Recommend a Good and Cheap Air-Con Service Company

yaksowmi

If it is only for one room maybe you can consider buying a standalone portable air-con and moving it into your new house too! Just a suggestion.

portable aircon is like sleeping beside a old refrigerator. especially in the night, the noise is thunderous. many cannot stand the noise, especially the ladies, and it will give people very poor night sleeps.

The modern systems aircon are to solve these issues ya:s12:

benoit_nly

Any recommendation for using a 2nd hand aircon, probably system 2 aircon?
Any specific brand and aircon company to recommend?

Asking because my wife and myself intend to rent a 3rm from HDB while
waiting for our BTO to be completed.

just finishing renovating my 4 room bto and bought a system 4 from newway. they are my long time contact since my parent's place and referred many friends and relatives. coincidence my in-laws oso using them for their properties. so far everyone seems happy la.

don't think newway sells used aircons but can check. i feel they offer very honest two cents and always prioritize my needs (no joke, they even spend half hour to explain why i should go for the cheaper service as the expensive one requested was not necessary). one good thing about them is that they don't ever hard sell and respect customer spaces. work quality and service really no horse run la.

they dont market themselves much i think. really a hidden gem with very good reputation. worth sharing la. least i can do since i always ask them for discount. :s13:

anyway congrats on your new house. if you need other lobangs can pm me i can refer some trustworthy contractors i used. we never used designers or main contractors so i can personally vouch for the good ones i have used for my new bto. i am an engineer btw. :s13:

Jerineng

So far I've only gotten 1 post; https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/115048710-post3637.html

The fact that it was posted by a 1-post count account should ring alarm bells before engaging anyway

dun like that lar kor kor....try search the forum fer post under nick "Arctix" then chiu will most prob find something funni funni? all i can say many here come and help with intention de nobody is free to give free lunch de.....anyhow give advice and hope for biz is EVIL!.....some of us here reali seeking for help one.....i kena once in both coupon and once in tis forum and i still see his name being recommended (those tat wanna know can pm mi) make until i kena badly from my hub...haiz...now i only look see and trust 2 person here wif advice coz i use b4.....but you very sharp lor kor kor...i like u tis type of pple...help to catch the bad pple....

yaksowmi

Hi anyone can recommend very good checking and servicing? Price wise as long its reasonable as I have engaged many which has poor worksmanship. Thanks!

everyone need a expensive lesson to know that big aircon companies are just well known. At the end of the day, its still the aircon technician's experiences that counts. My first aircon also get from G*** C***. It only lasted one year for gas to leak big time. Gas topup fully leaked after 2weeks. i will curse them til i still have my last breathe. Now i only recommend or use experienced aircon company.

I used SgOzoneAircon.com , they had a cheaper chemical wash which can solve my aircon not cold issue. Clean is 80% compared to chemical overhaul but price is less than half of overhaul. Price is reasonable and i can do chemical wash every year to prevent dirt choke on coil.

Worth the try, experience really makes the difference. :s12:

Ark Law

everyone need a expensive lesson to know that big aircon companies are just well known. At the end of the day, its still the aircon technician's experiences that counts. My first aircon also get from G*** C***. It only lasted one year for gas to leak big time. Gas topup fully leaked after 2weeks. i will curse them til i still have my last breathe. Now i only recommend or use experienced aircon company.

Simi censor? Get from Gain City just say lah. Scared what? :s22::s22:

Gain City like sai, just say Gain City like sai. Gain City like crap, just say Gain City like crap. Gain City give bad service, just say Gain City gave bad service. Gain City cannot be trusted, just say Gain City cannot be trusted. Gain City yaya papaya, just say Gain City yaya papaya.

haven11

3 weeks ago my in-laws home A/C have encountered 2 leaking FCUs, engaged AIRPLE services to do chemical overhaul for all 3 FCUs, their service charges are the lowest when compared and does the job as expected, now it's freezingly cold even at 24 degC and mid power blowing speed. Thumbs up!

Hi when I checked airple website, it seems their general service does not include cleaning the blower unit (roller).... anyone did normal general aircond service with airple? thanks

haven11

Hi maxicooljason - apologies, can you pm me a quote general servicing for 3 units starmex MS-A10VD (3way)? thanks. apologies below post number to send msg.

haven11

not-so-good aircon service provider

since I am also looking for another aircon service provider, I may as well share my worsened experience with Alex Ong Aircond Services (9237 0119)

I actually had this recommendation from a friend and I have been on their annual service for 4-5 years but I suppose the kind of people working under him has been changing/getting worse. Main issue I have is that they are not so diligent. They do set appointment, are on-time but tend to do less (ie. not taking out/cleaning blower unit) whenever they think they can get away with it....
Long story short, his staff (usually 2 person) who came service became more of a nuisance offering services and solutions to things that were not required.

