Samsung Galaxy S9/S9+, The Gorgeous Beast

Skyy

I see new phones sian ji bua liao, see the same old back fingerprint even less interest.

Last year I sign S8+ only because I got corp plan to utilize and the other expensive phones are worse IMO. Otherwise I would just have no-SIM on a Xiaomi.

That's why some companies came up with a very fast Face Unlock. With Face Unlock, you don't even need to use the back fingerprint scanner very often, only when you authenticate certain apps. It's a certain reality that with smaller bezels, there won't be space in the front for the fingerprint until they manage to put it under the screen without obscuring anything, that's probably mid 2018 or end 2018, if u can wait..

amazingone

like that may as well wait till s10 or sx ... #waitforever
But really, if you want a Galaxy that has the fingerprint embedded under the display, the Galaxy Note9 will likely be the first.

You can get the Vivo X20Plus UD too if you can't wait for that Galaxy to come.. :o

tkl23786

s9s9plusimage.jpg

These should be the official image and specs of the Galaxy S9 and S9+

http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/tech-news-these-should-be-official-image-and-specs-galaxy-s9-and-s9

Yes.... the earlier leaked pics are true...the back camera/FPS are VERTICAL now

S9+ has much better specs than S9

Both will have stereo speakers at the bottom

Other than those listed above, the rest of the phones are same as S8/S8+ :)s11::s11:)

dgeralds

As long as it can unlock while on table just by quick look, it will be ok for me. But I doubt it work without aligning our face or eyes in line with the camera or worse may need to carry the phone in hand and put in front of our face...

Potential new feature found called Intelligent scan. Based on strings data within the Oreo beta for the S8 and Note 8. Intelligent scan is a combination of both Iris and Facial recognition. It uses "Iris Scanner and Face Recognition together for better results even in low or very bright light."

Omnia1

As long as it can unlock while on table just by quick look, it will be ok for me. But I doubt it work without aligning our face or eyes in line with the camera or worse may need to carry the phone in hand and put in front of our face...

Agree. Phone manufacturers really need to increase the scanning angle of their facial recognition systems to cater to wide angle situations like the one that you've described - user sitting at a table with the phone flat on it.

It's pointless how accurate or fast face/iris detection is (including Apple's vaunted FaceID) if you need to angle the phone by lifting it off the table or to move your face/eyes into an awkward angle, just to unlock your phone.

Sent from Samsung SM-T825Y using GAGT

Skyy

Agree. Phone manufacturers really need to increase the scanning angle of their facial recognition systems to cater to wide angle situations like the one that you've described - user sitting at a table with the phone flat on it.

It's pointless how accurate or fast face/iris detection is (including Apple's vaunted FaceID) if you need to angle the phone by lifting it off the table or to move your face/eyes into an awkward angle, just to unlock your phone.

A way to do this will be to use dual front screen cams, 1 super wide lens for face unlock and for super wide selfies, and another for the traditional selfies which is just your face inside at half arm's length.

Although I think the wider the lens is, the smaller the face is going to be and probably a lot harder to get precise measurements of the features of your face, meaning security won't be as good.

tkl23786

It is called FACIAL recognition.

If the phone is placed flat on the surface with the camera pointing at the ceiling/sky/etc, the camera will not be able to register faces.

Even if the camera is wide-angle, there will still be limitations on how much facial area the camera can capture at the widest angle compared to the camera pointing straight at the face.

You can test out to see how much face is seen from the front camera. Just switch the camera to the front camera and place the phone flat on a surface. Then try to see how far you can look at the phone while the front camera can still capture your face. Not very wide angle, to be honest. In fact, when I tried this, I have to look straight on at the front camera to see my face appear on the phone.

Maybe if camera technology improves and there is a camera that can register faces at wide angles, then perhaps, the possibility of facial recognition when phones are placed flat on surfaces can happen. Right now, unfortunately, you have to point the camera straight at your face.

Omnia1

It is called FACIAL recognition.

If the phone is placed flat on the surface with the camera pointing at the ceiling/sky/etc, the camera will not be able to register faces.

Even if the camera is wide-angle, there will still be limitations on how much facial area the camera can capture at the widest angle compared to the camera pointing straight at the face.

You can test out to see how much face is seen from the front camera. Just switch the camera to the front camera and place the phone flat on a surface. Then try to see how far you can look at the phone while the front camera can still capture your face. Not very wide angle, to be honest. In fact, when I tried this, I have to look straight on at the front camera to see my face appear on the phone.

