Air conditioning - Any recommendations please?? - Part 2

nakitaro

those buying 2 ticks one probably will help clear stock. if it's cheaper, who's gonna stop you.

troubledman

Bro, you engage United ACMV Engrg Pte Ltd? The premium package is exactly the same that was given to me. I engaged them for my BTO unit so far so good. No issue. Price wise cheaper than other companies that i have compared. So far i got no complain. Their technician super friendly and price wise solid

efreelancer

My Daikin aircon (single unit) bought 1yr+ from gain city not blowing cold air anymore :(
Light keep blinking. Any bro know possible reasons or how to troubleshoot?

Spades

Any recommendations for Mitsubishi Starmex System 2 for 2 Room Flexi 47sqm size? Not sure how much BTU is needed for MBR and living room.

cis2910

My Daikin aircon bought for 1yr+ from gain city not blowing air anymore :(
Any bro know possible reasons or how to troubleshoot?

There could be various reasons on why aircon was not blowing air, for example:

1. Fan motor at the fancoil unit gone faulty, or
2. The filter was too dirty and so, blocking the air.
3. If the filter wasn't cleaned frequently, then dirt might have stuck at the fins of the fancoil unit, if that was the case, then you will need some maintenance guys to clear the dirt (chemical wash if served) .

Further more, if the fan is running fine but only blowing hot air, then you may try below few things.

1. After power-on the failcoil unit (ensure you didn't accidentally switched to fan mode), wait for 5-10mins and observe whether the compressor at the condenser unit kicks-in? If no, mostly something wrong at the condenser unit.

2. Try power-on fancoil unit at other room and see if it is working fine? If the compressor at the condenser unit still as quiet, than chances the problem is at the condenser unit (common faults are: timer, sensor or PCB is faulty, or startup capacitor if it is rotary aircon)

3. If the compressor kicks-in but simply not cooling, then there could be a chance the aircon gas (refrigerant) had leaked due to some leakage issue at the copper piping.

terumo

If need to hack some concealed parts in the wall & cut & patch ceiling, this quote is quite reasonable.

Depends on the extend of works done.
For HDB installation, $2.1-$2.3k can be done.

Thanks! I realise I left out the quoted price in my post.

I was quoted $2,700.

efreelancer

There could be various reasons on why aircon was not blowing air, for example:

1. Fan motor at the fancoil unit gone faulty, or
2. The filter was too dirty and so, blocking the air.
3. If the filter wasn't cleaned frequently, then dirt might have stuck at the fins of the fancoil unit, if that was the case, then you will need some maintenance guys to clear the dirt (chemical wash if served) .

Further more, if the fan is running fine but only blowing hot air, then you may try below few things.

1. After power-on the failcoil unit (ensure you didn't accidentally switched to fan mode), wait for 5-10mins and observe whether the compressor at the condenser unit kicks-in? If no, mostly something wrong at the condenser unit.

2. Try power-on fancoil unit at other room and see if it is working fine? If the compressor at the condenser unit still as quiet, than chances the problem is at the condenser unit (common faults are: timer, sensor or PCB is faulty, or startup capacitor if it is rotary aircon)

3. If the compressor kicks-in but simply not cooling, then there could be a chance the aircon gas (refrigerant) had leaked due to some leakage issue at the copper piping.

My Daikin aircon (single unit) bought 1yr+ from gain city now die liao. Light keep blinking. Cant blow air at all. Any bro encounter this before?

Guess not the filter as mine quite clean.

yamashita

If need to hack some concealed parts in the wall & cut & patch ceiling, this quote is quite reasonable.

Depends on the extend of works done.
For HDB installation, $2.1-$2.3k can be done.

There is some climbing involved as the copper pipe and wire run above the ceiling at the plenum space area.

Thanks once again Terumo!

efreelancer

My Daikin aircon (single unit) bought 1yr+ from gain city now die liao. Light keep blinking. Cant blow air at all. Any bro encounter this before?

Guess not the filter as mine quite clean.

