广州 GuangZhou Nov 2018 trip report

Unclemun

Oh it near the hutong area. Name is 景都. Cheap hotel like 30 sgd per night. I took it for the sole reason there is a fridge in the room and I can't find any other room within + 100% room cost extra.

Not too clean as I got one batch of bites halfway my stay there on the underside of my forearm, only one time thou. They also have smoking rooms and the smoking rooms has window opening to main corridor so zzz smoke did.came.into my room one night. If I ever fo.back to gz, it is a no go.and will.not recommend it to people.

Oh dear. Forgot about non-smoking floor. Will check it when I go there soon

Unclemun

Day 3

Woke up late like 9.30 am, out in the street 10.30am. Din researched much on where to go today and first thing thought i will get something to eat first. With the previous day experience of finding a really great dim sum totally out of random, i thought dim sum in Guangzhou must be in general high standard.

Saw this and thought why not? Regretted soon enough. The porridge is super watery, not much taste.

The Char Siew Bao like no filling in it, 90% of it was the flour only, wtf....

The Siao Long Bao looks totally nothing like the delicate versions we have here. Ate it and was not fresh at all

The har gow, omg while eating the last piece detected a chow sng prawn not fresh taste.

Sucks till max. If you are in GZ and ever this see Dim Sum Prince, dun even think of trying, sucks so badly :s22:

J0lNlZOl.jpg

BAMIAZbl.jpg

GgyUDsMl.jpg

Char Siew Bao? Hahaha like no filling inside....

CpOdjAfl.jpg

Lmao, They dare to call this xiao long bao, so roughly made. When first arrive, i din even know what the hell they are and have to ask the server....

GT6YVTBl.jpg

hCINl3Zl.jpg

tPYwuyOl.jpg

Thanks for the advice. I wonder how you will decide to go into one of these eating places.

madcampus

Ok din stay long at the market. Off to the subway to next destination.

Sun Yat Sen memorial, surprised the communist recognized him to be the proper founder of modern China

In short, Sun Yat Sen was the one who modernize China from the clutches of Qing Dynasty. At the tail end, Qing Dynasty were weak and corrupted. Kenna makan by ang moh (Macau, HK) and Japanese (Táiwān) alike. That’s why the ppl frustrated. Hence a revolution. This was around early 1900s.

The communist and nationalist fight somewhere after the death of Sun Yat Sen. That’s where they start to split. Then came the Japanese. Then again continue fighting till what it is today.

There a good Chinese movie about the split.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Founding_of_an_Army

Also bear in mind whenever I turn on the tv in China, there’s always a communists fighting nationalists movie or series going on. My 2 cents.

FireEmblem

Oh dear. Forgot about non-smoking floor. Will check it when I go there soon

Smoking is very prevalent even when smoking is supposed to be banned from all indoor areas due to zero enforcement so many people in aircon place will still be puffing away.

FireEmblem

Thanks for the advice. I wonder how you will decide to go into one of these eating places.

This was totally random, cos I thought dim sum in GZ should all have some standard. Mostly i will look at ratings but sometimes i will just try random little rating food just to see if some gems come out.

FireEmblem

银记's in Singapore too~ :s12:

oic, but well even in GZ i was not impressed. Maybe too commercialized as this is like the store i find almost anywhere in GZ, anyhow walk walk around will see a 银记. I tried their wantan mee, pure wan tan with fresh shrimp, the signature chong fen, horfun with beef and double skin milk at a few different outlets, all disappointment as all these items easily found better elsewhere

FireEmblem

In short, Sun Yat Sen was the one who modernize China from the clutches of Qing Dynasty. At the tail end, Qing Dynasty were weak and corrupted. Kenna makan by ang moh (Macau, HK) and Japanese (Táiwān) alike. That’s why the ppl frustrated. Hence a revolution. This was around early 1900s.

The communist and nationalist fight somewhere after the death of Sun Yat Sen. That’s where they start to split. Then came the Japanese. Then again continue fighting till what it is today.

