Any tailors in Bangkok to recommend?

DuaKangKia

saffronsatire

haha as I'm typing at this very moment , just received a watsapp from my colleague. 2 days ago, he brought along his favorite pair to the tailor to copy/replicate, turns out that the shirts all came out differently despite the simply instruction. 🤣🤣

did that before too and yes, must instruct explicitly even with samples.

in my case, sample fabric was shirt with blue stripes, white cuffs and white rounded collar.

end result - collar was done rounded but stripes instead of white.

DuaKangKia

saffronsatire

WHUT!?! stripes collar how to wear ? new design ����

still acceptable la, like usual shirts lor but with rounded collar i do find it more strange than if it were the usual pointed tip ones. haha you judge for yourself below!

2nd time round, pick another stripe fabric and instructed them specifically. turned out ok.

older post: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/107217564-post3274.html

lulu92

Just came back from bkk yesterday. Did 5 shirts & 3 pants with J&S. Feel free to ask me any questions

How much you spend for all the 5 shirt and 3 pants? Material wise what did you choose for each? How long did it take?

I'm going bkk in Nov for 5 days. still deciding btw J&S and Jhasper( idm spending a little more for more comfort)

grantt

https://instagram.com/p/BLDvusFBgma/

Here you go, another bro just PM me asking about some enlightenment wrt suit on the right.

My take:
Biceps is too tight, doesn't allow the sleeves to fall properly. It could also attribute to his shoulder dimple denting in. I don't think it's because the shoulder is cut too narrow, but rather, the shoulders are not cut in-sync with the guy's less defined shoulder. (That is what I was taught, I may be wrong)
Waist is tight, you can see a dragline pulling horizontally across the waist. And lastly, the pants is too long for my liking. Poorly cut as the pants are all over the place aka too much breaks.

So don't judge any tailors job simply by recommendations or pictures online. They only show the best (obviously coz good photos attracts biz ) . Always speak to the tailor and "communicate" effectively.

I think that you have to always presume that the tailor himself can only recommend what is good for his customer, but cannot force his customer to do it. Maybe manop recommended this guy to shorten the pants or loosen the bicep, but maybe he decided against it. I think the only fair way to judge is to see the end result of something you make and/or someone makes and then if someone comments on it, see if they said they wanted it that way. Would be interesting if we could get darrell ong from the picture to find out why he wanted his suit that way, because i agree with you, his pants are too long, and biceps are too tight.

In regards to shoulder, i think personally in this case, should have been spotted at the store as a big no, no. The rest could all be personal taste in the client so cannot fault the store at all...until we know the rest of the story.

Also whats important imho when choosing a tailor is to pick a tailor who DOES recommend you something. Not just says 'ok' to everything you say. when you have opinions, then only you are aware that you do have the option to do something else. Not every guy tailor before and some are novices so that's why we go to a tailor. I know my stuff and what i want but when i enter many of these tailor places, i see plenty of people who don't look good in their clothes but don't realize it. That's why i stick to where i know i'll be happy. And so should u guys. Why keep trying different tailor if your personal guy knows what you want/how you want.

wongshenyong

How much you spend for all the 5 shirt and 3 pants? Material wise what did you choose for each? How long did it take?

I'm going bkk in Nov for 5 days. still deciding btw J&S and Jhasper( idm spending a little more for more comfort)

For shirts:
2 x egyptian/soktas cotton (2500 baht each)
2 x 100% cotton (1500 & 1800 baht)
1 x cotton polyster blend (1300)

For pants:
2 x 50% wool (2000 baht each)
1 x 70% wool (3000 baht)

Reached on friday night, masurements on saturday morning, 1st fitting on sun evening, collection on mon evening and fly back on mon night.

For shirts, no complaints. Egyptian/soktas cotton drew compliments immediately back at work, smooth like anything and extremely comfortable but easily creased. On hindsight maybe should have done more 1300baht cotton blends (less comfy but harder to crease) and maybe only 1 egyptian cotton. This is no fault of Jesse and sons.

For pants, as i requested for tapered fit after a week at work, realised that calves and knee area are a little too tight. As i was in a rush there was no chance for a second alteration. So could say was my fault i guess? For not checking properly also during collection but hard to determine without actual work usage.

Would i return though? Sure. Service was good, prices were transparent.l, and fabrics were superb. STRONG ADVICE to do more than 1 fitting if tailoring in bulk.

Sorry for the long text.