I just lost trust when they charged the service fees which were not carried out properly or not required in the first place. The boss Alex end up taking side of the employee, not offering any apology or admitting mistake. Sounds like they have grown much bigger service area and do not care about customers.

Highly not recommended.

maur_james

I was advised by a serviceman, my 2yrs and 3mths Sys 1 aircon is 'leaking' (pumped gas also doesn't work - suggest to do pressure test, if not replace piping, same cost ~$3xx) and even after topping up gas still doesn't blow out cold air (suggest condenser unit something wrong, repair cost ~ $3xx).

Should I just outright replace the whole unit? Doesn't make sense paying close to $800 when I can get a new set around $1,000.

chunlianghere

I was advised by a serviceman, my 2yrs and 3mths Sys 1 aircon is 'leaking' (pumped gas also doesn't work - suggest to do pressure test, if not replace piping, same cost ~$3xx) and even after topping up gas still doesn't blow out cold air (suggest condenser unit something wrong, repair cost ~ $3xx).

Should I just outright replace the whole unit? Doesn't make sense paying close to $800 when I can get a new set around $1,000.
may i know wat brand model?

u mean "serviceman" is from wat company?

maxicooljason

Was the aircon cold after the gas topup? In most cases if there is a gas leak, the aircon will be cold albeit even for a short period after pumping in gas and gradually losing it’s cooling due to loss of gas. If the aircon is not cold at all even after pumping in gas, this would likely mean that there could be other issues.

Was the gas pressure checked? The proper procedure would be to check the gas pressure and if the pressure is abnormally low, it would signify that there is a gas leak in the system. The engineers would then check the exposed areas such as flares/nuts etc for signs of oil which is a sign of gas leak. If no signs are found then the next would be a pressure test to identify the leak.

Gas leakage can happen not only at pipings but also the coils of the indoor/outdoor unit. Therefore until the leak has been determined by the pressure testing it would not be wise to just replace the piping.

As the system is relatively new, you might want to consider a 2nd opinion to determine the cause. If unfortunately the piping is leaking and the condenser is faulty as per diagnosed then it might not be cost effective to be doing such a major repair for a single split unit as a new system cost shouldn’t be too far off.

maur_james

The aircon was still working the night before, then suddenly it stop blowing cold air, so I called for a repairman.

When he came, he checked, gas was virtually gone, which he told me suggest a leak somewhere. Visually no leakage was found, and thus without doing a pressure test would be unable to determine the cause.

He tried topped-up the gas, but still unable to get cold air. The condenser unit refuse to kick-in and cannot hear the freon gas flow you usually hear when you start the aircon.

At which he suggest the condenser might have some problem too.

With these two problems (and god knows what else), I am hesitant on conducting the pressure test.

Do I spent a few hundreds to troubleshoot and repair, or end the suffering by going for new unit?

maxicooljason

In case it was missed out by the last contractor, try resetting the mains of the aircon. Sometimes you will need to reset the system after pumping in gas so as to reset the previous fault. Especially if there are blinking at the indoor unit earlier. If the system is still not blowing cold air after the reset, then likely you have a faulty part too.

It is unusual for gas to depleted overnight so chance of gas leakage is high. If in doubt, you can have your contractor measure the gas level again as gas has been pumped in. As long as there is leakage, even if the unit doesn't run the gas would still escape. If the gas level is still abnormally low then gas leak is very firm.

Given that a reset of mains is done and still not working then you could be facing at least 2 faults. I would supposed that the contractor has already identified the faulty part at the condenser which is why the quote for the repair.

If cost can be managed, I would honestly consider a new unit if the price is not too far from the repair cost.

The aircon was still working the night before, then suddenly it stop blowing cold air, so I called for a repairman.

When he came, he checked, gas was virtually gone, which he told me suggest a leak somewhere. Visually no leakage was found, and thus without doing a pressure test would be unable to determine the cause.

He tried topped-up the gas, but still unable to get cold air. The condenser unit refuse to kick-in and cannot hear the freon gas flow you usually hear when you start the aircon.

With these two problems (and god knows what else), I am hesitant on conducting the pressure test.

Do I spent a few hundreds to troubleshoot and repair, or end the suffering by going for new unit?

maur_james

He did reset the mains after topping up, waited for 10mins, still no cold air or the sound of 'rushing gas' you hear when you turn on aircon.

I guess, I have to LLST and get a new unit. Thanks!

terumo

Its very unlikely for the gas to leak (>80% leak) overnight.
Maybe its other issue.
How old is your unit?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.