How many times of Driving Tests (TP) you took to pass? - Part 2

How many times of Driving Tests (TP) you took to pass?

• 1 time :o

Votes: 1,457 58.2%
  • 2 times :)

Votes: 585 23.4%
  • 3 times :(

Votes: 265 10.6%
  • 4 times :sad:

Votes: 91 3.6%
  • 5 times

Votes: 38 1.5%
  • 6 or more times

Votes: 68 2.7%

• Total voters

theccguy

Sigh. Just failed my 3rd tp today.
1st attempt - 24 points (too nervous and complacent on checking blind spots)
2nd attempt - 8 points (proceed on Red light, immediate failure)
3rd attempt - 12 points (touched yellow box, immediate failure)

Sibei demoralized now. I just changed to school (was private) and take up their express course (8 lesson + test) spending another 1k

Sigh
Sorry to hear that. Changing to school is good due to their structured lessons.
Seem like you should look far when driving to avoid red light beating and yellow box and etc.
Good luck next time.

NeverTooLate

Sorry to hear that. Changing to school is good due to their structured lessons.
Seem like you should look far when driving to avoid red light beating and yellow box and etc.
Good luck next time.
Thanks man, yea hope I can book my next test date soon.

The thing is that I drove too similar to drivers outside, which is definitely not what testers are looking for. So hopefully after converting to school, the school instructors can guide me to what testers are looking for during TP exactly.

Because honestly speaking, I don't think I have any issues in the technical department (class 3). I always clear my circuit without much mistakes.

Sigh, still trying to get over it and the fact I have spend another 1k.. :(

mrboys

The thing is that I drove too similar to drivers outside, which is definitely not what testers are looking for. So hopefully after converting to school, the school instructors can guide me to what testers are looking for during TP exactly.

Because honestly speaking, I don't think I have any issues in the technical department (class 3). I always clear my circuit without much mistakes.

ask your instructors or self memorize on areas that have yellow boxes and other road hazards.

drive 10-15kph below the road speed limit, look far ahead while driving, alternate your focus between traffic lights and your surroundings, slow down to 40kph before reaching traffic lights (3rd directional arrow) (must cover brake), blind spots must turn your head more obvious, before moving off TURN your head and look at the rear view mirror and while at junctions you must turn your head left and right to check for cars from the other directions, you must always check your rear view mirror every 5-10secs while vehicle is in motion.

Idme231

Sibei demoralized now. I just changed to school (was private) and take up their express course (8 lesson + test) spending another 1k

Sigh

From what i see, you didnt know how or when to stop near junctions.

Imo, when u approaching the junction, gear down (4th gear to 3rd gear) and look on the rear mirror to check for cars behind you to slow down. Depress brake harder so u are able to stop behind the line.

before reaching second arrow:

- if see yellow suddenly, stop ( if you at third/ fourth gear , dont need to gear down and just stop and remember to clutch in)
if see green - continue to proceed and check for safety.

If passed the second arrow and see amber, just proceed.

Use the pedestrain lighting as a warning, if red man or flashing green man light, chances that u need to slow down and prepare to stop.

Which school are u from? i can recommend u my instructor if u wan.

Idme231

Testers are not only looking for competency and confidence, but also mainly safety.

Some of them would like you to go along with the book, esp the highway codes and stuff.

As you can see in the forum page, some of them mistakes that learner testee make basically the safety part of the test, either too competent or not remember what to do. You isnt the only one who failed the 3rd time, there are also a few outside who happen to be like you, it is mainly due to hiccups and it can be anything else.

And, never learn the bad side of the drivers, they are licensed and while you are not. You wouldnt want to speed thru the junction like them in order to pass over.

some may want to give way, some are not, the motoring society in singapore is tbh, too selfish, and you can see that, road accidents are mostly cause by human errors because they wanna cut corners and stuff. Examples are bullying L plate drivers on the road by overtaking at double line on a narrow bend (from what i see) due to impatience and eventually cause danger to the lives of the other road users.

And imo, whether you learn in school or private, it all depends to the person teaching you by heart.

tulipcrane

Sigh

Its important to be patient and stay calm and safe. The school will teach you how to avoid the bad drivers and bully outside. They turn without signal, speed to turn into yellow box without checking oncoming moving vehicles (green light situation). Motorist and car at blind spot speed and slow same time as you to play with p plates. Car at parking lot how to avoid hitting them when parking and moving off.

NeverTooLate

Thanks all for the tips! Whole night I can't sleep at all thinking about it :s22:
Haha

Anyway I decided to convert to School so that I can find out what exactly I am lacking at the non-technical areas.

Because ever since my 1st failed TP, during my revision classes with my PDI for subsequent ***, he never really comment much during my lessons already. Sometimes, he actually dozed off (haha). To be fair, maybe he felt he already taught me whatever he can already, so I wouldn't want to say I failed my *** because of him. But guess I will just look for what I am exactly lacking to pass the TP from School instructors; no point keep using the same approach if desired result is not achieved.

Admittedly too, I am driving too 'comfortable' like the drivers on the road which certain practices may not necessarily be correct.

Hopefully my next attempt (4th) will be the final attempt, in a good way. :o

snip82

Sad fail my tp first time.. at CDC.. forgot to keep left when exiting circuit before zebra crossing ..immediately failure..

My job need driving license sia damn stress.. now have to wait 1.2month before booking..

Idme231

Sad fail my tp first time.. at CDC.. forgot to keep left when exiting circuit before zebra crossing ..immediately failure..

My job need driving license sia damn stress.. now have to wait 1.2month before booking..