DuaKangKia

WORD. i couldn't agree more. I like the fact that my tailor educated me throughout and that's why I tend to know things that Google doesn't reach. A tailor should always recommend not for profit , but for making and styling the client up. Example, during the earlier stages one of my regular tailors went through explicitly on the face shape, skin tone, and my body physique. and then he gave me (without pressurizing) a few options to choose

[Qultimgrantt;110768025]I think that you have to always presume that the tailor himself can only recommend what is good for his customer, but cannot force his customer to do it. Maybe manop recommended this guy to shorten the pants or loosen the bicep, but maybe he decided against it. I think the only fair way to judge is to see the end result of something you make and/or someone makes and then if someone comments on it, see if they said they wanted it that way. Would be interesting if we could get darrell ong from the picture to find out why he wanted his suit that way, because i agree with you, his pants are too long, and biceps are too tight.

In regards to shoulder, i think personally in this case, should have been spotted at the store as a big no, no. The rest could all be personal taste in the client so cannot fault the store at all...until we know the rest of the story.

Also whats important imho when choosing a tailor is to pick a tailor who DOES recommend you something. Not just says 'ok' to everything you say. when you have opinions, then only you are aware that you do have the option to do something else. Not every guy tailor before and some are novices so that's why we go to a tailor. I know my stuff and what i want but when i enter many of these tailor places, i see plenty of people who don't look good in their clothes but don't realize it. That's why i stick to where i know i'll be happy. And so should u guys. Why keep trying different tailor if your personal guy knows what you want/how you want.[/QUOTE]

grantt

WORD. i couldn't agree more. I like the fact that my tailor educated me throughout and that's why I tend to know things that Google doesn't reach. A tailor should always recommend not for profit , but for making and styling the client up. Example, during the earlier stages one of my regular tailors went through explicitly on the face shape, skin tone, and my body physique. and then he gave me (without pressurizing) a few options to choose

Glad to know we're on the same page. There are plenty of tailors out there that are cheap, but have no idea what fashion is or what suits each client better. So be careful guys. Maybe sometimes paying for advice is worth the extra few $ to make sure you dun look like an idiot at work or a party.

Whos your favorite tailor DuaKangKia?

DuaKangKia

I have couple tailors that I rotate. 1 of them belongs to the bespoke line. so no prizes for guessing correctly. the other 2 i'd prefer to keep them to myself selfishly hahaha. coz I scared if recommend , then I very hard to make appt liao.

Glad to know we're on the same page. There are plenty of tailors out there that are cheap, but have no idea what fashion is or what suits each client better. So be careful guys. Maybe sometimes paying for advice is worth the extra few $ to make sure you dun look like an idiot at work or a party.

Whos your favorite tailor DuaKangKia?

DuaKangKia

but I can tell u who I have tried before.
Lai en, joe tailor, shirtsmith, cyc, rossi, marcella, stripes, edit suits, Seah Im market. The 3 tailors I'm currently using are not from this list. All I can say is, the uncle kind of tailor trade slowly dying coz they fail to adapt. Gone are the days when clients just come by and let tailors decide everything. Now, we are educated people (through google), we know what we want, research, which most tailors fail to provide advice/opinions. So sometimes when I try other new tailors, id be like "tell me something I don't already know" .

spuispui

Nice detailed review. May I know how’s the 1.8k and 1.5k shirt quality? Also for pants, which one u prefer? 🙂

For shirts:
2 x egyptian/soktas cotton (2500 baht each)
2 x 100% cotton (1500 & 1800 baht)
1 x cotton polyster blend (1300)

For pants:
2 x 50% wool (2000 baht each)
1 x 70% wool (3000 baht)

Reached on friday night, masurements on saturday morning, 1st fitting on sun evening, collection on mon evening and fly back on mon night.

For shirts, no complaints. Egyptian/soktas cotton drew compliments immediately back at work, smooth like anything and extremely comfortable but easily creased. On hindsight maybe should have done more 1300baht cotton blends (less comfy but harder to crease) and maybe only 1 egyptian cotton. This is no fault of Jesse and sons.

For pants, as i requested for tailored fit after a week at work, realised that calves and knee area are a little too tight. As i was in a rush there was no chance for a second alteration. So could say was my fault i guess? For not checking properly also during collection but hard to determine without actual work usage.

Would i return though? Sure. Service was good, prices were transparent.l, and fabrics were superb. STRONG ADVICE to do more than 1 fitting if tailoring in bulk.

Sorry for the long text.

wongshenyong

Nice detailed review. May I know how’s the 1.8k and 1.5k shirt quality? Also for pants, which one u prefer? 🙂

havent tried the 1.8k piece. 1.5k was decent. a navy shirt that didnt seem like your usual rough cottons that comesbwith darker colors even though i went for a navy fabric without sheen. doesnt feel hot too.

have a feeling 1.8k fabric wont feel as good compared to 1.5k as i went for a tougher fabric and requested for standard fit instead of soft fit. reason: wanted a super formal looking white shirt

for pants, def 3k piece ^_^. feels softer due to higher wool % and with very very slight sheen, looks good in photos

robertng

Thanks hyper-rev. Very useful. Yes I have seen their herringbone fabric. Similar to the CYC one that I brought from S'pore as sample to show Dave. I like the herringbone fabric however Dave recommended other designs since I told him I already have a couple of them in grey and blue tailored in S'pore. I have chosen my shirts all in the THB1,600 pricing as it is still much cheaper than those that I have tailored in S'pore for S$140.-

Will give feedback once I have collected my clothing from Jhasper and J & S after my trip.