Maybe if camera technology improves and there is a camera that can register faces at wide angles, then perhaps, the possibility of facial recognition when phones are placed flat on surfaces can happen. Right now, unfortunately, you have to point the camera straight at your face.
Precisely. That's why we are saying that using facial recognition (as it stands now) to unlock your phone has a serious disadvantage in terms of the manner in which you need to angle your phone before it would work. You can have the most accurate and fastest facial recognition technology and it wouldn't make a difference. Something that phone manufacturers need to work on ...

Skyy

Precisely. That's why we are saying that using facial recognition (as it stands now) to unlock your phone has a serious disadvantage in terms of the manner in which you need to angle your phone before it would work. You can have the most accurate and fastest facial recognition technology and it wouldn't make a difference. Something that phone manufacturers need to work on ...

Serious disadvantage also like that. It only affects a small portion of the population. So many phones have rear fingerprint sensors and no face recognition at all, but they are still selling like hotcakes (e.g. Xiaomi). People learn to live around these constraints. To be honest, at least those with facial recognition have an option, even though that option isn't perfect, better than nothing.
Anyway this problem will eventually go away when front fingerprint scanners under the glass are in production. Then we'll have bezel-less plus front fingerprint scanners.
But the fans of rear fingerprint scanners will be moaning about why the phones all have front scanners now, makes it harder to unlock when pulling the phone out of the jeans pocket..etc etc

Can't please everyone...:s13:

tkl23786

Expect to pay more for the Galaxy S9 and S9+ when they arrive in March

http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/tech-news-expect-pay-more-galaxy-s9-and-s9-when-they-arrive-march

Approx 5% more expensive than the launch price of S8/S8+

From article

".....The expected price range for the Galaxy S9 is reportedly between 950,000 won (~S$1,163) and 990,000 won (S$1,212). In comparison, the Galaxy S8 was launched in Singapore at S$1,148. Assuming that the Galaxy S9 costs S$1,212, it would be a 5% increase in price....."

Omnia1

Serious disadvantage also like that. It only affects a small portion of the population. So many phones have rear fingerprint sensors and no face recognition at all, but they are still selling like hotcakes (e.g. Xiaomi). People learn to live around these constraints. To be honest, at least those with facial recognition have an option, even though that option isn't perfect, better than nothing.
Anyway this problem will eventually go away when front fingerprint scanners under the glass are in production. Then we'll have bezel-less plus front fingerprint scanners.
But the fans of rear fingerprint scanners will be moaning about why the phones all have front scanners now, makes it harder to unlock when pulling the phone out of the jeans pocket..etc etc

Can't please everyone...:s13:
Agree with many of the things you wrote. Since almost all of us use our fingers to interact with the screen of the phone (don't know anyone who primarily uses Bixby or Google Assistant), a fingerprint sensor underneath the screen would be the most natural and efficient means of unlocking the phone.

But the discussion is probably moot given that the S9/9+ will not have a fingerprint sensor beneath the screen or a sufficiently wide angle camera on the front to make facial/iris recognition useful in all situations.

Given that Samsung spends billions on phone R&D, the hope is that they will find effective solutions to these problems, and sooner rather than later. Note 9, S10? Apple can continue to rely exclusively on FaceID if it wants to. After all, unlike Android users, Apple users are kinda used to living with constraints (and not knowing that they are) ... Lol

kopi22

Any speculations of the pricing so far?? I guess it will go beyond 1k for S9. S9+ may be around 1.2k++

tkl23786

Any speculations of the pricing so far?? I guess it will go beyond 1k for S9. S9+ may be around 1.2k++

Refer below.

Expect to pay more for the Galaxy S9 and S9+ when they arrive in March

http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/tech-news-expect-pay-more-galaxy-s9-and-s9-when-they-arrive-march

Approx 5% more expensive than the launch price of S8/S8+

From article

".....The expected price range for the Galaxy S9 is reportedly between 950,000 won (~S$1,163) and 990,000 won (S$1,212). In comparison, the Galaxy S8 was launched in Singapore at S$1,148. Assuming that the Galaxy S9 costs S$1,212, it would be a 5% increase in price....."

amazingone

The Galaxy S9 series will be priced the cheapest in China region(excl. TW and HK), as compared to other regions.. :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.