Is near the bus stop at eunos link?
That one also have to take a close look on vehicles switching lanes due to bus stopping over there.

Probably you are being marked for going to the wrong direction.
But what happen if you dont have the license for your job?

Idme231

azure-o4hqyYmSmwmLirYu25Zu.jpg

Found it on the net. OMG, has anybody has it happened before?
It was said that tester could be sleeping while on test.

theccguy

Try weekdays. Instructors recommend weekdays. I personally went for session 4. The condition in the circuit was excellent. Road normal. Not too sure about 6.

When was your TP? Nowadays lots of cars every session.
Often take class 1320-1500 and circuit full of cars.

NeverTooLate

Anyway, do anybody have experience of cancelling Class 3 Express after enrollment (haven't attend any lessons yet) and converting back to private?

snip82

Is near the bus stop at eunos link?
That one also have to take a close look on vehicles switching lanes due to bus stopping over there.

Probably you are being marked for going to the wrong direction.
But what happen if you dont have the license for your job?

While going out from circuit.. my fault not keeping my ear and eye big big..
No license no conformation lor.. maybe have to stretch..Kana mark maybe..

Idme231

While going out from circuit.. my fault not keeping my ear and eye big big..
No license no conformation lor.. maybe have to stretch..Kana mark maybe..

Actually for me i don't pick the job that i dont have licence with first. It is best that to wait till you passed before doing so.
But it is sure great to have Class 2,3 and 4 if you are applying job these days, alot of vacancies.
And during the few days after i passed my class 3, many companies want ppl to drive lorry or van. some wants to have own vehicle also . Dis-encouraged by my parents due to safety.

Wait till i am the age next year to start learning heavy vehicles, but i am doing motorbike now lol
and it cost 100 dollar per lesson lol, only in SSDC.

Fyn MH

For me, I pass my TP on my 2nd attempt. My first attempt was rather unprapered and I mentally physically in distress. I passed my 2nd attempt on 27/6/2018, and I still over the moon!😜 I worked hard for that. I got the worse instructor ever, wasted over 4K😭and now is all worth it. Yay! 😜😜
passing TP I personally think it all depends on yourself. If you can drive well but too stress and scared with the tester, your legs and hands will not coordinate with you. Maybe for some people, they met the mean tester. But cannot really blame them, cos they are there to really see whether you can drive under pressure and to see whether you will be a road hazard. It’s really depends on your judgement, ability to anticipate, and react to the road.

My tips for those who are going to take TP soon
1. Don’t be nervous/panic but don’t be too overconfident. Once you panic, that’s it, you’re done. Don’t be overconfident, be prepared that you might commit mistake that you have never done before while learning. Worse if you never mount kerb while learning, but mounted it on TP. Don’t worry, you’re not alone my friend 😂
2. Focus on what the tester ask you to do rather than imagining the whole picture of the test. If tester asked you to do directional change, don’t need to think about the slope or whatsoever.
3. Do not press clutch when you’re going down the slope and while negotiating bend. 4 demerits point for that.
4. Keep in mind that as long as you want to reverse your vehicle, always look behind to check your blind spot. Human really can pop out anytime anywhere, so just to make sure you don’t knock someone behind, look behind first. My 2nd attempt tester was very kind, he even reminds me that as long as vehicle is going to reverse, must really check behind, don’t pretend, it’s very important the next time you driving alone.
5. Be mentally prepared, show that you can work under pressure. I think for 1st attempt, you most definitely will get the serious tester. For 2nd attempt, you will be more mentally and physically prepared, because you already know how is the test day feels like. 3rd n next I do not know the feeling😆 but don’t be frustrated, you only 1 step away from getting your license. Fight for it, you have invested your money into it, now it’s time to ripe the reward😁

I learn and took TP at CDC Ubi. Firstly I sign up under 1 Team, but after I went for 17 bloody lesson, the instructor never pass me for the lesson in Module 1! Oh yes, if you’re under school, you will be given blue booklet and you have to finish the 3 module before you can go for TP. You have to finish module 2 to book TP. Each module have at least 14-16 lesson, can’t really remember.
I then change to fixed instructor n $10 more expensive than 1 team. My fixed instructor always take leave and end up getting other instructor to teach so I didn’t book him already. I go for common pool and surprisingly, some of them will really put their effort to teach me. If you’re a private student, and maybe nobody tell you before, I just want to share that there are 72 ways for the tester to fail you, so good luck!😜

Anyway, if you would like to find out more about my experience at CDC or anything about the circuit, feel free to ask. Good luck out there champ! 😉

b3064924

azure-o4hqyYmSmwmLirYu25Zu.jpg

Found it on the net. OMG, has anybody has it happened before?
It was said that tester could be sleeping while on test.

Hi Idme231,

I think I saw this somewhere before and I knew how it happened. It happened in the circuit and I think it happened when the testee was halfway out of the parking lot when another driver on test (yes, with a TWO testers involved) knocked onto this particular testee’s car. Why didn’t both testers pull handbrake? Always a mystery. Hahaha.

Idme231

Hi Idme231,

I think I saw this somewhere before and I knew how it happened. It happened in the circuit and I think it happened when the testee was halfway out of the parking lot when another driver on test (yes, with a TWO testers involved) knocked onto this particular testee’s car. Why didn’t both testers pull handbrake? Always a mystery. Hahaha.

Ya lor,
Why never pull handbrake?
My Tester step the footbrake at most as a warning lor.
Anyway the one coming out from the lot should wait for main first.
I got a case where a learner driver abruptly came out of the lot during perpendicular parking in the circuit.
Instead you make another testee fail the test (most probably)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.