New driver here: question about expressway lane 1 speed...

blackestvoid

Matjes = monster-z?
for those who like to road hog at 90kmh legal speed on lane 1 come find moi
moi make sure to be next to u on lane 2 at 90kmh also
u will never have the chance to exit the expressway without speeding to overtake moi or truely road hog to go behind moi by dropping speed below 90kmh

IcYFl4mEz

This is driving courtesy.

Fast lane is for faster car. Period. You may own a car but no courtesy then no difference from those who got no manners.

The problem with many people , 90kmh .. go around bend or up slope will slow down. That is road hogging.

I don't under why people slow down when the road and slopes speed limit is still 90. If car cannot make it then don't drive right lane

slopes and bend no kick. try speed camera of 90kph limit and you can see those in lane one drop till 70~ish kph.:s13:

HMAN

Advice to inexperienced drivers driving on NSHY, usually we give way to faster approaching vehicle at your back however there are exceptions. Give way only when you are safe to do so.

For safety concern,
If you are just driving at 120-140 know/h and suddenly seeing a car approaching you REAL fast from behind (above 200++++++), the best defensive act is stay on the same Lane at same speed to let the car to pass from left. Do not hesitate and suddenly filter left, as fast moving vehicle will not insist on traveling on right Lane, fast driver will find clearance to pass. Suddenly switching Lane will lead to tragedy.

It is no joke to get slammed at relative speed difference of more than 100km/h.

Sent from Google PIXEL C using GAGT

sinistral

I know this is a controversial topic.

I drive lane 1 at speed limit, is it right or wrong?

Why do so many friggin cars expect me to drive 10-20 above speed limit???

I am just being law abiding.

Some more lane 2 so slow, 60-70 usually.

It is not road hogging when you are at speed limit FYI.

And singaporean Drivers need to have more patience.

Don't you find it ironic that you find lane 2 (60-70km/h) slow if you are travelling at speed limit (say, 90km/h) on lane 1, but nothing wrong if the guy behind you is coming at 100km/h while you are 90km/h? The guy behind you thinks you are slow and should filter to the left lane.

Everyone got their own perspective. Also, lane 1 is technically the overtaking lane, not for motorists to cruise at speed limit.

NoLogicLah

Don't you find it ironic that you find lane 2 (60-70km/h) slow if you are travelling at speed limit (say, 90km/h) on lane 1, but nothing wrong if the guy behind you is coming at 100km/h while you are 90km/h? The guy behind you thinks you are slow and should filter to the left lane.

Everyone got their own perspective. Also, lane 1 is technically the overtaking lane, not for motorists to cruise at speed limit.

All argument full of flaws one thats why no ending.

Nowadays from 7am to 12am on most expressway u can travel 90kmph already happy liao. And most of the time those traveling on lane 1 will be over taking vehicles on lane 2, since most of the lorry n vans use lane 2 as well.

If really need give way to faster veh going on lane 1, you can try that on CTE during morning and see anyone give way to you anot.

IcYFl4mEz

Nowadays from 7am to 12am on most expressway u can travel 90kmph already happy liao. And most of the time those traveling on lane 1 will be over taking vehicles on lane 2, since most of the lorry n vans use lane 2 as well.

If really need give way to faster veh going on lane 1, you can try that on CTE during morning and see anyone give way to you anot.

none peak timing, alot cruising at lane1 at 70-80~ish. lane 2 - 3 clear sometimes.

GeSteSoh

HAHAHA!!! You should go and challenge the TP with your argument.

people like you go on aggression mode and when you meet reasoning, play the victims card telling others how badly you have been treated. Actually the real Asswhole is you. the public road has been designed to be governed by law. And no one is exempted. Even emergency vehicles have their own set of rules to follow. And then you want to be given an exemption, whoever don't give you that is an asswhole but you have been the real asswhole all along. Speeding remains the #1 reason for accidents on roads in Singapore and You put other peoples lives in danger, in order to justify your so called 'emergency'. In order to give way to you, others have to swerve, have to squeeze into lane 2, have to speed up and squeeze into lane 2, risk getting demerit points. They can't slow down, because you will be in danger of colliding from the rear.