20171014_180645_zpszxogpn7n.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

20171014_210635_zpsdrwawfnb.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

Just returned from tailoring in Bangkok with Jhasper and Jesse and Son.

Trying to post some pics but do not know if possible.

Jhasper

1st fitting the day after measuring appointment. Dave made the shirt a bit loose and my only requirement was to reduce the sides by half inch each side. All 6 shirts turn out fine and I am happy with them.

J & S

Turnaround time was excellent. Went for 1st appointment evening of 10th Oct. !st fitting the next evening. Manop made the shirt slightly tight and I requested to be loosen half inch each side. I chose the THB2,500 shirt fabric for 3 shirts and one sorta fabric (THB3,000) and it was really excellent. Collected the 4 shirts on 12th evening and they all fitted perfectly. There was no extra charge for buttons (MOP buttons) and for inner collar and cuff linings as opposed to Jhasper.

Overall I think my preference would be J & S.

robertng

20171014_180645_zpszxogpn7n.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

20171014_210635_zpsdrwawfnb.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

Just returned from tailoring in Bangkok with Jhasper and Jesse and Son.

Trying to post some pics but do not know if possible.

Jhasper

1st fitting the day after measuring appointment. Dave made the shirt a bit loose and my only requirement was to reduce the sides by half inch each side. All 6 shirts turn out fine and I am happy with them.

J & S

Turnaround time was excellent. Went for 1st appointment evening of 10th Oct. !st fitting the next evening. Manop made the shirt slightly tight and I requested to be loosen half inch each side. I chose the THB2,500 shirt fabric for 3 shirts and one sorta fabric (THB3,000) and it was really excellent. Collected the 4 shirts on 12th evening and they all fitted perfectly. There was no extra charge for buttons (MOP buttons) and for inner collar and cuff linings as opposed to Jhasper.

Overall I think my preference would be J & S.

20171014_210708_zpstca3m7zr.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

The pic shows the 4 shirts from J & S. I will post the pics 6 shirts from Jhasper once I recover the image from my phone.

The check shirt I am wearing is from J & S and the other one from Jhasper to show the fit (regular)

robertng

20171014_210708_zpstca3m7zr.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

The pic shows the 4 shirts from J & S. I will post the pics 6 shirts from Jhasper once I recover the image from my phone.

The check shirt I am wearing is from J & S and the other one from Jhasper to show the fit (regular)

20171014_180455_zpslfvbncof.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

These are the shirts from Jhasper.

Sorry for haphazard posting. Tired from the trip.

robertng

If you do not mind spending a bit more for comfort my recommendation is to go for J & S THB2,500 Egyptian cotton fabric shirts. They are really comfortable. But they do crease quite easily especially at the elbows. However, for those that I have chosen, Manop did mention that they crease less than normal.

spuispui

Saw the price list posted by someone here, previously Egyptian cotton cost 2300thb. Seems like they increase the price now.

If you do not mind spending a bit more for comfort my recommendation is to go for J & S THB2,500 Egyptian cotton fabric shirts. They are really comfortable. But they do crease quite easily especially at the elbows. However, for those that I have chosen, Manop did mention that they crease less than normal.

robertng

Saw the price list posted by someone here, previously Egyptian cotton cost 2300thb. Seems like they increase the price now.

Any idea of the date of that posting? We all have to accept price increase only in the case of Bangkok, just for a feel of price increase over what period of time.

Manop showed me shirt pricing fabrics from THB1,300, 1,800, 2,500 and Soktas at THB3,000/-

I went straight for the luxury THB2,500 Egyptian Cotton fabric (Italian as mentioned by him) as I wanted a few shirts for more formal occasions as I have already tailored 6 shirts with Jhasper for daily work wear. So its hard for me to really compare fabrics between the 2 tailors. However, I find J & S services to be very professional and easier for the customer to understand what he wants as the whole process is very clear. Manop uses a big book with diagrams to show the various type of collars, cuffs, yoke, placket, etc. and his buttons are all MOP and very nice looking. There is also no extra charge for inner collar lining, inner placket lining and inner cuff linings and for the MOP buttons. Its all inclusive. I still cannot get over why Jhasper need to charge for these and my buttons were only hard plastic. Need to add an extra THB350 for the price of shirts quoted by Jhasper for proper comparison. The shirts that I have tailored at Jhasper at basic THB1,600 (suppose to be the premium cotton fabric) actually cost THB1,950/-. The fabric though is not as smooth and luxurious looking than those I tailored at J & S.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.