Any honest and cheap renovation company to recommend?

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

Laoyeh

Because too many scam companies nowadays, really afraid.

Sent from HUAWEI TRT-L21A using GAGT

tivo88

There is no cheap ID

ID is like a project manager , the use different contractors to do different works, eg. hacking, tiling, painting, plumbing, electrical, etc.

In honesty the ID market rate (aka profit) is about 30-50% of the amount you pay. They always have different suppliers eg, tile company, paint company, glass, door, window, flooring who gives rebates for using their product.

If u want to save money you can find you own independant contractors and manage them yourself (using balance payment as a leverage if the workmanship is not good) but its a lot of work and coordination.

You can save abit by purchasing your own materials but again you need to know the job well enough to order enough.

Overall there is no cheap ID,cuz your paying for their time and effort and its their rice bowl.

Only way is to find those not so well known who more hard up for the work and willing to earn lesser. Those well known all stuffed with jobs and they only do it for a certain price (somewhat like your Orchard Hairdresser, but quality is assured most times)

Congrats & Good luck with your new home

yokine3a

Try this co. I used their sevice during last reno, Basic Image & Design PL.
Address BLK 748, Yishun St 72, #01-220, Singapore 760748
Telephone No. 67520504
Fax No. 67520477
Email ncyeak_basicimage@hotmail.sg

Laoyeh

How abt those renovation shop that set up their office at hdb ground floor? Are they honest?

Scylla

How abt those renovation shop that set up their office at hdb ground floor? Are they honest?

never heard or knew any honest ID, just pray they dont take your money and run or close down lol

Goodshot

I know some honest one = but they all doesnt come cheap

I know some cheap one = i m not sure they honest

pororokia

there are honest IDs around lah, just abit rare.

see the renovation thread, so many people done and completed reno!

Goodshot

there are honest IDs around lah, just abit rare.

see the renovation thread, so many people done and completed reno!

U see those thread all is 30k to 50k reno one , they confirm will done lol

SecretAgent

Cheap ones give you cheapest material.. on the front it look good...But what you get is what you're paying.. cheap!

Sent from ..... using GAGT

lordlad0

cheap + good + lifetime warranty + 24/7 standby afterservice + 100% money back guarantee ai mai?

hwaa

U see those thread all is 30k to 50k reno one , they confirm will done lol

cheap pple worry ID or contractors run road.

expensive they deliver but people find it too ex.

hmmm....

they can price it really really cheap but give u subpar stuffs then end of the day its still the same.

Mr.Canberra

No wonder IKEA has a sustainable business

It is cheap because IKEA uses particle board wood.

Speaking of experience using IKEA furniture. It is not meant to last for more than 10 years. Due to Singapore's humid weather if your furniture can last for 10 years or more consider very good liao. By then the design is already dated so updating to new furnishings can be a good refreshment to your living environment.

Anyway nowadays due to people too rich they always suka suka do renovation every 5 years so I don't see the point of using super good quality materials. In fact the cheaper the better so money saved can be used to update newer designs as the years go by.

If you are not the fussy type and quite good with tools and DIY you do not even have to spend a cent on some furnitures. I see people dumping away good furniture all the time. A bit of refurbishment and paint job is all you need. Recycle and save the earth! :D

Zetrio2006

Big companies like Darwin, Weiken and Northwest are honest. They have a reputation to protect and will see to it that the project is completed in a satisfactory manner even if they have to sack their own ID.

Cheap or not depends on your budget. Some people think 25k is cheap while others might think it is so expensive.

A contractor can promise you the sky or can tell you words like 'oh because you are so and so's friends, I will charge you best/good price' 'Cheaper than ID' 'very cheap' 'best value' but they will keep on adding on to the cost when you make changes.

My suggestion is to get a package from reno companies. Very often, with package discussed, you already know how much the price may go to and you cut down all the hagglings and just focus on the reno.

You will be surprised that some big reno companies actually charge quite low as they have a much larger economies of scale and they offer good packages.

Lemon Porter

Big companies like Darwin, Weiken and Northwest are honest. They have a reputation to protect and will see to it that the project is completed in a satisfactory manner even if they have to sack their own ID.

Cheap or not depends on your budget. Some people think 25k is cheap while others might think it is so expensive.

A contractor can promise you the sky or can tell you words like 'oh because you are so and so's friends, I will charge you best/good price' 'Cheaper than ID' 'very cheap' 'best value' but they will keep on adding on to the cost when you make changes.

My suggestion is to get a package from reno companies. Very often, with package discussed, you already know how much the price may go to and you cut down all the hagglings and just focus on the reno.

Even with ID package, there are add on as well.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.