Hundred Palms Residences

Iceocto

I'm also interested in HPR. The indicative pricing show quite high now. If more than $800 psf for this location, worth? For 4bd, will be $1m+ *considering again

tokidoki_sg

I think should be able to sell well if the price is not too high. Any where in hougang area can considered rather near to down town le...has bus access is good enough. The developer also quite ok. At least not from China. I look at the one Canberra ec's Incident where the whole kitchen cabinets can collapse. U can imagine how other residents felt, I can't imagine after 5 years, what else can collapse...ha..ha.....the Chinese developer is really terrible!

Kitchen cabinets dropping is from their private condo project (Canberra Residences) not EC. So if PTE quality like ****, EC likely worst.

grix17

Actually OneCanberra and Canberra Residences are both by MCC Land. HPR is by Hoi Hup so I don't see the connection.

Defects are generally hit-and-miss.

Iceocto

Got the indicative pricing for HPR yesterday.
3BR Starting From $715K - $975K
4BR Starting From $1030K - $1130K
5BR Starting From $1188K - $1288K

Read some where that these pricing are for 1st and 2nd storey. If that's the case, I might have to skip HPR. It's really expensive, but is it worth?

I'm 2nd timer hdb upgrader, staying at Serangoon Nth Ave 1 (quite near to HPR site). My 5rm flat is very convenient (amenities just across the road) and high floor. Only thing is, my flat is 31yr old. We read somewhere that pricing will be affected when the flat reach it's 40yr, so got me thinking of selling the flat and upgrade.

We bought this flat in 06/07 and left a bit of loan (can pay off using our cpf bal) now. The agent computed for us, based on HPR 4bd, we need to fork at least 170k cash as our cpf not a lot (we empty it for the hdb loan 2/3yrs back). Now we are quite comfortable with a bit of cash, should we dump our savings in HPR?

Some of my thoughts:
HPR is not very convenient, especially no side gate. Need to walk at least 10mins (slow type for my parents) to reach hougang1 to buy food or for amenities. If not, need to take bus at least 20mins to else where.

My kids are schooling at Hougang Primary. Initially I thought we will be moving closer to the school so no need for her to take sch bus. But now no side gate, need to walk at least 20mins (my parents fetching her) to sch and for my parent, to and fro for 1 trip at least 30mins. HPR takes around 3yr to build, by then my kids are p2 and p4, only 4yrs to go for primary too.

The condo beside is also not doing well, despite being nearer to Hougang1. Though I'm buying more for long term stay than investment, I can't help but to think, will HPR be in the same situation 10yrs down the road. If I want to sell off then, will it be tough as well.

The pro point that I read about HPR is near Rosyth. My flat is also near Rosyth, except that it's old.

Is it worthwhile to get HPR? Or better for me to stay put? Any kind advice? Thanks.

Iceocto

Thanks for the reply. We don't drive.

Yes, Regentville is much more convenient with the side gate and cheaper. But I can't buy Regentville, else I'll be buying another close to 20yrs property (like my hdb where the main pushing factor for now is its age.) I checked Regentville layout previously and don't like it as it's not squarish. Plus if buy Regentville, need to reno and not cheap since its 17yrs old.

After posting yesterday, I was quite determined to skip HPR. Last night got admitted to HPR fb (after waiting for few days) and saw some pictures on the show flat. Quite nice. If not the high price, many would have bite the bait. Any chance the developer will reduce the pricing / good discount on ballot day?

kelvinangsw

Yes, Regentville is much more convenient with the side gate and cheaper. But I can't buy Regentville, else I'll be buying another close to 20yrs property (like my hdb where the main pushing factor for now is its age.) I checked Regentville layout previously and don't like it as it's not squarish. Plus if buy Regentville, need to reno and not cheap since its 17yrs old.

After posting yesterday, I was quite determined to skip HPR. Last night got admitted to HPR fb (after waiting for few days) and saw some pictures on the show flat. Quite nice. If not the high price, many would have bite the bait. Any chance the developer will reduce the pricing / good discount on ballot day?

Normally, if u are going for good unit, balloting day will be the best price le.. Or not, then wait for star unit...

joeubk

Regentville psf price is quite cheap but after the Geylang lor 3 lease saga and the MND indicate SER is only for selected few, suddenly there is alot of attention on old flat/condo of 99LH..even my friends are seriously considering to sell their flat which is now more than 20 years..but one consequences...this will create more demand for bto/ec/pc if all the old flat owner decided to change..

sinicker

Hi.

I'm also keen on HPR as my in laws are nearby at Hougang Street 91.

However, we are all aware of the lack of doorstep amenities for HPR. Hougang 1 is a 4mins 45 seconds walk (yes, I timed myself). Serangoon MRT/nex is 8 bus stops away.

Wife & I are torn between a sub 700k 20-year-old 145 sqm EM or EA at Hougang Central and a 98sqm 3BR at HPR. The prospect of having a PC in 13 years' time is appealing.

have my IPA in hand. but indicative pricing shows it's a show-hand for my wife and I. cannot take No Pay Leave or a sabbatical or further studies at all. :s22: is it standard for people to purchase the max the banks allows them too??

SBC

Hi.

However, we are all aware of the lack of doorstep amenities for HPR. Hougang 1 is a 4mins 45 seconds walk (yes, I timed myself). Serangoon MRT/nex is 8 bus stops away.

Wife & I are torn between a sub 700k 20-year-old 145 sqm EM or EA at Hougang Central and a 98sqm 3BR at HPR. The prospect of having a PC in 13 years' time is appealing.

have my IPA in hand. but indicative pricing shows it's a show-hand for my wife and I. cannot take No Pay Leave or a sabbatical or further studies at all. :s22: is it standard for people to purchase the max the banks allows them too??

If both couple are working, why not show-hand?
Reno for EM is at least 100k. Most of EMs condition are not bad. Was hunting this area 2 years ago.

Clazav

Hi.

Bto or sobf is still the best.
Or buy somewhere still non matured and newer like 10 years old.

endlssorrow

How come this project all doors gates in front only?
Left right center which is the main

Should open side or rear mah easier for all users

asky2505

All other sides not accessible

U got do your own studies? Strongly advise u too. If not later u kana xian by agents. .

SKWSMC

It is surrounded by hospital, child home, special school and Pte condo. So no side or back gate.

Clazav

U got do your own studies? Strongly advise u too. If not later u kana xian by agents. .

Ya agents only take care of their own pockets. Don't tell them too much of what you have/want. Stay firm with your belief.

endlssorrow

It is surrounded by hospital, child home, special school and Pte condo. So no side or back gate.

Huh? What logic? U mean with all these so the project scare for outsiders can come in easily ?

endlssorrow

I see the map. Only main gate and left n right side gate mah
Did I see wrongly ?

Clazav

Huh? What logic? U mean with all these so the project scare for outsiders can come in easily ?

I think what he meant is that there is no proposed walkway between hpr and these places. But actually a side gate can be made at hg Street 92.

Iceocto

Yar, HPR is next door to hospital, special school and home. Was reading some other EC, people are concerned about some distance from hospital etc. HPR is super close, just beside.

Just took out my measuring tape to have a sense of the room size, really v small (comparing against my current rooms). I know new flats/pc also change to small room now, are they as small? Sigh.. think I'm destined to stay old hdb.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.