There a good Chinese movie about the split.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Founding_of_an_Army

Also bear in mind whenever I turn on the tv in China, there’s always a communists fighting nationalists movie or series going on. My 2 cents.

yeah i know but just that mao zedong is the revered figure so i thought Sun will not be that recognized

FireEmblem

Ok continue on 4th day

Sacred Heart Cathedral, alight at Yide subway station and walk bout 50 meters. Yide station is also where you can buy alot of dry goods like dried fish, scallops etc

3wm5nbY.jpg

8TvNDin.jpg

ycbYPFh.jpg

h0no9Wg.jpg

FireEmblem

After the church, walked around the neighbourhood

Airing of dried pork belly like hanging out clothes

u6eGB8u.jpg

Found this place with very good wan tan mee (GZ style of Wan Tan Mee traditional style is for the wan tan to be hidden under the noodle so if the wantan mee comes with the wantan in plain sight means it is not a real GZ cook)

gCiOhPl.jpg

Beef with wantan mee

zv8AGxa.jpg

Sweet and sour spare ribs

JHssQ9m.jpg

FireEmblem

After finishing the noodle and sweet sour spare ribs, while walking to get to next location saw this and thought i will try it.

Famous for porridge but i got the ordering system wrong, should be order directly at the counter then they will bring the food to you, i thought it was find a seat, and order with any of the worker passing by which i did and the worker acknowledged what i ordered but turns out i think there was no order made and i was sitting there for over 20+ mins for nothing while people coming after me got their food so i decided to just walk out

8M4tNGz.jpg

ZxjecJG.jpg

hlw8888

Climbed all the way up, finally reached the peak and it was sunset timing already

https://i.imgur.com/Vr9ljKpl.jpg[img]

[img]https://i.imgur.com/3gwRagQl.jpg[img]

[img]https://i.imgur.com/vsmG31dl.jpg[img]

For lovers to declare their love is secured and use a lock to lock it forever. This one super kiasu using super super big lock :s13:

[img]https://i.imgur.com/0MmCYjHl.jpg

this big lock seems to be from a OFO bike. :s13:

hlw8888

thks TS for sharing ur trip details and photos.

btw, wish to know how's the payment method like when spending in China? can via cash or mostly alipay/ wechat pay liao? :o

cos me going to Hangzhou next year, so wish to know more info. thks.

FireEmblem

thks TS for sharing ur trip details and photos.

btw, wish to know how's the payment method like when spending in China? can via cash or mostly alipay/ wechat pay liao? :o

cos me going to Hangzhou next year, so wish to know more info. thks.

I paid for everything using cash, it is as widely accepted as cashless, at most the shopkeeper will run to next store change cash which happened once but other places i went, they all have more than enough cash for daily biz running

guitar123

Our trip to Guangzhou

Useful thread. My wife and I went to Guangzhou in 2017 for a couple trip. It was good fun. Don't mind I add on some content to this thread to benefit the other readers.

I recall we managed to snag an inexpensive SQ return ticket (under $400/pax), hence we decided to go to GZ to take a look. I think SQ has one flight a day to Guangzhou. Video travel report here

We decided to take advantage of relatively cheaper prices of hotels in China to stay in more luxurious accommodation. So we stayed at the Marriott - A China Hotel. Arriving at Baiyun international, we took their MRT from the airport all the way to the hotel, which had an MRT exit right in front. We bought a 3-day MRT pass. It was very easy.

We stayed in an Executive Room with Club Lounge access.

For us, a club lounge is usually very useful because we don't stay out late. By late afternoon, we are tired and we get back to the hotel to chillax. 3 dinners in the Executive Lounge.

In terms of sights, I remember we did the Baiyun mountain, taking the cable car up to Moxing summit. It was a very popular attraction for locals, and it could get very crowded. We took public bus #24 from outside Yue Xiu Gardens to Baiyun mountain.

In this video, we buy the tickets and take the cable car up. Most of the visitors were locals.

Another sight we went to was Shamian Island. We took the MRT to get there.

Also went to Li Wan Plaza, Guangzhou, which is a wholesale center to take a look. That place was rather intimidating. My wife was looking for some pearls, but ultimately she didn't buy any.

There was a question about WeCHat pay. My wife managed to set her up some time back, so we could use it to pay for all sorts of stuff, including buying drinks from the vending machine.

Enjoy China while it is still relatively inexpensive.

wwwsquallcom

Hi I remember there is no money changer in the streets of Guangzhou and I need to change $ in the bank which the Q is very long. I was in Guangzhou more than 5 years back, any changes on this now?

beanstalk6

Hi I remember there is no money changer in the streets of Guangzhou and I need to change $ in the bank which the Q is very long. I was in Guangzhou more than 5 years back, any changes on this now?

The only licensed moneychangers in China are banks.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.