Need Help with High HDD Temp 63C

jimlwk

When I am gaming, the temps hit 56 to 63 degs cel. Idle was about 57C.

Should I switch out the 800rpm 1x200mm stock fan to 2x140mm higher rpm fans in the front? The front seems to be the only way to get airflow towards the HDDs section. Some pictures below for reference.

Casing: http://www.thermaltake.com/products-model.aspx?id=C_00002559

Ke0GhLX.png

ndtxA2D.jpg

Fh17j21.jpg

Case is a cube.. pictures provided are taken from the TOP view.

Edit 1: Switched Rad Fans to Exhaust and move case to more open area. Idle HDD Temps 55C.

Edit 2: Move 1 X 120mm intake fan to back of casing as exhaust. Idle HDD temp at 47C.

kbOhWdXl.jpg

Psycovirus

What is your current configuration for the Fans?

Sometime, it is not the intake.

Your GPU is open shroud design thus hot air is circulated into the case. If this hot air is not exhausted out fast enough, you'll have warmer components.

jimlwk

Try open air casing.
See what's the temp.

Haha.. if got lower means I keep casing open forever ar?

What is your current configuration for the Fans?

Sometime, it is not the intake.

Your GPU is open shroud design thus hot air is circulated into the case. If this hot air is not exhausted out fast enough, you'll have warmer components.

My current config is all intake except Rear and Cpu fan as shown below.

ZFhTkhL.jpg

The radiator fan is blowing rather cool air into the system. The front 1x200 stock fan also intake but quite lackluster performance lah. I have 2x120mm fan blowing into the gpu too. Exhaust is the rear and the top cpu fan helps to bring hot air out also.

Actually the main thing is the HDD caging underneath got no fan mounting leh.. If can put fan should be ok le.. The only possible way I think is change out by weak front 200mm fan to 2x140 powerful fans and hope they can blow towards the lower back of the casing.

jtjt00

From your photo, the 2 radiator fans are blowing in the wrong direction! They should be blowing out instead.

jimlwk

From your photo, the 2 radiator fans are blowing in the wrong direction! They should be blowing out instead.

I tested both intake and exhaust.. gpu and cpu temps same leh.. I chose it as intake in the end cos the front fan airflow abit weak so more intake of cool air into the mobo area should be better. If change back to exhaust, I dunno if it will affect the HDD caging cos it's like tucked in the bottom leh.. imo, I don't think so sia..

Btw, my case is a cube.. pictures provided are taken from the TOP view.

xonix

I'm using the same chassis as you. Using 1 TB + 2 TB HDD in the 3.5" bay.
Will update here with my temps tonight when I get home.

Chassis is only installed with the 200mm front fan intake and 1 x 120 mm rear exhaust

jimlwk

I'm using the same chassis as you. Using 1 TB + 2 TB HDD in the 3.5" bay.
Will update here with my temps tonight when I get home.

Chassis is only installed with the 200mm front fan intake and 1 x 120 mm rear exhaust

Cool. Would be great to share our experience building. I got 3 X 3.5" there. If I never manually check the temps, I wouldn't know they can reach 63C when gaming. I was gaming Destiny 2 and the GPU on load is about 70C.. further more.. the game is installed at my 2.5" drive which is located at the other side of the case.

So my HDDs shouldn't be under much load when I gaming leh.. So my guess is the heat from gpu radiates to the HDD cage below which has no airflow.

hlots123

by monitoring hdd temps, tat prolly prevents hdds from spinning down & sleep during gaming...

Koenig168

Cool. Would be great to share our experience building. I got 3 X 3.5" there. If I never manually check the temps, I wouldn't know they can reach 63C when gaming. I was gaming Destiny 2 and the GPU on load is about 70C.. further more.. the game is installed at my 2.5" drive which is located at the other side of the case.

So my HDDs shouldn't be under much load when I gaming leh.. So my guess is the heat from gpu radiates to the HDD cage below which has no airflow.

63C is too high for HDD. Mine is usually sub-40C.

It should be a simple matter to add a fan in front of the HDD cage or put in a HDD cooler.