If you are in a real emergency, you can overtake from the left, that is what ambulance do if they meet up with someone as big as an asswhole as you in a different way. Why aren't you doing that? Because you can't. The traffic on the left is not safe enough for you to regulate your speed and squeeze in. If you can't what makes you think the car in front didn't want to give way.

And when Ambulance are trying to get forward, with the lights and sirens, it becomes by law a mandatory requirement to give way to them. Traffic around will accommodate themselves to the ambulance. It becomes easier to give way. Which you obviously cannot see.

You argue overtaking from the left is wrong, yes, it is wrong, but you are in an emergency am I right? So your ego is bigger or the sense of safety is bigger. Overtaking from the right also must abide by the speed limits. That includes overtaking only at 90kph on a 90kph road. Any faster you get a fine and demerit points. So when the car in front is travelling at 90kph, on the 1st lane, it means he is ALREADY OVERTAKING. Except there's a @#$%^ wanting to overtake faster and not interested to know if it is safe for the car in front to switch lanes.

If you look back, none of these would have happened if you had the required control of your right foot. So now... who is the real asswhole?

If you want to break the law, go and find somewhere else to break it. Don't force another innocent person to break it in order to accommodate you. Don't put another person in danger, force him to squeeze into another lane just to satisfy you. YOU ARE THE REAL @#$#%*

FYI, I provide technical support for race teams around the region and to the world if needed. Racers including F1 and WRC observe the safety laws around the world which also means they will drive at 90kph on a 90kph road. Will not tailgate, will not force someone to give way and will not call someone else names when the ones in front is unable to give way. Wannabes like you aren't even close to them. I have been doing my best to give way to people like you as much as I don't create an inconvenience to others. But still getting called names by the real @#$%^&

So, YOU ARE THE REAL @#$%^&, stop pretending to be the victim.

What a crass F'ing farmer idiot.

georgemcics

Once I at lane 1 peak hour.

A BMW comes behind me high beam. Very fast I think got 140?

I go left. He vroom vroom pass me very loud. Then jitao brake cause in front of him heavy traffic with a ton of car in lane 1.

Then I cut back to lane 1 behind the BMW.

Then I high beam him all the way haha

atanbh91

not simpur at all.

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/112800365-post34.html

Is it morally right or wrong to give way to someone travelling over the speed limit? Why so?

What if filtering to give way is not feasible for some reason (not enough gap, requires shedding too much speed if filter into lane 2, etc.)? Is it morally right to speed up (and break the law) in order to facilitate smoother traffic flow? It is fair to say that being at the speed limit already constitutes “smooth traffic flow”, so just take it that at the very base value, you are doing the faster driver a favour and therefore still doing a good deed.

Isn't it then even more morally right to not only maintain the speed limit (follow the law), but to also ensure all cars behind you follow the law as well? Is it morally wrong if you had the chance to stop a crime but instead turned a blind eye (give way to faster car)?

At first I was thinking this is similar to the trolley problem (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trolley_problem), but it isn't exactly either is it?

Sorry for WOT, I was a bit bored.

blackestvoid

again said many times
best cure for road hoggers is to have their loved ones die and they fail to see them for the last time due to other road hoggers hogging them

and no, they themselves die when being road hogged is not enough, it has to be their loved ones so they can feel the pain

Aelinx

again said many times
best cure for road hoggers is to have their loved ones die and they fail to see them for the last time due to other road hoggers hogging them

and no, they themselves die when being road hogged is not enough, it has to be their loved ones so they can feel the pain

But then again some dont even know they hogging .. they will only think is okay what ..

EJB

Ate too much snacks... feeling full now.

blackestvoid

But then again some dont even know they hogging .. they will only think is okay what ..

may god have mercy on those poor souls who were unlucky enough to be relatives of road hoggers who dun even know they are road hogging
may these road hoggers never know they kena toto 4d big sweep or any lucky draws
may these road hoggers road hog their loved ones who in an emergency and are in the car behind them

PaulLevesque

Huh so if the speed limit is 90 and you are driving at 110, but the car behind you driving at 130, you are still a road hogger?

When you hog, you’re actually blocking ppl from going faster

U drive at 300km, people drive 301, you are still a hogger.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.