buy a couple more.....
Kids shutting between 2 places, so need twice the number anyway....

Pro 600/650/690 is 8800 and 20k.
Pro 500, 450 is 7600 and 20k.

RxJ7zE1.jpg

Well, ok....now it's 16.64 pounds (after minusing the VAT when you checkout, checkout page can see..... my above 12.50 pounds figure is after deducting the VAT for international orders. (17.5%?)

Amazon lists it as 19.97 now.
So not too bad. The last time i saw it when i wanted to re-order, it was listed in the 20+ pounds range. Bo hua.

Oral-B Pro 600 White and Clean Electric Rechargeable Toothbrush Powered by Braun, Ships with a UK 2 pin plug
£16.64 - Quantity: 3
Sold by: Amazon EU S.a.r.L.

The key difference is the pressure sensor for 2000 and above.

Never did I know I used to brush too hard only after I have the 2500. This feature is more important.

I would say the slight premium is worth it for 2000 and a travel case for 2500 if you travel frequently.

faded11

How long do you all take to fully charge 2500 from no batt?

It takes me more 12 hours

tremor

Just bought pro 7000 black from best Denki for $199, seems to be promotion from Braun.

So far so good. A bit painful cos not used to it so I used sensitive mode and feel much better. It's Bluetooth enabled but got a small display included that is linked to toothbrush that shows u time, mode and area to brush.

WussRedXLi

The key difference is the pressure sensor for 2000 and above.

Never did I know I used to brush too hard only after I have the 2500. This feature is more important.

I would say the slight premium is worth it for 2000 and a travel case for 2500 if you travel frequently.

Yes, for excessive pressure is bad, there were already quite a few informational posts/videos early in the thread about that.

Been using electrics for ~ 20 years, heng all along the pressure was correct/not excessive. I believe i got the knowledge when i was still visiting the denstist conscientiously when still schooling and before NS....so all along i know not to overbrush with excessive force, not use a front-back sawing motion etc.....

It's not a problem that only plagues electrics, but manual toothbrush as well.
ie brushing. Some pax may even be using a front-back sawing motion with an electric, die hard habits. Of coz for this, no tech feature to help in this technique aspect. :D

Heh ...actually it's easy, let me share with others a "cheap" trick regarding this if their toothbrush has got no pressure sensor (and really, with an electric you really ought not to overbrush ).
Just go to Best Denki and know how much pressure to use then.....so many for you to test drive on the pressure :s13: Of coz not asking anyone to put in their mouths! :eek:

Either that or do this....
For newbies, just grasp the electric toothbrush with your 5 fingers tips, don't use your palm or grab. This way you won't be able to apply too much pressure, not in any comfortable manner coz if you do it'd slip. Over time you'd learn the correct pressure to use.

On a similar note, those using oral irrigator/water flossers also need to learn on the technique. No tech features to help out there.....and incorrect usage means inability to properly clean etc.

How long do you all take to fully charge 2500 from no batt?
It takes me more 12 hours

Yep.....actually closer to 24hrs. But just charge once every 2-3 days.
If you charge daily, you'd notice that the first 2-min run right after you have more or less fully charge has a fair bit of extra performance VS subsequent 2-min runs. Due to the not very tightly voltage regulated curve.
Philips sonicare is very well voltage regulated, same performance across the whole discharge curve.

Am not sure if this kind of charge-discharge cycle would wear out the NiMH faster or not.

How come electric toothbrush all still running on NiMH?

Beats me! Somemore Oral B uses 3/4 length sized "AA" NiMH......discourage self-DIY change. Ebay got sell 3/4 though. I think 5000 and above use Li-ion.

edit - actually you shd change that to Oral B. PHilips is on Li-ion 18650....maybe not all but most lah.

IcYFl4mEz

where you all get your head replacement cheapest? for Oral B 5000, taobao one seems fake

WussRedXLi

where you all get your head replacement cheapest? for Oral B 5000, taobao one seems fake

Amazon. UK is cheaper than US store.

qoo10 is your next best bet if you are really price sensitive esp if you are not getting a lot of stuff to share shipping from the UK store, but you'd need that initial leap of faith and some homework.

I bought 18 brush heads when i bought from Amazon UK my Waterik WF-03. :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.