ZrE0_Cha0s

but I though that someone did mentioned b4 that Hitachi drive can be quite hot. (or maybe Toshiba?)
but could the HDD be affected by the air circulation in your case? since u have 3x 3.5 in it. (space enclosed might be quite tight?) btw is your X and Y drive also together with this hot HDD?

singupingu

But HDD by default is passive cool ma. Many cases designed without having much active cooling for HDD also. Reach so high temp a bit weird leh for this case. Maybe as what ZrE0_Cha0s said, Hitachi run hotter than others?

Also, what's the temps for the others HDD? All equally high or just the HGST one?

Sent from Finally Unbanned using GAGT

tmfwy

I am guessing you are playing a certain game that is disk intensive
Replace HDD with SSD or change casing

xonix

Unlikely due to your GPU because it's above your HDD and hot air rises.

I think your issue is probably due to 3 hdd stacked together without any exhaust fan. Even when I was using a mid tower, I would always keep 1 empty HDD bay between each HDD.

My HDD generally are idling as my games are in my 2.5" SSD. The 2 HDD are for downloads and archiving respectively.

jtjt00

Change your front intake fan to 2x 1850rpm Gentle Typhoon ones to push more cool air in. Change your radiator fans to exhaust.

Psycovirus

You've 3 intake but only 1 exhaust. Your AIO is pushing air towards the GPU, opposite direction of GPU pushing air. There's a conflict and the heated air is circulated in the case and probably reached below into HDD cage. Somemore, you're pulling air through a radiator, that's no longer fresh cool air but its air with heat dissipated from your CPU.

Although you can argue there is positive air pressure in the case, if no proper channel is given for air to escape from vents, air in case gets hotter.

Unlikely due to your GPU because it's above your HDD and hot air rises.

I think your issue is probably due to 3 hdd stacked together without any exhaust fan. Even when I was using a mid tower, I would always keep 1 empty HDD bay between each HDD.

My HDD generally are idling as my games are in my 2.5" SSD. The 2 HDD are for downloads and archiving respectively.
Yes, hot air rises but it's insignificant in such a small volume... The air pushed by the fans has much more significant force behind it...

Sent from OnePlus ONEPLUS A3000 using GAGT

watzup_ken

Haha.. if got lower means I keep casing open forever ar?

My current config is all intake except Rear and Cpu fan as shown below.

ZFhTkhL.jpg

The radiator fan is blowing rather cool air into the system. The front 1x200 stock fan also intake but quite lackluster performance lah. I have 2x120mm fan blowing into the gpu too. Exhaust is the rear and the top cpu fan helps to bring hot air out also.

Actually the main thing is the HDD caging underneath got no fan mounting leh.. If can put fan should be ok le.. The only possible way I think is change out by weak front 200mm fan to 2x140 powerful fans and hope they can blow towards the lower back of the casing.

Somehow I feel there are too much air intake, too little exhaust. I ever tried something like this thinking that more intake = better. But that is not the case. You need to think through the air flow, for example, hot air rises, so fans on top should be exhaust. Having said that, the hard disk is running hotter than it should be even if we factor out the fans.

redhouse

The configuration of the radiator fans as intake is just plain wrong, period. The radiator is supposed to be warm/hot, as that is where the heat from your CPU is being transferred to by the coolant. You should be expelling the air passing through the radiator outwards, not inwards. You are not only recirculating the hot air in your case, you are now even adding more hot air into it. Whether your HDD overheats or not, this setup is just wrong.

Maximus_XXVIII

Likely due to lack of airflow at the HDD cage area and hot air trapped within the case.

These are the temperature I get with 8 HGST Deskstar HDD within my NAS and 2x 120mm exhaust fans in 25°C air conditioned room.

25647478238_6221dc59a9_c.jpg

jimlwk

Likely due to lack of airflow at the HDD cage area and hot air trapped within the case.

These are the temperature I get with 8 HGST Deskstar HDD within my NAS and 2x 120mm exhaust fans in 25°C air conditioned room.

25647478238_6221dc59a9_c.jpg
Ya.. Likely due to this as well.. The cage is tucked into the corner with no way of getting airflow. Abit silly of the design if they put the 3 x 3.5" hdd.. I took out the middle one and the temps drop from 63 to 57 while gaming.. Now i testing if can put a makeshift 140mm in front of the cage.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.