I restart my circuit breaker and now blowing air liao but simply not cold. Wha kind of servicing should I do?

nakitaro

I restart my circuit breaker and now blowing air liao but simply not cold. Wha kind of servicing should I do?

i do not know what the lights could mean but i could share my experiences.
not blowing cold air definitely not due to remote control and not dirty filter.

it cld be, gas leakage due to bad piping,
it cld be, temperature sensor or whatever sensor malfunctioning,
it cld be, pcb fault.

heard a lot of ppl with daikin tend to encounter some kind of electronic failure after a year. not sure. i'm not on daikin.

terumo

Light blinking means there is some issue with the system.
Best get someone to come check the system.

cis2910

efreelancer

Light blinking means there is some issue with the system.
Best get someone to come check the system.

Hmm should I ask Daikin or gain city? I guess it might b due to the condenser. But wondering what the charges like? Cos thought Daikin motor under 5yrs warranty.

efreelancer

Thanks bro. But what will be the charges like? Guess not under the 5yrs motor warranty?

i do not know what the lights could mean but i could share my experiences.
not blowing cold air definitely not due to remote control and not dirty filter.

it cld be, gas leakage due to bad piping,
it cld be, temperature sensor or whatever sensor malfunctioning,
it cld be, pcb fault.

heard a lot of ppl with daikin tend to encounter some kind of electronic failure after a year. not sure. i'm not on daikin.

efreelancer

The LED light blinking simply means there are some fault. Although mostly you can't repair yourself but you can do some DIY to find out what fault, watch the the video clip...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i30rEvyuDKs

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T3CdCr0QD1w

My daikin aircon long beep error code is U0 ie shortage of refrigerant (0r refrigerant leakage)? Normally how much would I be charged for such servicing? And normally you guys will go back to gain city, daikin or otherwise. Wondering how could this happen as its only 1 yrs plus and I seldom used it.

nakitaro

My daikin aircon long beep error code is U0 ie shortage of refrigerant (0r refrigerant leakage)? Normally how much would I be charged for such servicing? And normally you guys will go back to gain city, daikin or otherwise. Wondering how could this happen as its only 1 yrs plus and I seldom used it.

when i say gas leak, i'm referring the refrigerant as gas.

so i supposed you have your ans now?

U0 is U0 System Shortage of refrigerant or EEV failure leh. why you cut out EEV failure?

chances are, is gas leak bad piping. but best get them to check ur unit.
:)

efreelancer

when i say gas leak, i'm referring the refrigerant as gas.

so i supposed you have your ans now?

U0 is U0 System Shortage of refrigerant or EEV failure leh. why you cut out EEV failure?

chances are, is gas leak bad piping. but best get them to check ur unit.
:)

Thanks bro. Ya might be EEV failure too. So gas leak / EEV failure is gain city/installer responsibility? Cos gain city has 3 yrs workmanship warranty. But not sure how good it will honour it.

Shortage of refrigerant not likely for new air con of 1yr+ right. Cos my old aircon last more than 8 yrs also no Shortage of refrigerant.

kaysee

Hi guys, would appreciate those experienced in air con can help advise me as its my first bto house. Im having a 5 room flat and is thinking to choose between the two following configurations:

1. System 3 - 24k for living room (with open kitchen concept but can close off kitchen with sliding door, 9k for common room, 18k for masterbedroom (knock down two room to become 1)

2. System 4 - 18k above sofa in living room, 9k above dining area, 9k for common room, 18k for masterbedroom (knock down two room to become 1)

Im torn between these 2, price difference 800 bucks to top up for additional air con unit. We're a newly married couple staying by ourselves, occasionally have guest coming over so we'll turn on the living room air con, wife is afraid of cold, but need air con to sleep at night. Day time if it gets really hot and humid we will on air con in the living room.

Thank you in advance!

virtualape

My Daikin aircon (single unit) bought 1yr+ from gain city not blowing cold air anymore :(
Light keep blinking. Any bro know possible reasons or how to troubleshoot?

thanks for sharing. i think i will get a starmex instead...

hope your problem will be resolved soon.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.